AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: replacements for obsolete MP-2800 processor
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/20/2005 04:28 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/20/2005 04:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sambleadon
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 10/20/2005

Is there a listing showing a list of replacement processors for discontinued MP-2800 processors.
 10/20/2005 05:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Megadeth
Senior Member

Posts: 7822
Joined: 08/14/2004

All Socket A processors have ben discontinued. Your best bet is to go for a low-end Opteron, but you will need to build a new system for that.
 10/21/2005 04:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sham 69
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 10/21/2005

I am also looking for a replacment AMD MP 2800+ cpu 2 infact as my goods got damaged in shipping from London to Capetown and the bloody insurance wont pay out. I have been searching hi and low on the net. They do everything else but my processor's. I havent been able to get much info or help off the AMD website itself either.

If anyone has a link of a good place where i can buy the cpu's from be it second hand please email me as I am desparate to get my server back up and running.

Or if you know of any other processors that i can use on my motherboard:

I have a AMD KD7 Master Deluxe dual CPU motherboard with a 760 chipset onboard.

thanks in advance

Sham
 10/21/2005 09:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sambleadon
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 10/20/2005

QUOTE(Megadeth @ Oct 20 2005, 11:46 AM)All Socket A processors have ben discontinued.  Your best bet is to go for a low-end Opteron, but you will need to build a new system for that.
[right][snapback]527758[/snapback][/right]


Thank you for the info. Sam
 10/24/2005 01:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mckennma
Senior Member

Posts: 2989
Joined: 06/01/2005

If you get Opterons, make sure they are E4 Stepping. Some older Opterons of Bx and Cx will not run on newer boards.

-------------------------
Tyan Thunder K8WE
Dual AMD 280 Opterons
8GB NUMA enabled DDR333 2.5-3-3-7 RAM
PCI-X SCSI RAID
http://69.14.190.80
 10/26/2005 10:08 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sham 69
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 10/21/2005

Does this mean i have to replace my motherboard aswell ?. Is anyone form AMD reading this as i havent recieved any repy form AMD as to my query.

And if i do use a lower spec opteron hwo do i know if my board can take it as there is no mention o that processor on the book.

Please im well and truly screwed here and i desparate need of advice and guidance.
 10/26/2005 12:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mckennma
Senior Member

Posts: 2989
Joined: 06/01/2005

Opterons require
940 board. Tyan Thunder and Tiger K8W, K8WE
Registered ECC DDR 400 RAM is also requied
Better power supply
Decent full tower chassis for Thunder boards.

-------------------------
Tyan Thunder K8WE
Dual AMD 280 Opterons
8GB NUMA enabled DDR333 2.5-3-3-7 RAM
PCI-X SCSI RAID
http://69.14.190.80
 10/26/2005 01:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sham 69
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 10/21/2005

QUOTE(mckennma @ Oct 26 2005, 04:09 PM)Opterons require
940 board.  Tyan Thunder and Tiger K8W, K8WE
Registered ECC DDR 400 RAM is also requied
Better power supply
Decent full tower chassis for Thunder boards.
[right][snapback]531693[/snapback][/right]


so basically im screwed as my board only takes Socket 462, that great that is. Anyway thanks for all the help much appreciated.

Just have to decide what to do next
 10/26/2005 02:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mckennma
Senior Member

Posts: 2989
Joined: 06/01/2005

Sell you 462 board, CPUs, and RAM. I usually can find someone who can use my old stuff as an upgrade.

-------------------------
Tyan Thunder K8WE
Dual AMD 280 Opterons
8GB NUMA enabled DDR333 2.5-3-3-7 RAM
PCI-X SCSI RAID
http://69.14.190.80
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information