AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: SK8N Bios
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/22/2005 05:33 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/22/2005 05:33 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
0iD
Junior Member

Posts: 12
Joined: 04/27/2004

Does anyone know of a guide to the best settings for the SK8N mobo? Also, is it worth updating the bios from 1004? & to what? 1007?


Cheers!

-------------------------
Opteron 150(@2592)~Asus SK8N~1Gb OCZ PC3500~XFX 6800GT~Tagan 480W PSU~Twin Raptors Raid0~2*DiamondMax Plus10 200GB~Hercules Gamesurround Fortissimo 7.1~NEC ND-2500A DVD/RW~FREECOM CDRW52K ~WinTV PVR 250~Logitech MX700~Microsoft Natural Keyboard Pro~Iiyama Visionmaster Pro500
 02/22/2005 06:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
redclawkefar
Senior Member

Posts: 1082
Joined: 02/15/2004

is that steppings or settings?

also post the rest of your specs...

-------------------------
SYSTEM-1: 2x Viewsonic VX900-2 19"| Tyan S2885ANRF (Rev.A, bios v2.07) | 1x ATI Radeon X800 Pro 256MB | 2x AMD Opteron 248-HE Single-Core CPU | 8x 512mb PC3200 Corsair XMS Series ECC Reg. (CMX512RE-3200LL) | 2x Seagate LVD 36.7Gb U320 SCSI 10,000rpm RAID0 (ST336607LW) | 1x Seagate LVD 36.7Gb U320 SCSI 1
 02/22/2005 08:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
0iD
Junior Member

Posts: 12
Joined: 04/27/2004

Full Spec:

Opteron 150 + Thermalright XP-120
Asus SK8N
1Gb OCZ PC3500 ECC Reg
XFX 6800GT
Tagan 480W PSU
Twin 74gig Raptors Raid0
DiamondMax Plus9 200GB
Hercules Gamesurround Fortissimo 7.1
Sony DVD/RW
Plextor Plexwriter CD/RW
WinTV PVR 250
Logitech MX700
Microsoft Natural Keyboard Pro
Iiyama Visionmaster Pro500

Generally I'm used to Intel & AMD XP boards. Inherited this from work. would like a clue as to settings for FID/VID, & what some of the settings should be (HT Trisatate Enable, CRC FLood enable???) for max performance.

Also should I update the Bios to 1007 or 1008 beta.

-------------------------
Opteron 150(@2592)~Asus SK8N~1Gb OCZ PC3500~XFX 6800GT~Tagan 480W PSU~Twin Raptors Raid0~2*DiamondMax Plus10 200GB~Hercules Gamesurround Fortissimo 7.1~NEC ND-2500A DVD/RW~FREECOM CDRW52K ~WinTV PVR 250~Logitech MX700~Microsoft Natural Keyboard Pro~Iiyama Visionmaster Pro500
 02/22/2005 09:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
redclawkefar
Senior Member

Posts: 1082
Joined: 02/15/2004

nice setup... have you run it yet w/ that ram? i only ask since we typically only see pc3200 used. also, until you know the board bewtter go w/ bios 1007. i don't know it well enough to say which settings to do. but sooner or later someone will post here today.

-------------------------
SYSTEM-1: 2x Viewsonic VX900-2 19"| Tyan S2885ANRF (Rev.A, bios v2.07) | 1x ATI Radeon X800 Pro 256MB | 2x AMD Opteron 248-HE Single-Core CPU | 8x 512mb PC3200 Corsair XMS Series ECC Reg. (CMX512RE-3200LL) | 2x Seagate LVD 36.7Gb U320 SCSI 10,000rpm RAID0 (ST336607LW) | 1x Seagate LVD 36.7Gb U320 SCSI 1
 02/22/2005 09:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
0iD
Junior Member

Posts: 12
Joined: 04/27/2004

I had it running with an Opteron 246 for the past 6 months (fsb @ 214) stable as you like. But I got the chance of an opteron 150, so I took it but had to re-set the Bios before it'd boot properly. And me being me forgot to take note of the settings

-------------------------
Opteron 150(@2592)~Asus SK8N~1Gb OCZ PC3500~XFX 6800GT~Tagan 480W PSU~Twin Raptors Raid0~2*DiamondMax Plus10 200GB~Hercules Gamesurround Fortissimo 7.1~NEC ND-2500A DVD/RW~FREECOM CDRW52K ~WinTV PVR 250~Logitech MX700~Microsoft Natural Keyboard Pro~Iiyama Visionmaster Pro500
 02/22/2005 01:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
flatus[TDM]
Member

Posts: 114
Joined: 10/07/2003

I have a sk8n with a fx-51 running the 1007 bios with no problems. I have not tried the 1008 bios, didn't even know there was one.


-------------------------
too many to list
 02/23/2005 03:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
0iD
Junior Member

Posts: 12
Joined: 04/27/2004

OK ta, will load the 1007 bios. The 1008 bios is a beta, not always the safest thing to do know.

-------------------------
Opteron 150(@2592)~Asus SK8N~1Gb OCZ PC3500~XFX 6800GT~Tagan 480W PSU~Twin Raptors Raid0~2*DiamondMax Plus10 200GB~Hercules Gamesurround Fortissimo 7.1~NEC ND-2500A DVD/RW~FREECOM CDRW52K ~WinTV PVR 250~Logitech MX700~Microsoft Natural Keyboard Pro~Iiyama Visionmaster Pro500
 03/11/2005 09:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
RedEXE
Senior Member

Posts: 213
Joined: 10/25/2004

I upgrade my FX board (SK8N) and i made 0 diffrence.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information