AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: My S2892 with dual Opteron 248 crashes
Topic Summary:
Created On: 06/07/2005 12:53 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/07/2005 12:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Palmerston
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 06/07/2005

I am running a dual Opteron 248 system with two OCZ400512SSER; one is in CPU1 DIMM-A1 the other is in CPU2 DIMM-A1. The system crashes once in a while, then totally reboots.


The original S2598 manual states that "Single, Pairs or four modules are supported on each CPU" however this line is deleted from the updated manual they have on their web site. So do you think I need to get 2 more OCZ400512SSER one for CIMM-A2 the other for DIMM-B2? Because the Memory diagram looks like 2 chips are required PER CHIP?

One more thing.. my bios on the Tyan is 1.00.2895 date 02/21/05 - should I flash my BIOS? If so, does anyone have any tips on how to do that? Do I just need to run the phlash16_v15 utility software at
http://www.tyan.com/support/html/flash_utilities.html' ">http://www.tyan.com/support/html/flash_utilities.html ?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

PS. one problem I have had is when hibernating in windows, som,etime it says it can't hibrinate and I get an error mentioning Nvidia .. just thought i'd throw that in.
 06/08/2005 06:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
derGhostrider
Case Modder

Posts: 1465
Joined: 04/04/2004

QUOTE(Palmerston @ Jun 7 2005, 06:53 PM)I am running a dual Opteron 248 system with two OCZ400512SSER; one is in CPU1 DIMM-A1 the other is in CPU2 DIMM-A1. The system crashes once in a while, then totally reboots.
The original S2598 manual states that "Single, Pairs or four modules are supported on each CPU" however this line is deleted from the updated manual they have on their web site. So do you think I need to get 2 more OCZ400512SSER one for CIMM-A2 the other for DIMM-B2? Because the Memory diagram looks like 2 chips are required PER CHIP?

One more thing.. my bios on the Tyan is 1.00.2895 date 02/21/05 - should I flash my BIOS? If so, does anyone have any tips on how to do that? Do I just need to run the phlash16_v15 utility software at
http://www.tyan.com/support/html/flash_utilities.html' ">http://www.tyan.com/support/html/flash_utilities.html ?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

PS. one problem I have had is when hibernating in windows, som,etime it says it can't hibrinate and I get an error mentioning  Nvidia .. just thought i'd throw that in.
[right][snapback]432848[/snapback][/right]



General memory:
The system should also work fine with just ONE memory module installed.
You need four memory modules for the maximum memory performance. If you use 1 stick at each CPU you have 64bit memory bandwidth. If you have two sticks at each CPU you will get 128bit memory bandwidth.
The system will also work with two sticks at the first CPU and none at the second. This results in 128bit memory bandwidth for the first CPU and the second will access the memory of the first CPU via the HT-Link and the cross bar of the first CPU.

Everything clear now? /wacko.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='wacko.gif' />


BIOS update:

Your BIOS seems to be some kind of pre-release version. I am a little bit confused by the version because it ends with 2895.

The title of this thread says that you have a S2892. The BIOS version looks like S2895. And the Manual says S2598?????

Before you flash anything you have to check which board you have. Is it a Thunder K8WE S2895 or Thunder K8SE S2892 or something else? (a Tyan mainboard "S2598" does not exist - maybe just a very bad TYPO)


If you have a S2892
Just download the "new" BIOS here: http://www.tyan.com/support/html/b_s2892.html' ">http://www.tyan.com/support/html/b_s2892.html

If you have a S2895
Just download the "new" BIOS here: http://www.tyan.com/support/html/b_s2895.html' ">http://www.tyan.com/support/html/b_s2895.html

This package will include the ROM and the flash-tool that fits to your board.


Use a bootable USB-Stick or bootable floppy (without any drivers of course!, copy the files from the ZIP on it, reboot from the USB-Stick or floppy and type "flash"

Do not power off or reboot the computer during the flash is in progress. This may kill your BIOS. Just wait until it is completed.

After the flash is complete enter the BIOS, select "load setup defaults", reboot again. Enter the BIOS again and set everything to the values that you need.


--------------

Stability problems:
Try to flash the BIOS.
If the problems still occur run memtest86 for some hours. If this does not show any errors install Prime95 and start a tourture test for CPU & Memory.
If both do not show any failures your memory and CPUs seem to be fine.

But let's start like this to find the problem step by step.

-------------------------
Regards,
  Ghostrider

·CPUs - 2*Opteron 246
·Mainboard - Tyan Thunder K8W S2885ANRF
·RAM - 4*Corsair TwinX1024RE-3200LL (4GB, 8*512MB, DDR400, 2-3-2)
·Graphics - HIS IceQ-II X800Pro
·HDD - Western Digital Raptor WD740GD, 74GB, 10k
·RAID - 3Ware 7850, 64bit PCI, 8chn hardware RAID
·RAID-HDDs - 5*WD800JB
·Optical - 1*SlimSize CD-ROM; 1*NEC7441 DVD-RW
·Sound - Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Elite Pro

Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information