AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: need help bad
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/12/2006 09:32 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/12/2006 09:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zenyora
Senior Member

Posts: 308
Joined: 01/12/2006

hey all..
i just finshed installing windows on my new system..but its very slow...my task manager shows the cpu is running on 100%...and iam not doing anyhting....i have the opty 170........ i downloaded amd clock and it shows that both cores are runing at 2.0 which is 100%,and nothing is running....nothing at all....!!!!!!! and the cp is very slow becouse of that
iv been told to install amd multicore driver..but i can find such thing?
anyone can help me here
 01/12/2006 11:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Gem
Senior Member

Posts: 367
Joined: 11/02/2005

List your motherboard and memory. The driver you need can be found
here' ">http://www.amd.com/us-en/Proce..._182_871_13118,00.html.
 01/12/2006 12:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bp1019
Senior Member

Posts: 2434
Joined: 08/24/2005

You most likely need the driver that Gem linked to. Ctrl+Alt+Del, go to the performance tab, and see if it has 2 CPU graphs. If not, then Windows isn't recognizing the Opteron as dual core.

-------------------------

-Proud owner of a DFI because chicks dig "Big" OCs
Repsgaminglounge
 01/12/2006 12:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zenyora
Senior Member

Posts: 308
Joined: 01/12/2006

thnak you for your help...iv been looking all over ...
will the mobo that i have is the asus a8n premuim and the ram i have 1 gig of value select......
by the way is this the driver that i should download
AMD Opteron™ Processor PowerNow! Driver for Windows XP and Windows Server 2003 Version (exe) 1.2.2.2
thanks
 01/12/2006 12:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bp1019
Senior Member

Posts: 2434
Joined: 08/24/2005

Look here for a good guide on getting your Opteron running: http://forums.amd.com/index.php?showtopic=64936' ">http://forums.amd.com/index.php?showtopic=64936.

-------------------------

-Proud owner of a DFI because chicks dig "Big" OCs
Repsgaminglounge
 01/12/2006 02:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Gem
Senior Member

Posts: 367
Joined: 11/02/2005

Yes that is the correct driver.

QUOTEAMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Driver for Windows XP and Windows Server 2003 Version (exe) 1.2.2.2 - Allows the system to automatically adjust the CPU speed, voltage and power combination that match the instantaneous user performance need. Download this Setup Installation program (EXE) to automatically update all the files necessary for installation. This package is recommended for users whom desire a graphical user interface for installation. This .EXE driver is a user friendly localized software installation of the driver designed for end-users. This driver supports AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core processors on Windows XP SP2 and Windows 2003 SP1

Be aware as well that you will have to update bios to latest revision, which is 1009, I use beta bios 1011.001 without ANY trouble. That corsair value select memory should work ok.

Check here' ">http://support.asus.com/downlo...d.aspx?SLanguage=en-us for bios support. Use Asus update to flash bios in windows environment, easy as pie. /happy.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='happy.gif' />
 01/12/2006 03:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zenyora
Senior Member

Posts: 308
Joined: 01/12/2006

i installed sp2 and installed the driver ...i also updated the bios ..but for someresone iam still running 100% on both cores
 01/12/2006 04:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zeppelinrox
Senior Member

Posts: 8484
Joined: 11/30/2005

see here http://www.amdzone.com/modules...modl...rticle&sid=3951' ">http://www.amdzone.com/modules...&file=article&sid=3951

somebody that has made comments on that page actually uploaded the file and linked to it

-------------------------


Overclocking Help and Links . Why DRM, BluRay and HD-DVD Blow Great tools-> OC Bible v1.52 and Guidemania v1.2
 01/12/2006 05:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zenyora
Senior Member

Posts: 308
Joined: 01/12/2006

thnaks alot..it worked..
by the way..this is my first build...and i was wondering..now i have the antec true power 550..the fan isnt facing out of the case it kind on top...does that fane blow or suck air...the resone iam asking is becouse its facing the mobo..and i was wondering if i should turn it upside down so it faces the case....i mean does it effect the temp?
thanks
 01/12/2006 06:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bp1019
Senior Member

Posts: 2434
Joined: 08/24/2005

If its on the bottom of the PSU it sucks in and the one in back blows out.

-------------------------

-Proud owner of a DFI because chicks dig "Big" OCs
Repsgaminglounge
 01/12/2006 06:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zeppelinrox
Senior Member

Posts: 8484
Joined: 11/30/2005

QUOTE(zenyora @ Jan 12 2006, 05:57 PM)thnaks alot..it worked..
[right][snapback]592628[/snapback][/right]

sweet!
alot of people have reported that problem and that hotfix is not downloadable at the microsoft site. You normally have to contact microsoft and they would send you where to download it.

-------------------------


Overclocking Help and Links . Why DRM, BluRay and HD-DVD Blow Great tools-> OC Bible v1.52 and Guidemania v1.2
 01/12/2006 06:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zenyora
Senior Member

Posts: 308
Joined: 01/12/2006

i really love my new system..now iam going to overclock it..if i figure that out..lol
 01/12/2006 06:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zeppelinrox
Senior Member

Posts: 8484
Joined: 11/30/2005

start a new thread.. you will get LOTS of tips LOL

EDIT: read this first.. the basics http://forums.amd.com/index.php?showtopic=55881' ">http://forums.amd.com/index.php?showtopic=55881

-------------------------


Overclocking Help and Links . Why DRM, BluRay and HD-DVD Blow Great tools-> OC Bible v1.52 and Guidemania v1.2
 01/13/2006 05:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zenyora
Senior Member

Posts: 308
Joined: 01/12/2006

sorry for bringing this thrad back up...i really dont know if this belongs here or not..
anyway..for some resone my applications keep crashing ...
i have windows xp pro 64 ......any idea why ?when its crashes back to windows the colors get brighter....could this be a hardware issue...i used the asus update utility to update the bios..and that didnt fix it ..when i checked the device manager i had si pesudo driver..that i disabled becouse i dont have any sata drives....still didnt fix the problem ....is there any tools that i can use to make sure that my build is working the way it should ....thanks
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information