AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: the blue screen of death
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/19/2006 02:37 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/19/2006 02:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zenyora
Senior Member

Posts: 308
Joined: 01/12/2006

hey all...
ok here is the thing ..yesterday after playing call of duty 2 for 7 hours my system crashed ..i got the blue screen for a sec or so so i couldnt read what does it say ..then system booted .....when that happened it asked to insert the system disk....so i restarted the system and checked the bios to make sure i says boot to drive first..and that was the case so i restarted the system and put in the system disk ....
and i got the option to install windows or press ESC to boot to drive so i pressed ESC and i got this
cant read from device line 35 bscscrpit
bscscript>

as if it waiting for a code or something .....
i turned of the computer and after like half an hour i tried again and it started fine ....and idea what might be causing that ?any solutions ?
please help if you can...
thanks
 01/20/2006 05:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
derGhostrider
Case Modder

Posts: 1465
Joined: 04/04/2004

Maybe your harddrive starts failing... It's usual that harddrives if they are getting defective start to fail once then work again as before for some weeks or even months, then fail again etc... the time between the failures will get shorter until the disk is completely dead.

What you can try: Download the ultimate boot CD ISO (Link: http://www.ultimatebootcd.com/)' ">http://www.ultimatebootcd.com/). It contains harddrive tools for all manufactors. IF your harddrive failed very very bad it may detect a problem with your drive.
But be warned: I tested more than 20 harddrives during the last 6 years and just a few of them showed detectable errors even if they were definitely defective.
And don't just do the Quick tests. The "advanced" tests are the better solution.

You can also try to do some stresstesting with your harddrive and try to reproduce the problem. After the system is up for some hours you can start to run harddrive benchmarks. Not just something short like HDtach but maybe a random access pattern with IOmeter that runs as long as you like. If that disk starts to make strange noises or even fails to respond after some time (maybe an hour...) you have a good hint that it will fail again.

Whatever you do: Get a backup of your data as long as you have the chance to do it.

A friend of mine had a harddrive that did not work every few months and showed after the first power-on: No operating system found.... I told her to get a new harddrive but she refused. After about 6 months the harddrive still worked but these errors appeared at every second or third power on. when these errors appeared nearly every time she bought a new harddrive.
What should this story tell? The harddrive may come up clean from the test and work flawless for many months util it suddenly fails again. Just be prepared.

Another tip: Check the cabling of the harddrive. Especially the data cable on the harddrive AND the mainboard. Confirm that it is plugged in completely.

Good luck!


For others that want to post suggestions: I don't think that it's a temperature issue because this would have caused a crash earlier.
I don't think that it is related to the graphic card because he had a picture during the boot up and the error message said something like: Operating system not found. Please enter System disk. (typical for a harddrive problem)
It is also typical that a harddrive with "minor" defects comes back after a full power cycle.

-------------------------
Regards,
  Ghostrider

·CPUs - 2*Opteron 246
·Mainboard - Tyan Thunder K8W S2885ANRF
·RAM - 4*Corsair TwinX1024RE-3200LL (4GB, 8*512MB, DDR400, 2-3-2)
·Graphics - HIS IceQ-II X800Pro
·HDD - Western Digital Raptor WD740GD, 74GB, 10k
·RAID - 3Ware 7850, 64bit PCI, 8chn hardware RAID
·RAID-HDDs - 5*WD800JB
·Optical - 1*SlimSize CD-ROM; 1*NEC7441 DVD-RW
·Sound - Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Elite Pro

 01/20/2006 04:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zenyora
Senior Member

Posts: 308
Joined: 01/12/2006

will my harddrive is brand new...but iam going to try what you said..ill let you know
thanks alot
 01/20/2006 04:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SevenThunders
Junior Member

Posts: 9
Joined: 01/19/2006

QUOTE(zenyora @ Jan 20 2006, 05:13 PM)will my harddrive is brand new...but iam going to try what you said..ill let you know
thanks alot
[right][snapback]600058[/snapback][/right]


Hmmm, a hard crash like this could end up corrupting the hard drive. You'll definately want to run chkdsk on your drive. I've also had problems with the ide cabling being bad and had to replace it to get my hard drive to boot up properly.

As for your crash, perhaps it was heat related after 7 hours of play?

-------------------------
Athlon X2 3800+ | DFI Infinity SLI motherboard
2Gb (2 x 1Gb) Gskill DDR 500 RAM | Aspire ATX AS 520W PSU
Windows XP 64 | 2x GE Force 6600 GT SLI mode
display driver 81.98 | Nforce driver version 6.69
Western Digital 130GB SATA drive
 01/20/2006 05:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Flintstone
Senior Member

Posts: 265
Joined: 10/07/2003

Also, just because your hard drive is new doesn't mean it isn't bad. At least, make a backup of any data you don't want to loose (keep it updated) and that way, if it does fail, you'll only loose hardware, not data. And definately run the diagnostics from your hard drive's manufacturer.

