Increase font size
Topic Title: Wont boot an OS
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/22/2004 09:47 AM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/22/2004 09:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
markh

Hello

Hope someone might be able to help me!

I have a a MSI ms-6501 K7 Master motherboard with two 2000+ MP on the board. Yesterday I changed the fans on the procs, from the thermaltake volcano 6+cu's to a slighly quieter spire model which has a better cooling capacity and doesn't sound like a light airplane taking off.

However since making the change I can no longer get an operating system to boot. The POST tests complete ok but when the OS starts it gets to the blue XP screen telling you that it has 2 processors and a multiprocessing kernel and it reboots the box, there is a message but I cant read it beacuse it disappears so quickly. So I went back to the original configuration but it still crashed.

Fearing I might have corrupted windows I have tried booting a Redhat Linux 8 install disk but this also crashed but gave an error about about losing interupts and not being able to allocate virtual memory, and then the kernel panic message followed by crash and system lockup.

From a quick hunt around the net one other user, on a single proc system, had said that when he had the errors similar to these it was due to a faulty maths coprocessor.

Is the coproccesor on the cpu or is it part of the motherboard?

Are there any easyily available utilities available that would indicate where the problem lies and what I need to do to get the box up and running again?

Is it safe to test the processors by running them as single procs on the board, to isolate the damaged one, if this is what I have done?

I would welcome any help as I am at a lose end as to what to try next.

MarkH 8-(

01/22/2004 01:39 PM