AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: 2 * Opteron 248 ->HDTV - not working
Topic Summary:
Created On: 07/24/2006 07:06 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/24/2006 07:06 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
roland_
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 07/24/2006

Hallo !

I have a H8DCE from Supermicro + latest Bios 1.1a + 2 Opterons 248.
WIN XP Pro 64 + KNC-ONE .

BUT : HDTV ( Astra HD + ANIXE HD ) is not working fine - Load Sharing Problems.
The Processor Load is beween 40 - 70 % but not equal - 1 CP is doing 90% and the other only 30 %.
So the picture gets stuck very often.

Any Solution ???

 07/24/2006 08:02 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
derGhostrider
Case Modder

Posts: 1465
Joined: 04/04/2004

It is very usual that the CPU load is NOT equal. Windows can spread the tasks over the available CPUs but it can not split up a singlethreaded application to several CPUs. So if you have just one singlethreaded application it may even max out one CPU close to 100% while the other CPU is close to idle (background tasks will be routed to the less used CPU in this case).

You can try to set the CPU affinity of you TV-App to the second CPU (task manager, process view,...). Some programs don't like to be switched from one CPU to the other. If there are other demanding tasks running at the same time you may try to force these to use the first cpu so that the TV-app has not to share the second CPU with these tasks.

My TV-app does some sort of caching on the harddrive (don't ask me why). If it is the same with your software your harddrive may be the bottleneck. Try to check for cache-folders in the TV-app and maybe change the path to a less used harddrive.

-------------------------
Regards,
  Ghostrider

·CPUs - 2*Opteron 246
·Mainboard - Tyan Thunder K8W S2885ANRF
·RAM - 4*Corsair TwinX1024RE-3200LL (4GB, 8*512MB, DDR400, 2-3-2)
·Graphics - HIS IceQ-II X800Pro
·HDD - Western Digital Raptor WD740GD, 74GB, 10k
·RAID - 3Ware 7850, 64bit PCI, 8chn hardware RAID
·RAID-HDDs - 5*WD800JB
·Optical - 1*SlimSize CD-ROM; 1*NEC7441 DVD-RW
·Sound - Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Elite Pro

 07/25/2006 03:08 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
roland_
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 07/24/2006

Hallo Thomas !

I will check this out and report .
If moving the HD Application to my RAID 0 will solve the Problem ? Hmm
We will see......

Best Regards from Salzburg

Roland


quote:

Originally posted by: derGhostrider
It is very usual that the CPU load is NOT equal. Windows can spread the tasks over the available CPUs but it can not split up a singlethreaded application to several CPUs. So if you have just one singlethreaded application it may even max out one CPU close to 100% while the other CPU is close to idle (background tasks will be routed to the less used CPU in this case).

You can try to set the CPU affinity of you TV-App to the second CPU (task manager, process view,...). Some programs don't like to be switched from one CPU to the other. If there are other demanding tasks running at the same time you may try to force these to use the first cpu so that the TV-app has not to share the second CPU with these tasks.

My TV-app does some sort of caching on the harddrive (don't ask me why). If it is the same with your software your harddrive may be the bottleneck. Try to check for cache-folders in the TV-app and maybe change the path to a less used harddrive.


 07/25/2006 12:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
derGhostrider
Case Modder

Posts: 1465
Joined: 04/04/2004

It's worth a try. Please keep me up to date!

-------------------------
Regards,
  Ghostrider

·CPUs - 2*Opteron 246
·Mainboard - Tyan Thunder K8W S2885ANRF
·RAM - 4*Corsair TwinX1024RE-3200LL (4GB, 8*512MB, DDR400, 2-3-2)
·Graphics - HIS IceQ-II X800Pro
·HDD - Western Digital Raptor WD740GD, 74GB, 10k
·RAID - 3Ware 7850, 64bit PCI, 8chn hardware RAID
·RAID-HDDs - 5*WD800JB
·Optical - 1*SlimSize CD-ROM; 1*NEC7441 DVD-RW
·Sound - Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Elite Pro

Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information