Increase font size
Topic Title: new 175 denmark running hot
Topic Summary:
Created On: 03/13/2006 01:01 AM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/13/2006 01:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mrdpenguin

Hi, I just bought an opteron dual core 175 denmark and according to the bios it's running at 58 deg c idle. I was told from a few friends that that's hot, but I couldn't find any tech documents on this chip from AMD about proper temperature. I'm an electrical engineering student, but am a little new to building computers. The chip is on a new tyan tomcat k8e-sli board. I'm using AMD's stock heatsync and fan, which are huge. I"m pretty sure I installed it correctly. It had a gray thermal pad on the bottom. Please help!
 03/13/2006 01:05 AM

Author Icon
zeppelinrox

the temperature reading may not be accurate.
update the motherboard's bios as sometimes that helps reading truer temps.

also, when you touch the HS is it warm?

-------------------------

Overclocking Help and Links . Why DRM, BluRay and HD-DVD Blow Great tools-> OC Bible v1.52 and Guidemania v1.2
 03/13/2006 11:42 AM

Author Icon
mrdpenguin

quote:

Originally posted by: zeppelinrox
the temperature reading may not be accurate.
update the motherboard's bios as sometimes that helps reading truer temps.

also, when you touch the HS is it warm?

The bios is currently the newest version. Tyan just came out with this board and I waited 2 months to recieve it so maybe they'll have another update in a few weeks. I'll try touching the HS when I get home. Thanks.
 03/13/2006 06:59 PM

Author Icon
derGhostrider
Case Modder

AFAIK Tyan is still working on a NEW method to read out the temperatures on all boards.