Flint

-------------------------
2 X 250 "E" Opterons, S2895 A2NRF (K8WE) beta bios 1.01T
4 X(2x 512MB Matched) Corsair 3200 Reg ECC(TWINX1024RE-3200LLPT)
nVidia 6800GT, LSI 320-2X U320 Raid (512MB ram Onboard!!)
7 X 15,000 RPM U320 Drives, XP Pro SP2
PC Power & Cooling 850 SSI
IT WORKS!!! AND IT'S TYAN'S TECH SUPPORT THAT DID IT!!!!
 01/20/2006 10:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zenyora
Senior Member

Posts: 308
Joined: 01/12/2006

will i keep failing on the burnin test..why...this suck i spend $1400 on a new pc that doesnt work right..grrrr
' ">http://img17.imageshack.us/my.php?image=untitled8fa.jpg
 01/20/2006 10:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zenyora
Senior Member

Posts: 308
Joined: 01/12/2006

QUOTE(SevenThunders @ Jan 20 2006, 03:25 PM)Hmmm, a hard crash like this could end up corrupting the hard drive.  You'll definately want to run chkdsk on your drive.  I've also had problems with the ide cabling being bad and had to replace it to get my hard drive to boot up properly.

As for your crash, perhaps it was heat related after 7 hours of play?
[right][snapback]600068[/snapback][/right]

how do i do that?
 01/20/2006 10:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
fastedie
Member

Posts: 158
Joined: 11/15/2004

I would try to reproduce the same proble again. and if it does the same thing twice then I would investagte. It alittle harder. Just my two cents. For Now.

-------------------------
DFI NF4 Ultra D
AMD FX60 @ 2889.5 GHz
6800 geforce 256
 01/20/2006 10:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zenyora
Senior Member

Posts: 308
Joined: 01/12/2006

will i did the test again wothout the video one(what is that ) and i passed..becouse i have the trail version which last for 15 min i did the test for about 1hour
' ">http://img21.imageshack.us/my....image=untitled7kg1.jpg
 01/20/2006 10:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zenyora
Senior Member

Posts: 308
Joined: 01/12/2006

QUOTE(fastedie @ Jan 20 2006, 09:29 PM)I would  try to reproduce the same proble again. and if it does the same thing twice then I would investagte. It alittle harder. Just my two cents.  For Now.
[right][snapback]600492[/snapback][/right]

will it happend again today ....while i was playing ....so i did what was been told in this thread regarding the driver
http://forums.amd.com/index.php?showtopic=66336' ">http://forums.amd.com/index.php?showtopic=66336
and i also tested with sandra
http://img7.imageshack.us/my.php?image=untitled9ep.jpg' ">http://img7.imageshack.us/my.php?image=untitled9ep.jpg
http://img7.imageshack.us/my.php?image=untitled23po.jpg' ">http://img7.imageshack.us/my.php?image=untitled23po.jpg
http://img63.imageshack.us/my....image=untitled35cj.jpg' ">http://img63.imageshack.us/my....image=untitled35cj.jpg
http://img63.imageshack.us/my....image=untitled49ey.jpg' ">http://img63.imageshack.us/my....image=untitled49ey.jpg
http://img63.imageshack.us/my....image=untitled52fn.jpg' ">http://img63.imageshack.us/my....image=untitled52fn.jpg
.......
at this point iam really dispreat for any help...i am a 3d modeler ..so my hardware knowledge isnt that good ...so if you know anything ells that i should do ..or a step by step guide for troubleshooting this issue that would be great....
 01/21/2006 03:49 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zenyora
Senior Member

Posts: 308
Joined: 01/12/2006

one fast driver question ..is this the latest driver for the 7800gt for windows xp pro x64
http://www.nvidia.com/object/winxp64_81.98.html' ">http://www.nvidia.com/object/winxp64_81.98.html
also is this the right way to check for the driver that i have
' ">http://img18.imageshack.us/my.php?image=untitled5gu.jpg
 01/21/2006 07:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
derGhostrider
Case Modder

Posts: 1465
Joined: 04/04/2004

Yes. Go back to my initial posting and follow the tips especially this one:
QUOTE(myself)Download the ultimate boot CD ISO (Link: http://www.ultimatebootcd.com/)' ">http://www.ultimatebootcd.com/). It contains harddrive tools for all manufactors. IF your harddrive failed very very bad it may detect a problem with your drive.

