AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: TYAN K8W S2885 2.02 BIOS
Topic Summary:
Created On: 05/23/2004 08:39 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/23/2004 08:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
redclawkefar
Senior Member

Posts: 1082
Joined: 02/15/2004

so TYAN just recently posted a new bios for the S2885 board and for some of us the board has its pros and more cons. so, since we all wish that the AMD chipset issues that we have might be resolved with any help from TYAN, AMD, even ATI for some, i'm starting this bios thread. please post any known issues you notice when you flash to the 2.02 bios, and what, if any, resolution you have to solve our headaches.



what i have noticed, my board now beeps 2 or 3 times before posting
and
the ide channels aren't responding accordingly
[when i disable them in the bios, the system boots fine but still has those beeps]

edit:
if we can get a compilation together, we can all send tyan tech support a better bug report

-------------------------
SYSTEM-1: 2x Viewsonic VX900-2 19"| Tyan S2885ANRF (Rev.A, bios v2.07) | 1x ATI Radeon X800 Pro 256MB | 2x AMD Opteron 248-HE Single-Core CPU | 8x 512mb PC3200 Corsair XMS Series ECC Reg. (CMX512RE-3200LL) | 2x Seagate LVD 36.7Gb U320 SCSI 10,000rpm RAID0 (ST336607LW) | 1x Seagate LVD 36.7Gb U320 SCSI 1
 05/23/2004 09:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
pointreyes
Senior Member

Posts: 846
Joined: 10/07/2003

Ghostrider found a major problem with the 2.02 bios and I have promptly gone back to the 1.02 bios. The 2.02 bios is not a real S2885 bios!!!!!

Using Tyan's System Monitor Console check and see what the monitor claims you have. For me and Ghostrider the monitor says we have S2880 boards! I could not check my temps, voltages, and a few other things. Flashed back to 1.02 and the monitor reports everything correctly again.

Another major bug with the so-called S2885 v2.02 bios-memory speed through benchmarks decrease considerably. Even a test like superpi increased in length of time on my system by 15 seconds. Personally, I think Tyan screwed us over on this one.

-------------------------
Diagram of Hardware Profile' ">http://members.dsl-only.net/~pointreyes/ga/hsystem.jpg

BSD Daemon Copyright 1988 by Marshall Kirk McKusick. All Rights Reserved.
 05/23/2004 09:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
redclawkefar
Senior Member

Posts: 1082
Joined: 02/15/2004

so to update...
TYAN S.M. shows the S2880 as well. same reporting as yours.

the ide problem i had is resolved i think. had to switch from designating master/slave to cable select and its working now.

and i do agree that the memory tests seem slower... even sisoftware sandra seems slowed on some tests/benchmarks

-------------------------
SYSTEM-1: 2x Viewsonic VX900-2 19"| Tyan S2885ANRF (Rev.A, bios v2.07) | 1x ATI Radeon X800 Pro 256MB | 2x AMD Opteron 248-HE Single-Core CPU | 8x 512mb PC3200 Corsair XMS Series ECC Reg. (CMX512RE-3200LL) | 2x Seagate LVD 36.7Gb U320 SCSI 10,000rpm RAID0 (ST336607LW) | 1x Seagate LVD 36.7Gb U320 SCSI 1
 05/24/2004 09:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
snorre
Member

Posts: 172
Joined: 10/10/2003

I like the new BIOS and haven't noticed much performance difference, as I didn't buy my system only to run synthetic benchmarks

I don't know if you noticed, but Tyan included a GART debug option with this BIOS that will probably be used for fixing driver issues related to the AGP bus. I suspect ATI requested this feature

I'm not sure if it's related specifically to this BIOS, but I just noticed that I don't get any reading from the FAN5 sensor (it only display 0 RPM). Have you had any problems with the fan speed reading from FAN5 (with any of the BIOS revisions) ?

