AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Rig running different after a case swap
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/10/2006 02:32 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/10/2006 02:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bp1019
Senior Member

Posts: 2434
Joined: 08/24/2005

I had just gotten an Aerocool Masstige case because I wanted something with more airflow and it had gotten good reviews. I swapped everything over and I was running into problems with the design and it was much louder and didn't offer much improvement so I swapped back to my Antec SuperLanboy and now OCCT says the CPU isn't stable. Before I did this I had run Stressprime, OCCT, you name it and I ran it and it was 100% stable and had been for weeks. I didn't do anything but swap cases, and I put everything back in the old case basically exactly like I had it before. I can't figure out whats going on and wanted some input before I had to start my OC all over. Everything reads the same (voltages, BIOS settings, AS5 hasn't cured so temps are a few degrees higher) but everything reads the same as it did before I swapped. Any ideas?

-------------------------

-Proud owner of a DFI because chicks dig "Big" OCs
Repsgaminglounge
 02/10/2006 03:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zeppelinrox
Senior Member

Posts: 8484
Joined: 11/30/2005

its unstable at stock speed?

-------------------------


Overclocking Help and Links . Why DRM, BluRay and HD-DVD Blow Great tools-> OC Bible v1.52 and Guidemania v1.2
 02/10/2006 11:34 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bp1019
Senior Member

Posts: 2434
Joined: 08/24/2005

quote:

Originally posted by: zeppelinrox
its unstable at stock speed?




No, my OC is now unstable after it was 100% stable before I did this. I was just trying to see if there was anything I should check before I clear CMOS and start all over.

-------------------------

-Proud owner of a DFI because chicks dig "Big" OCs
Repsgaminglounge
 02/10/2006 12:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zeppelinrox
Senior Member

Posts: 8484
Joined: 11/30/2005

well.. it can be the temps.. since that is the only thing that is different

-------------------------


Overclocking Help and Links . Why DRM, BluRay and HD-DVD Blow Great tools-> OC Bible v1.52 and Guidemania v1.2
 02/10/2006 01:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bp1019
Senior Member

Posts: 2434
Joined: 08/24/2005

quote:

Originally posted by: zeppelinrox
well.. it can be the temps.. since that is the only thing that is different




Yeah, I was thinking that but they are still in the green. Mid 30's CPU, Low 40's PWMIC, Upper 40's chipset. I know the chipset is running a bit warm but thats due to the bad placement behind the PCIe slot. So the temps are acceptable, I guess I'll work on it some more tonight and see what I can come up with. This is just wierd.

-------------------------

-Proud owner of a DFI because chicks dig "Big" OCs
Repsgaminglounge
 02/14/2006 09:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bitey
Elite

Posts: 1492
Joined: 10/07/2003

your cpu will be stable at its rated speed for its rated temperature.

Once you start OC'ing all bets are off, if you hit instabilty your either reduce temps, increase voltage or reduce your overclock.

Its perfectly normal for a OC'ed cpu to become unstable at some particular temperature.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information