AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: RMA of Athlon MP 2600
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/05/2005 12:05 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/05/2005 12:05 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tabris
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 11/05/2005

I have got a server running dual Athlon MP 2400+. Recently, one of the CPUs failed and we sent it to your distributor (VST in Hong Kong) for replacement / RMA. However, your distributor stated that stock is no longer available and offered us to replace it with Sempron products. I would like to seek for your assistance that within the warranty period, I would not be expected to switch platform, or give up the utilization of my dual Athlon MP server. Is there anything you would do for us in this case? Thanks.
 11/05/2005 07:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bp1019
Senior Member

Posts: 2434
Joined: 08/24/2005

If its under warranty from the distributor then tell them they better find a working one for you because the warranty is a contract. If they refuse then I don't know, litigate? I mean a warranty is supposed to guarantee the product against manufacturing defects so they have to replace it if it was a manufacturing defect and its under warranty. Tell them they shouldn't offer a warranty if they don't have replacements. Keep pressing them till they fold, don't let them walk on you. If they can't get one tell them to pay for you to update the server then, tell them they will have to pay for all the incompatible parts since they don't have a proper replacement. You are in the right here if its a problem thats covered by the warranty.

-------------------------

-Proud owner of a DFI because chicks dig "Big" OCs
Repsgaminglounge
 11/06/2005 06:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MD - Moderator
Deployer of Mjölnir - House Keeping

Posts: 11102
Joined: 11/05/2003

QUOTE(tabris @ Nov 4 2005, 08:05 PM)I have got a server running dual Athlon MP 2400+. Recently, one of the CPUs failed and we sent it to your distributor (VST in Hong Kong) for replacement / RMA. However, your distributor stated that stock is no longer available and offered us to replace it with Sempron products. I would like to seek for your assistance that within the warranty period, I would not be expected to switch platform, or give up the utilization of my dual Athlon MP server. Is there anything you would do for us in this case? Thanks.
[right][snapback]538782[/snapback][/right]



Well not really, the processor support forum does not deal with RMA, the corporate website does have links for Asia Pacific RMA.

http://www.amd.com/us-en/Proce...chni...0%5E767,00.html' ">http://www.amd.com/us-en/Proce...3559_710%5E767,00.html

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

Physics? Ha! This is clearly magic and devilry at work. Prepare firewood! We have witches to burn!


MODERATOR
 01/27/2008 11:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
vBMaster
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 01/27/2008

Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information