-------------------------
My [i' ">http://forums.amd.com/index.php?showtopic=2208 8^)
 05/25/2004 06:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
redclawkefar
Senior Member

Posts: 1082
Joined: 02/15/2004

QUOTE (snorre @ May 24 2004, 08:36 PM) I'm not sure if it's related specifically to this BIOS, but I just noticed that I don't get any reading from the FAN5 sensor (it only display 0 RPM).  Have you had any problems with the fan speed reading from FAN5 (with any of the BIOS revisions) ?
i only have my cpu fan connected to a board header and it shows 0rpm no matter where its plugged in. if you try tyan system monitor [TSM] you'll see that the board is recognized as an s2880 which is wrong, and that all readings from the board are wrong.

edit:
also, i'm using benchmarks to check the ram/cpu speed since if either get me slowed down, my simulation compilation time increases exponentially

-------------------------
SYSTEM-1: 2x Viewsonic VX900-2 19"| Tyan S2885ANRF (Rev.A, bios v2.07) | 1x ATI Radeon X800 Pro 256MB | 2x AMD Opteron 248-HE Single-Core CPU | 8x 512mb PC3200 Corsair XMS Series ECC Reg. (CMX512RE-3200LL) | 2x Seagate LVD 36.7Gb U320 SCSI 10,000rpm RAID0 (ST336607LW) | 1x Seagate LVD 36.7Gb U320 SCSI 1
 05/25/2004 06:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
snorre
Member

Posts: 172
Joined: 10/10/2003

QUOTE (redclawkefar @ May 25 2004, 02:53 AM) i only have my cpu fan connected to a board header and it shows 0rpm no matter where its plugged in.  if you try tyan system monitor [TSM] you'll see that the board is recognized as an s2880 which is wrong, and that all readings from the board are wrong.

edit:
also, i'm using benchmarks to check the ram/cpu speed since if either get me slowed down, my simulation compilation time increases exponentially
Ok. I'm currently using Windows XP 64-bit build 1184 and TSM dosen't work there, so I can't check this unfortunately. Anyway, I haven't noticed any drop in performance at all with this BIOS. Perhaps this performance drop only apply to single CPU systems?

Anyone else got a reading from the FAN5 sensor in the BIOS?

-------------------------
My [i' ">http://forums.amd.com/index.php?showtopic=2208 8^)
 05/25/2004 07:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
pointreyes
Senior Member

Posts: 846
Joined: 10/07/2003

QUOTE (snorre @ May 25 2004, 02:59 PM)Perhaps this performance drop only apply to single CPU systems?
I think 15 seconds increase with SuperPi running on one or two instances on my dual Opteron is quite bad.

-------------------------
Diagram of Hardware Profile' ">http://members.dsl-only.net/~pointreyes/ga/hsystem.jpg

BSD Daemon Copyright 1988 by Marshall Kirk McKusick. All Rights Reserved.
 05/27/2004 05:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
redclawkefar
Senior Member

Posts: 1082
Joined: 02/15/2004

WOOHOO...a nice helpful reply from TYAN tech support... (CAUTION LONG POST)

first, what i sent them:

QUOTE Bugs with new bios 2.02....?

1- TYAN System Monitor identifies board as a s2880 not s2885.  therefore causes lack of reporting of fan speed, cpu temps, and incorrect voltages on various devices/chips

2- primary ide channel is screwy if drives are set master/slave and not set to cable select.

3- memory access/usage slowdown as per posts on this AMD thread
http://forums.amd.com/index.php?showtopic=15176' ">http://forums.amd.com/index.php?showtopic=15176

4- beep codes on boot-up before bios post....
one low-pitch short then one high-pitch short;
two low-pitch short then one high-pitch short;
one low-pitch short then one high-pitch short then one low-pitch short
(these never occurred with bios 1.02)

any ideas on resolutions or anything to clarify what's happening?

NOW what they had to say....

QUOTE You need to make sure that you enabled PAE so that your system will work together.  With the improved MTRR mapping you have to enable PAE so that your system could see up to a 3x improvement.

The link below is the information from the PAE knowledge base about this type of issue: http://www.microsoft.com/whdc/...latf...PAE/pae_os.mspx' ">http://www.microsoft.com/whdc/...server/PAE/pae_os.mspx

In enabling this ability you would need to add something like this in your win.ini file.  This is what we did, but what you do in your win.ini file might not have to be the same thing.  We send this as an example of what we know will work:

multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\windows="microsoft windows xp professional-PAE" /PAE multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\windows="microsoft windows xp professional" /fastdetect

After making this change our SiSoft Sandra went from about 4,000MB/s to 10,702MB/s

The issue with the motherboard being seen incorrectly is due to a DMI string mistake and that is being fixed with the next release of the bios very shortly.

We are not seeing any type of IDE problems with the use of v2.02.  All the reports we have received from the field address these two issues we have answered above.  We have tested multiple S2885 boards with v2.02 and do not see any IDE issues in regard to jumpering.  We would never suggest you use cable select for IDE detection.  We only suggest you use Master and Slave settings that you would apply directly.

