AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: 160GB HD
Topic Summary:
Created On: 03/25/2004 12:56 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/25/2004 12:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
pcy
Senior Member

Posts: 2029
Joined: 10/18/2003

Hi,

Does anybpdy know whether the bios (1011.003) on an Asus A7M266-D supports disks bigger than 137GB.

This requires 48Bit addressing rather than 28Bit.

And it's also referred as BigLBA.

I suspect the answer will be the same fort all Mobos built on the MPX chipset



Peter

 04/06/2004 03:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
knight0334
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Joined: 02/16/2004

I believe it'll support it, but's your operating system that will need the 48bit support for it to be of much use.

My K7D Master-L recognizes my WD 160GB drive as 160gb on a Promise Ultra 100, but WinXP's installer and base drivers dont support 48bit addressing. Be sure to update the drivers ASAP, other wise it'll only see 137gb.
 05/16/2004 11:24 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
etaNL
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 02/10/2004

Using a Tyan s2466 MPX chipset works using my 2 200Gb Maxtors
Only using windows you need to edit the registry with a EnableLargeLBA setting
 07/24/2004 07:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Impaler
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 07/24/2004

I am running Win XP Pro with a Samsung 160 Gig HD, and I have had no issues whatsoever. I haven't had to tweak the BIOS, or the registry.

-------------------------
A7M266-D w/dual MP 2200+, 1 Gb RAM, 160 Gb Samsung HD, 2x 40 Gb Samsunbg HDs, Soundblaster Live! 5.1, MSI gforce 4 Ti-4200 8x AGP 128 Mb, dual boot Win XP Pro and Gentoo Linux
 08/14/2004 04:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MCMunroe
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 08/14/2004

I have an A7M266-D motherboard, and am using the bios (1011.003), with a Maxtor 200GB hard drive with no problem. You should be fine.
 09/12/2004 09:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
LowLife
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 09/12/2004

I have had my asus a7m266-d motherboard for quite a while. Can it support an amd mp2800. It was my understanding that all mp processors would work in a motherboard that supports any mp processors. In other words is there any compatibilty issue using a barton core mp2800 in this motherboard. They are all 266 fsb. SO does it work.
Thank you in advance.
 09/17/2004 07:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
wintpe
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 09/13/2004

lowlife

i recently upgraded my a7m266-d with MP2800+ and it works fine.

be sure to update to the latest bios from asus (1011 beta 003) first.

the only caveat is if cpu mp support check is enabled it has trouble with most linux kernels, however with it disabled it works 100% reliable.

my spec is NV geforce 4 4600 adaptec 29160 64 bit, realtec rtl 8139 network card , via firewire card using onboard usb, onboard sound and leave 2end 64 bit pci free

ps the barton core MP2800+ runs 266 bus not 333 as ebuyer states.

regards peter
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information