AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: DK8X help needed
Topic Summary:
Created On: 09/24/2004 10:25 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/24/2004 10:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
1/2fast
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 09/24/2004

I've built a system around the DK8X and have had no luck installing XP with the correct ACPI Uniprocessor Hal
DK8X
03.08.2004 Bios
single 246 (cpu0)
Zalman cnps7000-cu HS/fan
2 512 sticks crucial PC3200
WD Sata 250
Gainward SilentFX/980
TDK indi 12x
Antec 550 eps
CM stacker case

After many xp install hangs, I was able to get xp to install, load all drivers and install SP2. Every works great but I noticed that XP installed the ACPI_PC Hal instead of the Acpi_Uniprocessor_PC hal.

MS 315341 claims the only way to fix this, is through an upgrade re-installation.
After trying, again many times, after I F5 and select the desired hal it hangs at the "please wait..."

Although I'm only running one cpu right now, I don't want to get this system fully loaded and then find out I can't run the second cpu without rebuilding it!

Any help would be greatly appreciated...

Thanks, 1/2

 09/24/2004 01:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
derGhostrider
Case Modder

Posts: 1465
Joined: 04/04/2004

QUOTE (1/2fast @ Sep 24 2004, 04:25 PM) I've built a system around the DK8X and have had no luck installing XP with the correct ACPI Uniprocessor Hal
DK8X
03.08.2004 Bios
single 246 (cpu0)
Zalman cnps7000-cu HS/fan
2 512 sticks crucial PC3200
WD Sata 250
Gainward SilentFX/980
TDK indi 12x
Antec 550 eps
CM stacker case

After many xp install hangs, I was able to get xp to install, load all drivers and install SP2. Every works great but I noticed that XP installed the ACPI_PC Hal instead of the Acpi_Uniprocessor_PC hal.

MS 315341 claims the only way to fix this, is through an upgrade re-installation.
After trying, again many times, after I F5 and select the desired hal it hangs at the "please wait..."

Although I'm only running one cpu right now, I don't want to get this system fully loaded and then find out I can't run the second cpu without rebuilding it!

Any help would be greatly appreciated...

Thanks, 1/2
Where have you heard / read that there should be an "ACPI_Uniprocessor_PC HAL"?
Never heard of this... And what should be the difference to an "ACPI_PC HAL"?
The difference between multiprocessor and single processor is clear to me - but this does not make any sense to me. Sorry, but I need some information!

And finally: What ist the PROBLEM with the "ACPI_PC HAL" that you want to change it?

-------------------------
Regards,
  Ghostrider

·CPUs - 2*Opteron 246
·Mainboard - Tyan Thunder K8W S2885ANRF
·RAM - 4*Corsair TwinX1024RE-3200LL (4GB, 8*512MB, DDR400, 2-3-2)
·Graphics - HIS IceQ-II X800Pro
·HDD - Western Digital Raptor WD740GD, 74GB, 10k
·RAID - 3Ware 7850, 64bit PCI, 8chn hardware RAID
·RAID-HDDs - 5*WD800JB
·Optical - 1*SlimSize CD-ROM; 1*NEC7441 DVD-RW
·Sound - Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Elite Pro

 09/24/2004 03:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
1/2fast
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 09/24/2004

While trying to get through setup hangs, I learned a fair amount about Hals...

Basically, Hardware Abstract Layers are used by the OS to determine what functionallity any given motherboard can support. It consists of a dll and kernal pieces. If you set/allow a ACPI motherboard to use a "standard_pc" hal, you loose all ACPI functionallity.


My concern is that I have a dual cpu mother and XP assighned a Hal that doesn't match it. Although it seems to work fine right now with one cpu, what happens when I have all me apps installed and then add the 2nd cpu?? Do I get hosed and have to re-install XP and all my apps?? Not if i can help it!

That's why I looking for answers that MS dosen't seem have.

