AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Cool'n'Quiet for Opterons?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 08/31/2004 05:34 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/31/2004 05:34 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
deltaray
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 08/31/2004

Hi all,

I am new here I searched the forum but did not find an answer so thats why I ask this. If it has been solved before pls forgive me
Today I built my new workstation with a TYAN Tiger S2875 mobo and 2 x Opteron 244 CPU's. Everything runs like a charm - till yet

I my bios I saw a setting for "Cool'n'Quiet". After some research I found out that you can dynamical adjust the cpu speed which is a great thing.
So my question is, is there a way to configure these feature like for normal Athlon 64 Systems?
 09/01/2004 02:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
derGhostrider
Case Modder

Posts: 1465
Joined: 04/04/2004

No. there is no cool'n'quiet for Opteron CPUs. The reason given by AMD is the registered memory that is said to be unable to cope with frequency changes.

With the Tyan Thunder K8W S2885 (I don't know if it is true for the S2875 as well) you can slow down the system fans down to 30%, 40% or 50% of their full speed. They will turn faster if the temperature of the CPU(s) raise. This is some kind of "cool'n'quiet lite"

-------------------------
Regards,
  Ghostrider

·CPUs - 2*Opteron 246
·Mainboard - Tyan Thunder K8W S2885ANRF
·RAM - 4*Corsair TwinX1024RE-3200LL (4GB, 8*512MB, DDR400, 2-3-2)
·Graphics - HIS IceQ-II X800Pro
·HDD - Western Digital Raptor WD740GD, 74GB, 10k
·RAID - 3Ware 7850, 64bit PCI, 8chn hardware RAID
·RAID-HDDs - 5*WD800JB
·Optical - 1*SlimSize CD-ROM; 1*NEC7441 DVD-RW
·Sound - Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Elite Pro

 09/02/2004 12:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
deltaray
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 08/31/2004

ok thanks for the answer
I can live with Full Speed, the machine is very quiet already
Just was woudnering about that option and If / how I could use it
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information