AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: PSU and chassi for k8we
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/13/2005 04:44 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/13/2005 04:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mallmannen
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 02/13/2005

Hi!

I have done a pre order of the k8we (without ultra320 controller). Iam having trouble of choosing a powersupply for it. Can someone help me with some list of compatible psu:s and have anyone found some nice "workstation" chassi for it?

Many thanks in advande!


/Jonas
 02/22/2005 12:50 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
davejp
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 02/22/2005

I am building a system on the same K8WE board. BE CAREFUL, choose a PSU that has four 12v rails. I first bought a PSU advertised as 700w, then realized it was only 460w and did not have enough amps per 12V rail to run the k8we with SLI vid cards and 4 sata's etc. So, I ended up with a 750w/950w peak SNE power supply.

Check out a review here http://www.xbitlabs.com/news/o...play...1126101213.html' ">http://www.xbitlabs.com/news/o...ay/20041126101213.html. I suggest you find a similar supply in the states. The trick is to look at how the 12v rails are distributed across the power cables and mobo. With this PSU, I can easily have each nVidia 6800 on a different 12v rail and have room for 4 or more SATA or scsi drives or whatever flicks my bic.

Beware of the new "SLI" PSU's popping up all over. The ones I saw cannot power dual Opterons, dual 100w graphics cards and lots of drives. Check the amps on each 12v rail of each PSU you look at and you will figure it out.
 02/24/2005 12:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sintri
Junior Member

Posts: 13
Joined: 12/29/2004

aren't kw8es opterons and not mps?
 02/26/2005 04:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Keizer
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 02/26/2005

I just noticed this was in the wrong thread. Those PSUs are cool though.

-------------------------
Noobgrinder.com' ">http://www.noobgrinder.com/ Gaming

My first GOOD computer was an AMD K6 200Mhz. Ever since then i'm all about the AMD.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information