SiSoft Sandra or a plain "burn in test" won't show you anything.

And: Be happy that the system is new! You still have warranty on all parts /smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif' />

-------------------------
Regards,
  Ghostrider

·CPUs - 2*Opteron 246
·Mainboard - Tyan Thunder K8W S2885ANRF
·RAM - 4*Corsair TwinX1024RE-3200LL (4GB, 8*512MB, DDR400, 2-3-2)
·Graphics - HIS IceQ-II X800Pro
·HDD - Western Digital Raptor WD740GD, 74GB, 10k
·RAID - 3Ware 7850, 64bit PCI, 8chn hardware RAID
·RAID-HDDs - 5*WD800JB
·Optical - 1*SlimSize CD-ROM; 1*NEC7441 DVD-RW
·Sound - Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Elite Pro

 01/22/2006 04:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zenyora
Senior Member

Posts: 308
Joined: 01/12/2006

will i did the test ..and everything is working fine....so i let my bro play cs for 10 hours and the system was fine ....wierd...could that been some driver thing ??
by the way ..every time i turn my pc on it beeps(five times) now i understand that is called post check...but isnt that supposed to happen just the first time you turn on you pc ??also why does it beep during use sometimes after hours of use ???
 01/22/2006 04:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
derGhostrider
Case Modder

Posts: 1465
Joined: 04/04/2004

Can you disable an option in your bios called: "USB device enumeration"? This may cause the beep codes.
If not it's an error message. Clean posts without errors should end with a single beep.

As I said: The drive may work perfect for months until it fails again. You never know when it will happen. Best advice: Just wait for it to happen again. You can't RMA the harddrive now because you don't have evidence for that failure.

-------------------------
Regards,
  Ghostrider

·CPUs - 2*Opteron 246
·Mainboard - Tyan Thunder K8W S2885ANRF
·RAM - 4*Corsair TwinX1024RE-3200LL (4GB, 8*512MB, DDR400, 2-3-2)
·Graphics - HIS IceQ-II X800Pro
·HDD - Western Digital Raptor WD740GD, 74GB, 10k
·RAID - 3Ware 7850, 64bit PCI, 8chn hardware RAID
·RAID-HDDs - 5*WD800JB
·Optical - 1*SlimSize CD-ROM; 1*NEC7441 DVD-RW
·Sound - Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Elite Pro

 01/22/2006 05:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zenyora
Senior Member

Posts: 308
Joined: 01/12/2006

QUOTE(derGhostrider @ Jan 22 2006, 03:47 PM)Can you disable an option in your bios called: "USB device enumeration"? This may cause the beep codes.
If not it's an error message. Clean posts without errors should end with a single beep.

As I said: The drive may work perfect for months until it fails again. You never know when it will happen. Best advice: Just wait for it to happen again. You can't RMA the harddrive now because you don't have evidence for that failure.
[right][snapback]602059[/snapback][/right]

so if i disabled the the usb device enmureation and it still beeps that is an error??is that what you mean ???
can you also explain what you mean by a single beep for a clean post???
ok this have nothing to do with anything but i am having some issues with maya(3d software) and i tried the downloading the beta driver for my 7800gt but that didnt fix it ....so after looking around i found many people having the same issue with the new nvidia drivers...who told me to rollback to 77.77 but that would effect dual core cpu...how would a GPU driver effect the cpu???i doesnt make sence???
 01/23/2006 05:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
derGhostrider
Case Modder

Posts: 1465
Joined: 04/04/2004

New drivers may be optimized to run multithreaded themselfes - so if you take drivers that are not-optimized you just don't have that advantage.

USB-devices: If I don't disable this USB-enumeration at my system I get between 3 and 7 beeps. USB-Keyboard, USB-mice, USB stick, ...
An error-free boot process is reported by a single or even no beep. (depends on the mainboard and BIOS). Only this USB "feature" causes more beeps if everything is OK.

But as soon as there are beeps to report an error code you should also see an error message on the screen.
I guess that your beeps are just the USB-device enumeration so you don't have to worry about them.

