AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: 760 MPX motherboard
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/03/2004 01:07 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/03/2004 01:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
LXDoom
Junior Member

Posts: 14
Joined: 10/12/2003

Hello,
I'm upgrading my P4 system and I had 5 options.
- Dual Opteron
- Dual Xeon
- Dual MP
- P4 EE
- Athlon 64 FX
The last 2 are not that expensive but I like multitasking so I keep it on a multi CPU system.
The Opteron is way to expensive, if I chose that I have to safe money on other components.
Xeon vs. Athlon MP. A XEON MP is much more powerfull but as expensive as an Opteron. And a normal Xeon isn't that more powerfull.
So I've chosen the Athlon MP (perhaps I'll buy some XP's and do some modding)

But wich mainboaard would you guy's suggest?
The only thing I need is good possibility's to do some occ'ing.
 01/03/2004 02:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
voodoo3300
Senior Member

Posts: 374
Joined: 11/16/2003

First. steer well clear of the P4EE, it is too overpriced for the performance you get compared to the comparatively tiny price of the Athlon 64. I would therefore go for either the Athlon 64FX, which or the Dual MP, but what do you really need two chips for??

If it is for a server or workstation producing CAD etc, then go for the Athlon MP, as i think it will serve you better. But if you are just want a plucky machine for games then just go for tha A64, you wont see the benefit of MP under games really, and you wont really see the affect unless you run a server OS like 2000 Server.

If you want to overclock, again go for the Athlon 64, i would never try this on a Dual Xeon as they are already being pushed alot.

But my main advice, steer clear of anything Intel especially the P4EE.

Jake

-------------------------
Main:
AMD Athlon 2600+ 333Mhz Thoroughbred | 512Mb in 2x 256Mb DaneElec DDR PC2700 | XFX NF2S-ALH with nForce 2 400Pro | Asus GeForce FX5200 128Mb Magic! | Creative 5.1! Live! | Maxtor DM+9 80Gb and Maxtor DM+8 20Gb | LiteON 832S DVD+-R/RW Dual Layer 8x | LiteOn 48x12x48x CD-RW | Full Black server case with 500W PSU | Relisys 17" Monitor | Wireless Optical Mouse | Logitech Surfer | XP Professional SP1

Server: Intel (Oh no!) 2x Pent
 01/04/2004 07:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
LXDoom
Junior Member

Posts: 14
Joined: 10/12/2003

QUOTE (voodoo3300 @ Jan 3 2004, 11:43 AM) If it is for a server or workstation producing CAD etc, then go for the Athlon MP, as i think it will serve you better.
I'm a CAD/AEC/GIS user. And some video-editing.

That's why I already left the single cpu's behind. Problem is, I'm a student. And I just can't afford a dual Opteron 246 (less isn't more powerfull as an MP 2800+) + a expensive mainboard (500+ euro)
 01/04/2004 07:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
voodoo3300
Senior Member

Posts: 374
Joined: 11/16/2003

I would still go for the Athlon MP then if you a into CAD.

Jake

-------------------------
Main:
AMD Athlon 2600+ 333Mhz Thoroughbred | 512Mb in 2x 256Mb DaneElec DDR PC2700 | XFX NF2S-ALH with nForce 2 400Pro | Asus GeForce FX5200 128Mb Magic! | Creative 5.1! Live! | Maxtor DM+9 80Gb and Maxtor DM+8 20Gb | LiteON 832S DVD+-R/RW Dual Layer 8x | LiteOn 48x12x48x CD-RW | Full Black server case with 500W PSU | Relisys 17" Monitor | Wireless Optical Mouse | Logitech Surfer | XP Professional SP1

Server: Intel (Oh no!) 2x Pent
 01/04/2004 08:00 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
voodoo3300
Senior Member

Posts: 374
Joined: 11/16/2003

If you want MP go for this

MSI K7D Master dual MP> Go to http://www.aria.co.uk/Products...?Sub...rch&Category=46' ">http://www.aria.co.uk/Products...mit=Search&Category=46

to view more info. I would whack a pair of 2200+ on, (mod some XPs), but in 1.5Gb RAM, 120Gb Maxtor and Windows XP Pro. Nice!
Jake

-------------------------
Main:
AMD Athlon 2600+ 333Mhz Thoroughbred | 512Mb in 2x 256Mb DaneElec DDR PC2700 | XFX NF2S-ALH with nForce 2 400Pro | Asus GeForce FX5200 128Mb Magic! | Creative 5.1! Live! | Maxtor DM+9 80Gb and Maxtor DM+8 20Gb | LiteON 832S DVD+-R/RW Dual Layer 8x | LiteOn 48x12x48x CD-RW | Full Black server case with 500W PSU | Relisys 17" Monitor | Wireless Optical Mouse | Logitech Surfer | XP Professional SP1

Server: Intel (Oh no!) 2x Pent
 01/04/2004 12:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
LXDoom
Junior Member

Posts: 14
Joined: 10/12/2003

QUOTE (voodoo3300 @ Jan 4 2004, 05:00 AM) If you want MP go for this

MSI K7D Master dual MP
Why this one and not for example Tyan, Iwill, Asus, Giga-byte,......
I believe it's a good board. But I just want to find out about the differences between boards and the experiences of people with the different boards.
 01/06/2004 11:56 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
voodoo3300
Senior Member

Posts: 374
Joined: 11/16/2003

MSI are a reputable brand and this board supports a wider range of chips than the Tyan for example, but as they all use the same chipsets they are all going to be similar anyway, this just looks like the the best value for money and the feedback is good.

Jake

-------------------------
Main:
AMD Athlon 2600+ 333Mhz Thoroughbred | 512Mb in 2x 256Mb DaneElec DDR PC2700 | XFX NF2S-ALH with nForce 2 400Pro | Asus GeForce FX5200 128Mb Magic! | Creative 5.1! Live! | Maxtor DM+9 80Gb and Maxtor DM+8 20Gb | LiteON 832S DVD+-R/RW Dual Layer 8x | LiteOn 48x12x48x CD-RW | Full Black server case with 500W PSU | Relisys 17" Monitor | Wireless Optical Mouse | Logitech Surfer | XP Professional SP1

Server: Intel (Oh no!) 2x Pent
 01/09/2004 03:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NOP
Member

Posts: 27
Joined: 01/09/2004

Use MP if you play CAD.
i use MP2400 Dual.
Good in Video edit. i use pinnacle studio deluxe and no problem


-------------------------
TYan S2466-4m (AMDchip)
Althon MP 2400+ Dual (0.13)
Transcand 512MB ECC DDR 266 x 2 + Ramos 512MB ECC DDR266 x 1
WD 800JB + WD800JB + WD1200JB
LG 4082 8X +/- DVD writer
Power VR 2 Kyro 32MB AGP
Creative SBlive Value Sound card
3com 3c920 Lan card on board
1394/USB 2.0 NEC combo card
Promise ATA-133 TX2 PCI IDE card x2
Enermax EP 495( 485W )
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information