AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Question About Music Mixing
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/31/2004 05:01 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/31/2004 05:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
110
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 10/31/2004

Greetings !


I asked these question(s) from many people and AMD's technical support section,
but i couldnt take a real answer, i hope this place be final

i'm looking for setup a Pro computer for mix and compose music projects ,
i had a research from (AMD,Apple and intel).

intel was really poor i used P4 2.4 whit 1GB ram in nuendo
it just could mix 15 tracks successfully whit correct sounds.

Apple is great but it's expensive and hard to find all of the VsTi and other
programs that are compatible whit it, but Amd Opteron appears cool and better than Dual Xeon.

1)what's your recommend cpu ( or dual cpu) and mainborad for use in projects
that they are about 50 channels (audio tracks+vst plug ins,...) or more and
need +3 FX-insert plug_ins per channel?

2)Can windows Xp 64bit Edition support Dual Opteron?


sorry for my bad english
thanks
 10/31/2004 07:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
OrangesAway
Senior Member

Posts: 202
Joined: 03/09/2004


Best thing would be to find a reseller who specializes in the industry. A couple are listed on this web page: AMD Opteron™ Processor Powers Three New Digital Audio Workstations' ">http://www.amd.com/us-en/Proce...288_7146_10985,00.html
 11/01/2004 06:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
derGhostrider
Case Modder

Posts: 1465
Joined: 04/04/2004

QUOTE (110 @ Oct 31 2004, 11:01 AM) Greetings !
2)Can windows Xp 64bit Edition support Dual Opteron?

sorry for my bad english
thanks
Yes, Windows XP 64bit Edition supports dual Opterons. (Windows XP Professional does it as well).

A dual CPU system won't boost the performance for your task as long as the software you will use does not support dual or multi CPU systems.
So if the software is capable of using multiple CPUs: Go for a dual CPU setup. If not you may also look for a cheaper system. Maybe an AthlonFX-55 or something like this.

-------------------------
Regards,
  Ghostrider

·CPUs - 2*Opteron 246
·Mainboard - Tyan Thunder K8W S2885ANRF
·RAM - 4*Corsair TwinX1024RE-3200LL (4GB, 8*512MB, DDR400, 2-3-2)
·Graphics - HIS IceQ-II X800Pro
·HDD - Western Digital Raptor WD740GD, 74GB, 10k
·RAID - 3Ware 7850, 64bit PCI, 8chn hardware RAID
·RAID-HDDs - 5*WD800JB
·Optical - 1*SlimSize CD-ROM; 1*NEC7441 DVD-RW
·Sound - Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Elite Pro

 11/02/2004 04:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Raymond
Junior Member

Posts: 13
Joined: 03/20/2004

Have a look at the Nuendo forum. You will find your answer there wether you decide Intel or AMD opteron. Both processors build great DAW's
http://forum.nuendo.com' ">http://forum.nuendo.com


-------------------------
Raymond | Nuendo 3.1.1.944 on XP pro SP2 | Studio Wijnbergen' ">http://www.hanswijnbergen.nl | system specs' ">http://www.hanswijnbergen.nl/nuendo_gear.htm
 11/06/2004 01:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
110
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 10/31/2004

your information was really cool and great,

this place is No1 For technical questions


thanks to all of the AMD opteron users
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information