AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: SysInternals Process Explorer
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/03/2005 11:11 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/03/2005 11:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
R6Stew
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 10/03/2005

I'm gonna chase SysInternals about this too so please don't all tell me it's not an AMD issue /smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif' />

I've got a dual Opteron 244 setup running very nicely thank you, but I'm never sure it's using both processors and both cores. I downloaded Process Explorer from SysInternals as that (according to the website) shows all available processors in a Task Manager style performance window. They have an axample of a dual Xeon running and it shows CPU1-Core1, CPU1-Core2 etc etc.

All I get is two cpu's displayed?

Although I am happy with the improved performance from my old XP2400+ (but lets face it, even running one CPU/ one core it should still be better! I'm really not convinced it's utilising all the CPU power available before maxing out.

I use the system for music production - with Cubase - and it shows maxed CPU's well before I would expect it too.

Any ideas welcome.....

Thanks
 10/03/2005 12:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
thespin
Senior Member

Posts: 554
Joined: 08/18/2005

QUOTE(R6Stew @ Oct 3 2005, 11:11 AM)Any ideas welcome.....
[right][snapback]514920[/snapback][/right]

Maybe the bios you are using doesn't support dual cores ... check on your mobo's site for updates ...


-------------------------
Millions daily drive their cars made of 1000s of parts. We study events billions of miles away expecting laws HERE apply equally THERE. The planets, the moons etc move with such precision that we just hit a comet millions of miles away with a probe. ALL of man's technology depend on the precision and invariability of natural laws. How also explain their simplicity and their harmonious integration to form a multifaceted U
 10/03/2005 02:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
derGhostrider
Case Modder

Posts: 1465
Joined: 04/04/2004

QUOTE(R6Stew @ Oct 3 2005, 05:11 PM)I'm gonna chase SysInternals about this too so please don't all tell me it's not an AMD issue  /smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif' />

I've got a dual Opteron 244 setup running very nicely thank you,

[...]

All I get is two cpu's displayed?

[right][snapback]514920[/snapback][/right]


Your Opteron 244s are single-core CPUs. You will never see more than 2 CPUs or cores. /smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif' />

The dual cores are: 265, 270, 275, 280.

-------------------------
Regards,
  Ghostrider

·CPUs - 2*Opteron 246
·Mainboard - Tyan Thunder K8W S2885ANRF
·RAM - 4*Corsair TwinX1024RE-3200LL (4GB, 8*512MB, DDR400, 2-3-2)
·Graphics - HIS IceQ-II X800Pro
·HDD - Western Digital Raptor WD740GD, 74GB, 10k
·RAID - 3Ware 7850, 64bit PCI, 8chn hardware RAID
·RAID-HDDs - 5*WD800JB
·Optical - 1*SlimSize CD-ROM; 1*NEC7441 DVD-RW
·Sound - Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Elite Pro

Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information