The beeps that you would be hearing woud be caused by the USB devices you have on your motherboard.  The beeps are the bios enumerating those devices during the boot process.

hope this helps all...

-------------------------
SYSTEM-1: 2x Viewsonic VX900-2 19"| Tyan S2885ANRF (Rev.A, bios v2.07) | 1x ATI Radeon X800 Pro 256MB | 2x AMD Opteron 248-HE Single-Core CPU | 8x 512mb PC3200 Corsair XMS Series ECC Reg. (CMX512RE-3200LL) | 2x Seagate LVD 36.7Gb U320 SCSI 10,000rpm RAID0 (ST336607LW) | 1x Seagate LVD 36.7Gb U320 SCSI 1
 05/27/2004 06:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
pointreyes
Senior Member

Posts: 846
Joined: 10/07/2003

Sweeeet! Must try when I get home. Between watercooling a Prescott and this PAE feature my week is starting to look better. However, I'm going to wait for the new bios release before flashing it. So I hope the PAE setting will work with 1.02.

Thanks for the info.

-------------------------
Diagram of Hardware Profile' ">http://members.dsl-only.net/~pointreyes/ga/hsystem.jpg

BSD Daemon Copyright 1988 by Marshall Kirk McKusick. All Rights Reserved.
 05/27/2004 07:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
redclawkefar
Senior Member

Posts: 1082
Joined: 02/15/2004

what was your time with SuperPi? mine right now with 2.02 bios is 45s (including PAE thingy)

edit:
after tweaking bios a bit now 41s

-------------------------
SYSTEM-1: 2x Viewsonic VX900-2 19"| Tyan S2885ANRF (Rev.A, bios v2.07) | 1x ATI Radeon X800 Pro 256MB | 2x AMD Opteron 248-HE Single-Core CPU | 8x 512mb PC3200 Corsair XMS Series ECC Reg. (CMX512RE-3200LL) | 2x Seagate LVD 36.7Gb U320 SCSI 10,000rpm RAID0 (ST336607LW) | 1x Seagate LVD 36.7Gb U320 SCSI 1
 05/27/2004 09:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
pointreyes
Senior Member

Posts: 846
Joined: 10/07/2003

What did you tweak in the bios?
With 1.02 bios
No PAE: 51s
With PAE: 70s

With 2.02 bios
No PAE: 67s
With PAE: 61s

Sandra still lower as well. I think 51s was good considering that I'm using 240 procs compared to your 248 proc. 51s beats my 2.66Ghz Xeon, now my system is slower than the Xeon.

-------------------------
Diagram of Hardware Profile' ">http://members.dsl-only.net/~pointreyes/ga/hsystem.jpg

BSD Daemon Copyright 1988 by Marshall Kirk McKusick. All Rights Reserved.
 05/27/2004 10:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
redclawkefar
Senior Member

Posts: 1082
Joined: 02/15/2004

i'm runnin on the 2.02 bios...w/a 248...[stop drinkin, your vision's fuzzy]

so, from bios....
Advance settings:
-cpu config
---gart-enabled
---mtrr map-discrete

-HT-Config
---cpu1/pci-800mhz
---cpu1/pci-16bit

---cpu/agp-800mhz
---cpu/agp-16bit

CHIPSET:
NORTH-mem-cfg
--auto
--auto
--8beats
--auto
--limit--200mhz

ECC-[MASTERECC ENABLE]- DISABLED

SOUTH-
Enabled
auto
auto
auto

AGP-CONFIG
4x/8x
64mb
enabled
auto
auto
auto
auto

CLOCK-GEN SPECTRUM - ENABLE

edit1:
OK, sorry its choppy but i need to unplug, also, these are current stats:
W/O PAE: 40s-SuPI; 85%eff/5481MB/s-SANDRA
WITH PAE: 40s-SuPI; 85%eff/5456MB/s-SANDRA

not what they had at 10k

PAE-helps best w/ >4Gb ram so i dont get much gain

edit2:
i'll mess with ECC settings tomorrow

-------------------------
SYSTEM-1: 2x Viewsonic VX900-2 19"| Tyan S2885ANRF (Rev.A, bios v2.07) | 1x ATI Radeon X800 Pro 256MB | 2x AMD Opteron 248-HE Single-Core CPU | 8x 512mb PC3200 Corsair XMS Series ECC Reg. (CMX512RE-3200LL) | 2x Seagate LVD 36.7Gb U320 SCSI 10,000rpm RAID0 (ST336607LW) | 1x Seagate LVD 36.7Gb U320 SCSI 1
 05/27/2004 11:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
pointreyes
Senior Member

Posts: 846
Joined: 10/07/2003

QUOTE (redclawkefar @ May 27 2004, 06:44 PM) i'm runnin on the 2.02 bios...w/a 248...[stop drinkin, your vision's fuzzy]
Figures, my Linux box has crisper graphics than my Windows box.