Fyi...here's a list of MS supported hals:
You receive the following list of computer types. A brief description of each HAL is included here:
ACPI Multiprocessor PC
Applies to a multiple-processor ACPI computer.
ACPI Uniprocessor PC
Applies to an ACPI multiple-processor board but with a single processor installed.
Advanced Configuration and Power Interface (ACPI) PC
Applies to a single processor motherboard with single processor.
Compaq SystemPro Multiprocessor or 100% Compatible
Applies to a Compaq SystemPro computer.
MPS Uniprocessor PC
Applies to non-ACPI computers dual processor motherboard with a single processor installed.
MPS Multiprocessor PC
Applies to non-ACPI computers with a dual processor running.
Standard PC
Applies to any Standard PC, non-ACPI, or non-MPS. The CPU may be a 386, a 486, a Pentium, a Pentium II, or a Pentium III.
Standard PC with C-Step i486
Other


Thanks, 1/2
 09/24/2004 06:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
derGhostrider
Case Modder

Posts: 1465
Joined: 04/04/2004

Ah... Thanks. Now I remember that I have seen some of them already. I'll check for some screenshots when my dual Opteron had just one CPU installed. Maybe I can tell you whan was displayed BEFOR I installed the second CPU - I had no Problems adding the second. The Display automatically changed to ACPI Multipocessor PC

I found the screenshots!
http://www.derghostrider.de/De...ger_...stemDevices.jpg' ">http://www.derghostrider.de/De...ager_SystemDevices.jpg
http://www.derghostrider.de/De...ger_...therDevices.jpg' ">http://www.derghostrider.de/De...nager_OtherDevices.jpg
"Microsoft ACPI-konformes System". (I think that this is identical to ACPI-PC, just the german term for it.)

The yellow "!" you can see on the picture was caused by a defective PSU... Yes, that sounds strange but if you read through the threads you will get to know the whole story about it. *g*

-------------------------
Regards,
  Ghostrider

·CPUs - 2*Opteron 246
·Mainboard - Tyan Thunder K8W S2885ANRF
·RAM - 4*Corsair TwinX1024RE-3200LL (4GB, 8*512MB, DDR400, 2-3-2)
·Graphics - HIS IceQ-II X800Pro
·HDD - Western Digital Raptor WD740GD, 74GB, 10k
·RAID - 3Ware 7850, 64bit PCI, 8chn hardware RAID
·RAID-HDDs - 5*WD800JB
·Optical - 1*SlimSize CD-ROM; 1*NEC7441 DVD-RW
·Sound - Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Elite Pro

 09/24/2004 06:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
1/2fast
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 09/24/2004

Maybe this is just a firedrill...

If there're any out there running opteron dualies, could you look in your device manager / computer and post what it lists for a cpu types??

I don't think it matters which mother board you have, but rather what Xp interpurted your system as....

Maybe I don't need to worry about this.

Thanks, 1/2
 09/26/2004 07:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
1/2fast
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 09/24/2004

Problems fixed...
 09/26/2004 06:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
derGhostrider
Case Modder

Posts: 1465
Joined: 04/04/2004

QUOTE (1/2fast @ Sep 26 2004, 01:13 PM) Problems fixed...
Great!
How did you solve it?

-------------------------
Regards,
  Ghostrider

·CPUs - 2*Opteron 246
·Mainboard - Tyan Thunder K8W S2885ANRF
·RAM - 4*Corsair TwinX1024RE-3200LL (4GB, 8*512MB, DDR400, 2-3-2)
·Graphics - HIS IceQ-II X800Pro
·HDD - Western Digital Raptor WD740GD, 74GB, 10k
·RAID - 3Ware 7850, 64bit PCI, 8chn hardware RAID
·RAID-HDDs - 5*WD800JB
·Optical - 1*SlimSize CD-ROM; 1*NEC7441 DVD-RW
·Sound - Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Elite Pro

 09/27/2004 07:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
1/2fast
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 09/24/2004

Turns out, not all of the Iwill sites have the same selections of Bios updates.

I found the latest available, flashed and problems went away.

Thanks
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information