AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Video Card
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/16/2005 02:10 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/16/2005 02:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Pick
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 12/27/2004

I produce instructional technical animation video and reqired a much higher rendering speed to improve through-put. I decided to built a new workstation based on the TYAN K8W S2885 mobo and a pair of Opteron 250s. 2GB PC2700 RAM and a pair of 200GB SATA drives in RAID 1. The OS is Windows XP-PRO

I work primarily in AutoCad and 3DS max rendering to AVI files in NTSC 720 X 480. The editing is done in Adobe Premier PRO and exported to DVD.

I have had mixed success with ATI video adapers and nVidea cards and would like to avoid the expensive "trial and error" routine of getting the best display and rendering performance out of a new work station.

There is a world of expert experience out there, I wonder if you guys can give me some advice in re:- BEST VIDEO ADAPTER, BEST BIOS, BEST BIOS SETTINGS and any other advice you think may be helpful.

Many thanks in advance Pick.
 01/17/2005 12:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
derGhostrider
Case Modder

Posts: 1465
Joined: 04/04/2004

Well, right now I use a HIS IceQ-II X800Pro card that runs pretty fine without any problems. I use the OMEGA drivers because they have proven to be more stable than the Catalyst. (Believe me, before I had THIS card I did not like the Omega-Drivers).

Best BIOS-Settings: If you have a BIOS "older" than the pre-release of 2.03 you have to set the AGP-HT-Link-Speed to 600MHz.
The best BIOS (from my point of view) is the Beta 2.03. You can use the HT-Link Speeds of 1GHz, 800Mhz, 800MHz without problems.

Other things you should check:
For reliability I enabled ECC and chipkill.
You should use 4 memory modules, two at each CPU to get the maximum possible bandwidth. I'd suggest that you take PC3200 instead of PC2700 because the whole system will profit from the speed increase.
Add the /PAE switch to the boot.ini to enable NUMA-suppport.

I did never test any FASTER video card on that board (because I do not own a faster one) but I can't think of a reason why a X800XT PE should make any trouble.

If you will need more harddrive performance I'd suggest to upgrade to a 3Ware 9500S-8 hardware RAID controller and a few (at least 4) pretty fast harddrives.
Take a look at the Maxtor DiamondMax 10 with 16MB cache http://www.maxtor.com/portal/s...or/m...DiamondMax%2010' ">http://www.maxtor.com/portal/s...esktop/DiamondMax%2010
or think about several WD Raptors. Just 74GB each but if you have eight of them it should be enough.

Anything else, please?

-------------------------
Regards,
  Ghostrider

·CPUs - 2*Opteron 246
·Mainboard - Tyan Thunder K8W S2885ANRF
·RAM - 4*Corsair TwinX1024RE-3200LL (4GB, 8*512MB, DDR400, 2-3-2)
·Graphics - HIS IceQ-II X800Pro
·HDD - Western Digital Raptor WD740GD, 74GB, 10k
·RAID - 3Ware 7850, 64bit PCI, 8chn hardware RAID
·RAID-HDDs - 5*WD800JB
·Optical - 1*SlimSize CD-ROM; 1*NEC7441 DVD-RW
·Sound - Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Elite Pro

Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information