Thanks for the tweaks info.

-------------------------
Diagram of Hardware Profile' ">http://members.dsl-only.net/~pointreyes/ga/hsystem.jpg

BSD Daemon Copyright 1988 by Marshall Kirk McKusick. All Rights Reserved.
 05/28/2004 07:34 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
redclawkefar
Senior Member

Posts: 1082
Joined: 02/15/2004

QUOTE (pointreyes @ May 27 2004, 10:09 PM) Figures, my Linux box has crisper graphics than my Windows box. 



edit:
check your private msgs... more news...

-------------------------
SYSTEM-1: 2x Viewsonic VX900-2 19"| Tyan S2885ANRF (Rev.A, bios v2.07) | 1x ATI Radeon X800 Pro 256MB | 2x AMD Opteron 248-HE Single-Core CPU | 8x 512mb PC3200 Corsair XMS Series ECC Reg. (CMX512RE-3200LL) | 2x Seagate LVD 36.7Gb U320 SCSI 10,000rpm RAID0 (ST336607LW) | 1x Seagate LVD 36.7Gb U320 SCSI 1
 05/29/2004 03:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kennb
Member

Posts: 34
Joined: 05/29/2004

2.02 loaded with PAE enabled....

So it flashed okay.... and I used the PAE function to increase my memory bandwidth by almost 3x.... that is according to Sandra anyway.... how that translates into real world benefit I hope to find out soon.

And no.... the bios did not seem to fix the problem with the fire gl card... still crashes when using max or any D3d/OpenGL apps with the AGP drivers installed... still waiting for my Quadro FX 3000 to show up... then goodbye ATI...

---------------------------------------------------------
SiSoftware Sandra

Int Buffered iSSE2 (Integer STREAM) Results Breakdown
Assignment : 9945MB/s
Scaling : 9954MB/s
Addition : 9640MB/s
Triad : 9658MB/s
Data Item Size : 16-bytes
Buffering Used : Yes
Offset Displacement Used : Yes
Bandwidth Efficiency : 77% (estimated)

Float Buffered iSSE2 (Float STREAM) Results Breakdown
Assignment : 9896MB/s
Scaling : 9943MB/s
Addition : 9555MB/s
Triad : 9508MB/s
Data Item Size : 16-bytes
Buffering Used : Yes
Offset Displacement Used : Yes
Bandwidth Efficiency : 76% (estimated)

Test Status
Memory Used by Test : 768MB
NUMA Support : Yes
Number of NUMA Nodes : 2
SMP Test : Yes
Total Test Threads : 2
SMT Test : No
Dynamic MP/MT Load Balance : No
Processor Affinity : No

Chipset 1
Model : Advanced Micro Devices (AMD) Athlon 64 / Opteron HyperTransport Technology Configuration
Front Side Bus Speed : 2x 995MHz (1990MHz data rate)
In/Out Width : 16-bit / 16-bit
Maximum Bus Bandwidth : 7960MB/s (estimated)

Logical/Chipset 1 Memory Banks
Bank 0 : 512MB DDR-SDRAM Registered 2.0-3-2-2CL 2CMD
Bank 1 : 512MB DDR-SDRAM Registered 2.0-3-2-2CL 2CMD
Bank 2 : 512MB DDR-SDRAM Registered 2.0-3-2-2CL 2CMD
Bank 3 : 512MB DDR-SDRAM Registered 2.0-3-2-2CL 2CMD
Channels : 1
Speed : 2x 199MHz (398MHz data rate)
Width : 128-bit
Maximum Memory Bus Bandwidth : 6368MB/s (estimated)

Chipset 2
Model : Advanced Micro Devices (AMD) Athlon 64 / Opteron HyperTransport Technology Configuration
Front Side Bus Speed : 2x 995MHz (1990MHz data rate)
In/Out Width : 16-bit / 16-bit
Maximum Bus Bandwidth : 7960MB/s (estimated)

