AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Finally upgrading this weekend
Topic Summary:
Created On: 03/09/2007 01:40 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/09/2007 01:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mckennma
Senior Member

Posts: 2989
Joined: 06/01/2005

I went beyond a 20A circuit with my current workstation. The two chassis setup works fine until I turn a printer on and then get low voltage on the line conditioners. I purchased the Tyan Thunder K8WE around Nov-Dec 06. I finally got an electrician to come out Wednesday.

Had: 20A single pole breaker and circuit/switch for my workstation

New: 20A double pole 20A@240V breaker split to 2 x 20A@120V on a single throw / double pole switch. Each side of the switch has 20A@120V.

Side 1:
Main chassis:
PC Power and Cooling Silencer 750W power supply + Tripp Lite 2400W line conditioner (12A draw)
Tyan Thunder K8WE
Dual AMD 280 dual core 2.4 Opterons
8GB RAM
SCSI RAID controller with 10SCSI hard drives
SCSI controller for three tape drives, SCSI-UW CD-ROM
USB2/FW800 controller
ATI x1950 Pro x16 video card

Side 2:
Second chassis:
PC Power and Cooling Turbo-Cool 510W power supply + Tripp Lite 1800W line conditoner (10A draw)
10 SCSI drives
3 tape drives
SCSI-UW CD-ROM

600W line conditioner: Monitor, LaCie FW800 hard drives, DVD burner, 2 Printers, USB hubs and devices

Voltages back to normal.
I can run everything with no voltage drops

Tomorrow, I migrate the hardware to new chassis. Pictures to follow.

-------------------------
Tyan Thunder K8WE
Dual AMD 280 Opterons
8GB NUMA enabled DDR333 2.5-3-3-7 RAM
PCI-X SCSI RAID
http://69.14.190.80
 03/09/2007 06:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
derGhostrider
Case Modder

Posts: 1465
Joined: 04/04/2004

Are line conditioners designed for laserprinters? I just know that laser printers should not be attached to an UPS but don't know anything about line conditioners...

-------------------------
Regards,
  Ghostrider

·CPUs - 2*Opteron 246
·Mainboard - Tyan Thunder K8W S2885ANRF
·RAM - 4*Corsair TwinX1024RE-3200LL (4GB, 8*512MB, DDR400, 2-3-2)
·Graphics - HIS IceQ-II X800Pro
·HDD - Western Digital Raptor WD740GD, 74GB, 10k
·RAID - 3Ware 7850, 64bit PCI, 8chn hardware RAID
·RAID-HDDs - 5*WD800JB
·Optical - 1*SlimSize CD-ROM; 1*NEC7441 DVD-RW
·Sound - Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Elite Pro

 03/09/2007 07:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mckennma
Senior Member

Posts: 2989
Joined: 06/01/2005

quote:

Originally posted by: derGhostrider
Are line conditioners designed for laserprinters? I just know that laser printers should not be attached to an UPS but don't know anything about line conditioners...



http://www.tripplite.com/produ...ditioners/index230.cfm
Yes, they are. Here are the 240V version.

-------------------------
Tyan Thunder K8WE
Dual AMD 280 Opterons
8GB NUMA enabled DDR333 2.5-3-3-7 RAM
PCI-X SCSI RAID
http://69.14.190.80
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information