AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Slow processor
Topic Summary:
Created On: 09/29/2005 05:38 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/29/2005 05:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
FABOLOUS
Junior Member

Posts: 9
Joined: 09/29/2005

I just started working at this Architectural company 3 months ago and we have AMD workstations which are rather tardy and occassionally freezing or shutung down, or something. We use heavy graphic applications like Revit, 3DStudio Max, AutoCAD and Photoshop and the processors are not helping. I have been in touch with our IT guys but they do not seem to know what they are doing or they are just swindling us with cheap equipment. Can anyone advise me on what upgrades or changes I can do to increase productivity? Oh yeah, my general specs are

Basic drafting workstation
2.2 to 2.6ghz Athlon processor
1GB of ram
32mb open GL video card
40gb hard disk
Windows XP Pro & office 03

/sad.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='sad.gif' />
 09/29/2005 10:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
thespin
Senior Member

Posts: 554
Joined: 08/18/2005

QUOTE(FABOLOUS @ Sep 29 2005, 05:38 PM)I just started working at this Architectural company [right][snapback]512294[/snapback][/right]


PLEASE don't start the same topic in more than one forum. It's a no-no and there is a guy here that will slap you silly. He goes by angry sumthin' and he scares me ...

Edit: Wrong forum for the angry guy ... you see how scared I AM ??

-------------------------
Millions daily drive their cars made of 1000s of parts. We study events billions of miles away expecting laws HERE apply equally THERE. The planets, the moons etc move with such precision that we just hit a comet millions of miles away with a probe. ALL of man's technology depend on the precision and invariability of natural laws. How also explain their simplicity and their harmonious integration to form a multifaceted U
 06/20/2010 04:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
maryjones0320
Newbie

Posts: 1
Joined: 06/20/2010

FABOLOUS, my reply must be very late. But I hope this is still valuable. You might want to upgrade your RAM and check the power supply of the computer. The power supply might be broken that's why the PC restarts automatically. Are you still working in the same company you mentioned?

-------------------------
http://www.bigcommerce.com/
ecommerce software
 06/20/2010 05:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
QB the Slayer
Case Modder

Posts: 1304
Joined: 01/23/2010

Originally posted by: maryjones0320

FABOLOUS, my reply must be very late.


Are you kidding me? If the computers are even running almost 5 years later I would be surprised. Why do people dig up such old old threads?

QB

-------------------------

The MONSTER HTPC

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 965 C2 (140W).||.Cooler: Corsair H80i
MB: Gigabyte 990FXA-UD7.||.RAM: 8 GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2000MHz (7-10-8-27-1T)
Case: CoolerMaster HAF 932.||.PSU: Corsair HX750
GPU:HIS IceQ 5 Radeon HD 5770 Turbo 1GB.||.Audio: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro w/ Logitech Z-5300e (5.1, 280W-RMS)
Drive: 2xKingston SSD 40GB RAID0.||.Storage: 6TB (4x500GB Caviar Black RAID0, 2TB Hitachi & 2TB Caviar Green)
 06/20/2010 09:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sk8rbluscat
Fanboi

Posts: 69
Joined: 06/15/2010

Hey... I was running S423 P4 before my current system! With 512 MB SDRAM!

-------------------------
My system:
AMD Athlon II X4 640 @ 3.0GHz
G.SKILL Ripjaws DDR3 1333 16GB (4x4GB)
Gigabyte GA-880GMA-USB3
OCZ Vertex 2 60GB
Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 320 (X2)
Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 500GB
RAIDMAX Fusion case, 680W PSU
 09/10/2012 03:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sbglobal2014
Lurker

Posts: 2
Joined: 09/10/2012

To check for this close whatever you are doing and start task manager. To do this right click on the task bar at the bottom of your screen and then select task manager. From the window that appears click on the performance tab and look at the CPU usage. If it constantly rises above 50% even when you are not doing anything your computer is suffering from this problem.

Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information