AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: TYAN S2885 Thunder K8W
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/14/2005 05:21 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 10 11 12 13 Previous Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/12/2005 01:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
derGhostrider
Case Modder

Posts: 1465
Joined: 04/04/2004

QUOTE(pointreyes @ Aug 12 2005, 02:55 AM)It works!  /smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif' />  Booting up from the LSI worked. 

Thanks Tyan.  /smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif' />
[right][snapback]479270[/snapback][/right]

That sounds great!


@Flintstone: He has the S2885 and never could get his LSI to boot with any BIOS revision after the 2.02...

-------------------------
Regards,
  Ghostrider

·CPUs - 2*Opteron 246
·Mainboard - Tyan Thunder K8W S2885ANRF
·RAM - 4*Corsair TwinX1024RE-3200LL (4GB, 8*512MB, DDR400, 2-3-2)
·Graphics - HIS IceQ-II X800Pro
·HDD - Western Digital Raptor WD740GD, 74GB, 10k
·RAID - 3Ware 7850, 64bit PCI, 8chn hardware RAID
·RAID-HDDs - 5*WD800JB
·Optical - 1*SlimSize CD-ROM; 1*NEC7441 DVD-RW
·Sound - Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Elite Pro

 08/12/2005 10:08 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
redclawkefar
Senior Member

Posts: 1082
Joined: 02/15/2004

ya, i'll confirm that LSI works here too... i've switched from my Adaptec to an LSI21320RB with IS RAID support...

IS - Integrated Striping

so, i've got RAID0 on the sys drives...

edit:
bios 2.05
2x 248's [C0+CG] yes mixed steppings (see sig)

-------------------------
SYSTEM-1: 2x Viewsonic VX900-2 19"| Tyan S2885ANRF (Rev.A, bios v2.07) | 1x ATI Radeon X800 Pro 256MB | 2x AMD Opteron 248-HE Single-Core CPU | 8x 512mb PC3200 Corsair XMS Series ECC Reg. (CMX512RE-3200LL) | 2x Seagate LVD 36.7Gb U320 SCSI 10,000rpm RAID0 (ST336607LW) | 1x Seagate LVD 36.7Gb U320 SCSI 1
 08/16/2005 01:35 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
pointreyes
Senior Member

Posts: 846
Joined: 10/07/2003

Another update on what else this bios upgrade did for me. Finally I can install SuSE on this system. I'm doing it as I'm posting this message (I'm using VMWare). /smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif' /> I'm not a newbie with Linux but this board would never accept SuSE, including 9.3 Pro which I'm installing now. /smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif' />

-------------------------
Diagram of Hardware Profile' ">http://members.dsl-only.net/~pointreyes/ga/hsystem.jpg

BSD Daemon Copyright 1988 by Marshall Kirk McKusick. All Rights Reserved.
 08/16/2005 07:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
redclawkefar
Senior Member

Posts: 1082
Joined: 02/15/2004

Good to here man... i may try a linux install next week or so...

-------------------------
SYSTEM-1: 2x Viewsonic VX900-2 19"| Tyan S2885ANRF (Rev.A, bios v2.07) | 1x ATI Radeon X800 Pro 256MB | 2x AMD Opteron 248-HE Single-Core CPU | 8x 512mb PC3200 Corsair XMS Series ECC Reg. (CMX512RE-3200LL) | 2x Seagate LVD 36.7Gb U320 SCSI 10,000rpm RAID0 (ST336607LW) | 1x Seagate LVD 36.7Gb U320 SCSI 1
 08/16/2005 10:37 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
derGhostrider
Case Modder

Posts: 1465
Joined: 04/04/2004

Same here. I have the SuSE 9.3 right next to me on a DVD... I just need to replace the slim-size CD-ROM with my slim-size DVD-ROM from my Thinkpad and could do an install.

Maybe this will be a good test for one of my 10k SCSI-drives I have right here...

-------------------------
Regards,
  Ghostrider

·CPUs - 2*Opteron 246
·Mainboard - Tyan Thunder K8W S2885ANRF
·RAM - 4*Corsair TwinX1024RE-3200LL (4GB, 8*512MB, DDR400, 2-3-2)
·Graphics - HIS IceQ-II X800Pro
·HDD - Western Digital Raptor WD740GD, 74GB, 10k
·RAID - 3Ware 7850, 64bit PCI, 8chn hardware RAID
·RAID-HDDs - 5*WD800JB
·Optical - 1*SlimSize CD-ROM; 1*NEC7441 DVD-RW
·Sound - Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Elite Pro

 08/19/2005 07:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
VelSatis
Member

Posts: 43
Joined: 11/04/2004

I just flashed my BIOS to 2.05 and WinXP ceased to load. I was going to format my drive anyway. Now with a fresh install, everything seems just fine. I have a question though:
What do you guys recommend the HT frequency and bit depth settings? and what settings for fan power do you use? I mean settings like %50-%100, %30-%100. What do they exactly mean?
 08/19/2005 09:05 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
derGhostrider
Case Modder

Posts: 1465
Joined: 04/04/2004

Hi!

