AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Windows 2003 server Sp1 installation problems?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 05/05/2006 06:07 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/05/2006 06:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Siladger
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 05/04/2006

Hi,

I want to buy a Opteron Sever, with 1 Opteron model 265 and ASUS mainboard model K8N-DL, my official Opteron provider has said to me that there are a problem during the installation of this OS,(windows 2003 sever with Sp1 incorporated) and it can not be installed but the installation of Windows 2003 server without Sp1 incorporated and after install the SP1 have no problem.

But I don't know if believe it... is it true? are there some official AMD new about this problem? or my provider wants to sell me a Xeon server... (I want the best server and the best is the Opteron Solution).

Thank you, and sorry for my english level.
 05/06/2006 07:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
derGhostrider
Case Modder

Posts: 1465
Joined: 04/04/2004

Sounds fishy to me because google does not find much about SP1-problems with Opterons.
After googling some more I found some people with Tyan barebones that encountered problems with SP1 but that's it.

Maybe your provider should think about "Windows Server 2003 RC2" - the most actual version. At least I can tell you that I did not had any problems with Windows server 2003 +SP1 on my dual Opteron.

Distributors often tend to buy xeons because they don't know anything about Opterons. :-( Sad but true.

-------------------------
Regards,
  Ghostrider

·CPUs - 2*Opteron 246
·Mainboard - Tyan Thunder K8W S2885ANRF
·RAM - 4*Corsair TwinX1024RE-3200LL (4GB, 8*512MB, DDR400, 2-3-2)
·Graphics - HIS IceQ-II X800Pro
·HDD - Western Digital Raptor WD740GD, 74GB, 10k
·RAID - 3Ware 7850, 64bit PCI, 8chn hardware RAID
·RAID-HDDs - 5*WD800JB
·Optical - 1*SlimSize CD-ROM; 1*NEC7441 DVD-RW
·Sound - Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Elite Pro

 05/08/2006 02:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Siladger
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 05/04/2006

quote:

Originally posted by: derGhostrider
Sounds fishy to me because google does not find much about SP1-problems with Opterons.
After googling some more I found some people with Tyan barebones that encountered problems with SP1 but that's it.

Maybe your provider should think about "Windows Server 2003 RC2" - the most actual version. At least I can tell you that I did not had any problems with Windows server 2003 +SP1 on my dual Opteron.

Distributors often tend to buy xeons because they don't know anything about Opterons. :-( Sad but true.




Thank you, this week I receive the Opteron Server computer and I will try the installation of Windows 2003 Server Sp1 (not RC2) and I will tell you what about it. If it fails he said to me they will change by another one...

Thank you!!!

 05/08/2006 02:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
derGhostrider
Case Modder

Posts: 1465
Joined: 04/04/2004

Good luck and please report back!

-------------------------
Regards,
  Ghostrider

·CPUs - 2*Opteron 246
·Mainboard - Tyan Thunder K8W S2885ANRF
·RAM - 4*Corsair TwinX1024RE-3200LL (4GB, 8*512MB, DDR400, 2-3-2)
·Graphics - HIS IceQ-II X800Pro
·HDD - Western Digital Raptor WD740GD, 74GB, 10k
·RAID - 3Ware 7850, 64bit PCI, 8chn hardware RAID
·RAID-HDDs - 5*WD800JB
·Optical - 1*SlimSize CD-ROM; 1*NEC7441 DVD-RW
·Sound - Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Elite Pro

 05/31/2006 05:42 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Siladger
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 05/04/2006

Ok, i has installed windows without any problem, I don't kown why my provider said it to me...

But all is all right!!!


thank you!!!
 05/31/2006 09:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
derGhostrider
Case Modder

Posts: 1465
Joined: 04/04/2004

Thanks for the feedback. Nice to hear that everything is fine.
Have fun with the system!

-------------------------
Regards,
  Ghostrider

·CPUs - 2*Opteron 246
·Mainboard - Tyan Thunder K8W S2885ANRF
·RAM - 4*Corsair TwinX1024RE-3200LL (4GB, 8*512MB, DDR400, 2-3-2)
·Graphics - HIS IceQ-II X800Pro
·HDD - Western Digital Raptor WD740GD, 74GB, 10k
·RAID - 3Ware 7850, 64bit PCI, 8chn hardware RAID
·RAID-HDDs - 5*WD800JB
·Optical - 1*SlimSize CD-ROM; 1*NEC7441 DVD-RW
·Sound - Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Elite Pro

Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information