-------------------------
Regards,
  Ghostrider

·CPUs - 2*Opteron 246
·Mainboard - Tyan Thunder K8W S2885ANRF
·RAM - 4*Corsair TwinX1024RE-3200LL (4GB, 8*512MB, DDR400, 2-3-2)
·Graphics - HIS IceQ-II X800Pro
·HDD - Western Digital Raptor WD740GD, 74GB, 10k
·RAID - 3Ware 7850, 64bit PCI, 8chn hardware RAID
·RAID-HDDs - 5*WD800JB
·Optical - 1*SlimSize CD-ROM; 1*NEC7441 DVD-RW
·Sound - Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Elite Pro

 01/23/2006 07:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zenyora
Senior Member

Posts: 308
Joined: 01/12/2006

QUOTE(derGhostrider @ Jan 23 2006, 04:47 AM)New drivers may be optimized to run multithreaded themselfes - so if you take drivers that are not-optimized you just don't have that advantage.

USB-devices: If I don't disable this USB-enumeration at my system I get between 3 and 7 beeps. USB-Keyboard, USB-mice, USB stick, ...
An error-free boot process is reported by a single or even no beep. (depends on the mainboard and BIOS). Only this USB "feature" causes more beeps if everything is OK.

But as soon as there are beeps to report an error code you should also see an error message on the screen.
I guess that your beeps are just the USB-device enumeration so you don't have to worry about them.
[right][snapback]602522[/snapback][/right]

will i dont think i have that in the bios i cheked ..i also went here
http://www.computerhope.com/beep.htm' ">http://www.computerhope.com/beep.htm
disconected everything ...then removed one stick of ram(2/512) and keept the other in slot b1 as said in the asus user guide then switched the sticks same thing on both sticks....then i removed the gpu but keept in the ram ..same thing ...so i guess that means i dont have a ram issue or a gpu issue.....becouse it beeped 5 times in every try.... /mad.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='mad.gif' /> /dry.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='dry.gif' />
 01/24/2006 04:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
derGhostrider
Case Modder

Posts: 1465
Joined: 04/04/2004

If your manual does not mention these 5 beeps I'd suggest to contact the support for the mainboard and ask for it!

-------------------------
Regards,
  Ghostrider

·CPUs - 2*Opteron 246
·Mainboard - Tyan Thunder K8W S2885ANRF
·RAM - 4*Corsair TwinX1024RE-3200LL (4GB, 8*512MB, DDR400, 2-3-2)
·Graphics - HIS IceQ-II X800Pro
·HDD - Western Digital Raptor WD740GD, 74GB, 10k
·RAID - 3Ware 7850, 64bit PCI, 8chn hardware RAID
·RAID-HDDs - 5*WD800JB
·Optical - 1*SlimSize CD-ROM; 1*NEC7441 DVD-RW
·Sound - Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Elite Pro

 01/24/2006 10:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zenyora
Senior Member

Posts: 308
Joined: 01/12/2006

will i contacted asus and this what they said
"As we do not validate memory ourselves you will need to contact the memory manufacturer and verify that the memory you have of theirs is a tested and approved model # and that the cas latency timings being read in the bios are correct. If the settings in the bios are not the correct timings ask them for the timings needed to run your memory on this motherboard, once you have these timings either the memory manufacturer or one of our technician! s can help you hard code these timings into your system. You may also want to ask the manufacturer if there are any memory diagnostic tests that they can recommend that would also help in determining if the memory is causing the problems you are having, there are programs out there that will help in diagnosing problems with memory such as the ones found at www.memtest86.com or the Microsoft memtest diagnostic tool, although we do not officially support these tests your manufacturer may suggest one of these I have listed or another that they themselves use"
so how do i check for those(case latency) etc?
 01/24/2006 11:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
derGhostrider
Case Modder

Posts: 1465
Joined: 04/04/2004

Sorry, but I am not sure if that reply has anything to do with your problem. It sounds as if you would have asked them if your memory is validated for that board.

Did you clearly ask them for the meaning of 5 beeps during the POST or did you ask something like: "Could my memory be causing an issue with the board...."


-------------

Edit:
Memory timings should be found in the BIOS. I guess there's an "ADVANCED" menu or something like that. If the settings are set to "atomatically detect" or "detect by SPD" it should be OK.
The values that have been detected should be shown below this setting. Compare them with the values the memory manufactor lists to check it.

-------------------------
Regards,
  Ghostrider

·CPUs - 2*Opteron 246
·Mainboard - Tyan Thunder K8W S2885ANRF
·RAM - 4*Corsair TwinX1024RE-3200LL (4GB, 8*512MB, DDR400, 2-3-2)
·Graphics - HIS IceQ-II X800Pro
·HDD - Western Digital Raptor WD740GD, 74GB, 10k
·RAID - 3Ware 7850, 64bit PCI, 8chn hardware RAID
·RAID-HDDs - 5*WD800JB
·Optical - 1*SlimSize CD-ROM; 1*NEC7441 DVD-RW
·Sound - Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Elite Pro

Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information