The reinstall has been forced by the changes/update of the PnP-ID of the Sil3114 SATA. (I bet that you boot from a SATA harddrive)


The HT-frequencies: If you have luck you can run the system at 1GHz, 800MHz, 800MHz.
I suffer some stability issues with demanding 3D applications if I use these settings. So the default settings are OK. IF you wan tto set the bit depth setting use 16bit - that's also used if you keep the "AUTO" setting.
I could not benchmark dramatic differences if you use the maximum HT link frequencies or the standard settings. Or to be more precise:
Rising the CPU0-CPU1 HT-Link to 1GHz causes little bit better memory bandwidth scores if you use NUMA. (The CPUs use the HT-Link to access the memory of the other CPU).
The second HT-Link speed won't increase anything.
The AGP-HT-Link: If I set it to 800MHz I don't get higher benchmarks during 3Dmark 2005 or other 3Dmark versions but I get the stability problems described above (THIS DEPENDS ON THE OS, DRIVERS, etc... With windows XP 32bit and Omega drivers I had NO problems! With Windows XP x64 I get stability problems again).
All in all the HT-Link settings are not critical in terms of performance.

Before I forget it: In the past (with old BIOS revisions) a mixed setting of 1GHz, 800MHz, 600MHz caused my system to don't POST anymore! If you experience the same problem: Just use the CMOS Clear jumper on the mainboard and everything is fine again. /wink.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='wink.gif' />


Fan Speeds: If you use 30% - 100% the fans will be slowed down to 30% of ther maximum rpm if the CPUs are cold enough. The speed will increase if the CPUs reach higher temperatures and the fans will reach full power (100% rpm) at 70°C.

So if you want to run the system very quiet and have a good ventilation inside your case 30-100 is good. Right now I tend to use 50%-100% because it already reduces the noiselevel of the fans by a huge amount.
ONLY FAN1, FAN2, FAN3 and FAN4 are controlled by the BIOS! FAN5 and FAN6 are NOT.
Think twice where to connect which fans.

I have some VERY quiet (11dB) fans. If they run at full speed you can't hear them but they won't move very much air. That's why I decided to use 50%-100% instead of 30%-100%.
(I'll replace these fans with 19dB FANs that are still quiet but produce a better airflow IF needed).


I hope that helped. If you have any questions: Just ask. /wink.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='wink.gif' />

-------------------------
Regards,
  Ghostrider

·CPUs - 2*Opteron 246
·Mainboard - Tyan Thunder K8W S2885ANRF
·RAM - 4*Corsair TwinX1024RE-3200LL (4GB, 8*512MB, DDR400, 2-3-2)
·Graphics - HIS IceQ-II X800Pro
·HDD - Western Digital Raptor WD740GD, 74GB, 10k
·RAID - 3Ware 7850, 64bit PCI, 8chn hardware RAID
·RAID-HDDs - 5*WD800JB
·Optical - 1*SlimSize CD-ROM; 1*NEC7441 DVD-RW
·Sound - Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Elite Pro

 08/19/2005 11:21 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
VelSatis
Member

Posts: 43
Joined: 11/04/2004

Hi Ghostrider,
Right guess on the SATA issue! Concerning the HT settings, I decided to leave them at AUTO. And I'm using 30%-100% for fan speed. I checked the air flow from the fan on the top of the case and it seems cool.
I really liked this BIOS option as my case is much more quiter than before.
Thanks a lot for the help!
 08/19/2005 06:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
derGhostrider
Case Modder

Posts: 1465
Joined: 04/04/2004

No Problem! I'm here to help.

I'd also recommend that you check the temperatures of the CPUs and the board with TSM just to get sure that everything works as advertised.

I like the fan adjustment as well. /wink.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='wink.gif' />

-------------------------
Regards,
  Ghostrider

·CPUs - 2*Opteron 246
·Mainboard - Tyan Thunder K8W S2885ANRF
·RAM - 4*Corsair TwinX1024RE-3200LL (4GB, 8*512MB, DDR400, 2-3-2)
·Graphics - HIS IceQ-II X800Pro
·HDD - Western Digital Raptor WD740GD, 74GB, 10k
·RAID - 3Ware 7850, 64bit PCI, 8chn hardware RAID
·RAID-HDDs - 5*WD800JB
·Optical - 1*SlimSize CD-ROM; 1*NEC7441 DVD-RW
·Sound - Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Elite Pro

 10/26/2005 04:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
redclawkefar
Senior Member

Posts: 1082
Joined: 02/15/2004

so someone mentioned a NEW beta bios.... 2.05h i do believe...
actually Raymond did in his thread here' ">http://forums.amd.com/index.php?showtopic=59416

most of us are pretty happy with the 2.05 release, but i'd like people who currently have any issues to post them and we'll see what the 2.05h beta may be fixing

Tyan Beta Website
http://www.tyan.com/support/html/bios_support.html#beta' ">http://www.tyan.com/support/html/bios_support.html#beta

-------------------------
SYSTEM-1: 2x Viewsonic VX900-2 19"| Tyan S2885ANRF (Rev.A, bios v2.07) | 1x ATI Radeon X800 Pro 256MB | 2x AMD Opteron 248-HE Single-Core CPU | 8x 512mb PC3200 Corsair XMS Series ECC Reg. (CMX512RE-3200LL) | 2x Seagate LVD 36.7Gb U320 SCSI 10,000rpm RAID0 (ST336607LW) | 1x Seagate LVD 36.7Gb U320 SCSI 1
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information