AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: FX 5700 Ultra only works at X2 AGP
Topic Summary:
Created On: 03/25/2004 05:18 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/25/2004 05:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
aim2xl
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 03/25/2004

Mobo Gigabyte 7DPXDW+, Max BIOS AGP setting 4X, 2x MP2400+, XP Pro.
This board will not work with any Nvidia FX 5700 Ultra card (these are 8X AGP) if the BIOS is set to 4X AGP.
I've tried many sets of Nvidia drivers, latest mobo drivers, stripped the PC back to a single CPU and no expansion cards, several 420W+ PSUs. Any attempt to run 3D apps causes instant lock up. Set the BIOS AGP to 2X and everything is fine.

Has anybody else out there seen this or similar ? Has anybody else solved this problem ?


 05/05/2004 05:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
aim2xl
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 03/25/2004

Further info:
I have now also seen this problem on a new P4 Intel chipset system This was cured with a BIOS update. I suspect older boards that are no longer actively suported by the manufacturer will be stuck with this problem.
 05/16/2004 02:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
-Milt-
Senior Member

Posts: 1722
Joined: 03/15/2004

aim2xl

Just a similar problem to report... the PCChips M810L mobos will not run hardly any of the nVidea GeForce series of cards unless the AGP rate is cut back to 1x.
Fortunately, the only thing that the reduction in AGP rate affects is the speed at which a game, or program, loads from the HD or CD into the video cards memory. It'll take longer at 1x than at 8x... Doh!

Once loaded, then it is the speed of the video card itself that limits the FPS.
The 8x thing doesn't really do much of anything in the real world, but the marketing boys are just having a field day with it.

-------------------------
Here is my new PCChips M848A' ">http://img.photobucket.com/alb...2_T-2-3-3-6-2_M848.jpg v2.1, with a 1700+ @ 2411 MHz, and my trusty old PCChips M810L' ">http://members.lycos.co.uk/mmm...00MHz_Sandra_tests.jpg v7.1A, with a Barton 2500+ @ over 3500+. Some of my fancy cars are on this pag
 06/13/2004 06:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
vjk
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 05/20/2004

Hi there !
Quite same problem,but with a K7D Master and a Quadro FX1100.If i enabled "AGP Fast write" in bios,3D applications crash and freeze the system.If i let it disabled,everything' running but slowly and badly (some crash again).Doesn't try yet to put on agp 2x but i will check this.
Did u tried anything else ?
 06/14/2004 01:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Greyhound
Senior Member

Posts: 5449
Joined: 10/07/2003

Make sure you disable both 'AGP Fastwrites' and 'Sideband addressing' in BIOS, if you have the option to do so.
Also make sure you have installed the latest drivers for both your videocard and chipset.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

<center><font color=red>MODERATOR</center></font>

AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ 89W :: Asus M2N32SLI Deluxe :: 2x1024MB Muskin XP2-6400 DDR2-800 :: BeQuiet! Darkpower Pro 530W :: 2x WD Raptor 74GB/10k rpm, RAID 0 :: ATI Radeon X1950XTX
 06/14/2004 05:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
vjk
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 05/20/2004

I don't understand why i can't enabled "agp fast write" for a quadro FX1100.
I have a Quadro FX 500 too,and I've got no problem with this one.Nevertheless,it seems I didn't have the "sideband adressing" thing.
As I said before,disabled agp fast write don't really resolve the trouble,it just make the system more stable... if i don't use any application !
I used last MSI bios,last drivers nvidia,last chipset drivers for the mobo.Problems still there.
Pff... so hard to understand... Maybe my FX1100 is almost dead ...
 10/02/2004 12:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
vjk
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 05/20/2004

Well,it seems that things goes like aim2xl said :
When i switch to AGP 2x,everything's running fine.

"I suspect older boards that are no longer actively suported by the manufacturer will be stuck with this problem."(aim2xl)
I agree with u aim2xl...
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information