Logical/Chipset 2 Memory Banks
Bank 0 : 512MB DDR-SDRAM Registered 2.0-3-2-2CL 2CMD
Bank 1 : 512MB DDR-SDRAM Registered 2.0-3-2-2CL 2CMD
Bank 2 : 512MB DDR-SDRAM Registered 2.0-3-2-2CL 2CMD
Bank 3 : 512MB DDR-SDRAM Registered 2.0-3-2-2CL 2CMD
Channels : 1
Speed : 2x 199MHz (398MHz data rate)
Width : 128-bit
Maximum Memory Bus Bandwidth : 6368MB/s (estimated)

--------------------------------



-------------------------
---------------------------

better living through art
better art through living

---------------------------

ThunderMP S2885 x2 Operton250
ThunderMP S2885 x2 Operton246
ASUS A7N8X x1 XP3200+ (11.5*200)
ASUS A7N8X x1 XP1700+ (10*200)
 05/29/2004 06:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kennb
Member

Posts: 34
Joined: 05/29/2004

okay... since updating to the 2.02 bios... my USB ports on the mb are no longer working.... my wacom tablet and scanner are not recognized.

strange... any thoughts on this..? USB legacy support is enabled and I have a 3.5" bay USB card reader installed. Everything was working fine before this bios upgrade...

hmmmmmmm....

k

-------------------------
---------------------------

better living through art
better art through living

---------------------------

ThunderMP S2885 x2 Operton250
ThunderMP S2885 x2 Operton246
ASUS A7N8X x1 XP3200+ (11.5*200)
ASUS A7N8X x1 XP1700+ (10*200)
 05/29/2004 11:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
redclawkefar
Senior Member

Posts: 1082
Joined: 02/15/2004

kennb... have you asked tyan tech support yet? so your running 4GB ram with a dual 246... what type of ram you got? my kingston isnt up to par... CAS 3-3-3

-------------------------
SYSTEM-1: 2x Viewsonic VX900-2 19"| Tyan S2885ANRF (Rev.A, bios v2.07) | 1x ATI Radeon X800 Pro 256MB | 2x AMD Opteron 248-HE Single-Core CPU | 8x 512mb PC3200 Corsair XMS Series ECC Reg. (CMX512RE-3200LL) | 2x Seagate LVD 36.7Gb U320 SCSI 10,000rpm RAID0 (ST336607LW) | 1x Seagate LVD 36.7Gb U320 SCSI 1
 05/30/2004 02:34 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kennb
Member

Posts: 34
Joined: 05/29/2004

Not yet... only flashed yesterday night.... so I have been playing around with the new settings.

No idea why I am having the USB problem..... but I will run it by Tyan.

The ram I am using is Corsair PC3200 DDR400 TwinX1024RE-3200LLPT ECC Registered

Also, I am unable to do boot time defragging now with Diskkeeper.... I think it might be related to the PAE function enabled....

uncertain... I need to do a little bit more research.

kenn


-------------------------
---------------------------

better living through art
better art through living

---------------------------

ThunderMP S2885 x2 Operton250
ThunderMP S2885 x2 Operton246
ASUS A7N8X x1 XP3200+ (11.5*200)
ASUS A7N8X x1 XP1700+ (10*200)
 05/30/2004 04:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kennb
Member

Posts: 34
Joined: 05/29/2004

I have just read that certain drivers and software has not been tested and 'most likey' will not function correctly under the PAE version of XP. This includes my scanner, and my Wacom tablet driver....

It is worth noting that SP2 Release of XP is rumored to have the PAE flag enabled by default.

If this is the case, I hope 3rd Party People will make the effort to update or append thier drivers.

-------------------------
---------------------------

better living through art
better art through living

---------------------------

ThunderMP S2885 x2 Operton250
ThunderMP S2885 x2 Operton246
ASUS A7N8X x1 XP3200+ (11.5*200)
ASUS A7N8X x1 XP1700+ (10*200)
 05/30/2004 10:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
redclawkefar
Senior Member

Posts: 1082
Joined: 02/15/2004

i have a beta vesion of the next bios if you want it... just send me an email address via PM... and i'll email you a zipped beta rom. the next rev should be out officially by late next week

-------------------------
SYSTEM-1: 2x Viewsonic VX900-2 19"| Tyan S2885ANRF (Rev.A, bios v2.07) | 1x ATI Radeon X800 Pro 256MB | 2x AMD Opteron 248-HE Single-Core CPU | 8x 512mb PC3200 Corsair XMS Series ECC Reg. (CMX512RE-3200LL) | 2x Seagate LVD 36.7Gb U320 SCSI 10,000rpm RAID0 (ST336607LW) | 1x Seagate LVD 36.7Gb U320 SCSI 1
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information