AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Bogus 2600+MP?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 08/14/2004 05:03 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/14/2004 05:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MCMunroe
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 08/14/2004

I recently ordered a pair of OEM Athlon MP2600+ online (from Monarch Computers) and the weirdness started before I ordered.

I saw listings of verious specs for the same model rating:
----------------------------------------------------------------------
AMD - AMSN2600DUT4C Athlon MP 2600+ W/ QUANTISPEED ARCHITECTUREOPERATING AT 2.133GHZ

AMD - Athlon MP 2600+ 2.07GHz Processor Retail w/Fan and Heatsink Manufacturer Part#: AMP2600BOX

AMD - ATHLON MP SERVER MODEL 2600+ PIB BARTON
----------------------------------------------------------------------
So I order two OEM 2600+ MP, thinking I'll be getting a 2.13GHz processor since I didn't order a Boxed pair. I have a ASUS A7M266-D (v1.4) with the 1011.003 BIOS, which according to AMD is a recommended motherboard for 2600+MP.

So I get my CPUs and install them nicely with a dab of Arctic Siver Reference....
I get a POST screen reading:
AMD ATHLON XP @ 2000MHz
*AMD ATHLON XP @ 2000MHz

I have the latest BIOS that says it supports the CPUs. Plus what is this 2GHz [content edited]. XP Pro reads them at Athlon XP 2GHz, but WCPUID reads as AMD Athlon MP (Model A) again at 2GHz exactly. Oh, every thing displays 512Kb cache for the chips so they are Barton core (look like it visually too).

But why am I getting a slow CPU, I thought the mulipliers are locked so the BIOS wouldn't have a say. I'm geting a mulitplier of 15 (15x133 = 2000MHz) when I should be getting a mulitplier of 15.5 (15.5x133 = 2066MHz) or of 16 (16x133 = 2133MHz)

I've looked all over the AMD site and haven't found any info on a Barton core 2600+MP, and besides this one is running slow.
So what's up? Did I get ripped off? Does this chip exists? Why isn't it recognised? Why is it slow?

Thanks Matt

PS: The fine print of my invoice says Artic Silver voids my waranty so I can't return these chips.
 08/15/2004 03:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Greyhound
Senior Member

Posts: 5449
Joined: 10/07/2003

QUOTE But why am I getting a slow CPU, I thought the mulipliers are locked so the BIOS wouldn't have a say. I'm geting a mulitplier of 15 (15x133 = 2000MHz) when I should be getting a mulitplier of 15.5 (15.5x133 = 2066MHz) or of 16 (16x133 = 2133MHz)
2000MHz(133x15.0) is the correct speed for an Athlon MP 2600+, model 10(Barton).

The Athlon MP 2800+, model 10 or Athlon MP 2600+, model 8 run at 2133MHz(133x16.0).
QUOTE I've looked all over the AMD site and haven't found any info on a Barton core 2600+MP, and besides this one is running slow.
You can find the appropriate datasheet for the AThlon MP processor, model 10(Barton( here' ">http://www.amd.com/us-en/asset...nd_tech_docs/26426.PDF - see section 6(p.23) for thermal and electrical specs(including clockspeeds).

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

<center><font color=red>MODERATOR</center></font>

AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ 89W :: Asus M2N32SLI Deluxe :: 2x1024MB Muskin XP2-6400 DDR2-800 :: BeQuiet! Darkpower Pro 530W :: 2x WD Raptor 74GB/10k rpm, RAID 0 :: ATI Radeon X1950XTX
 08/17/2004 05:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MCMunroe
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 08/14/2004

Thank you for putting me at ease.
Now if the merchents would just start posting correct information.

I have been getting alot more crashes and lock-ups since upgrading from the dual Athlon 1800+ XP (Palminto)s. The new MPs are running 5 degrees cooler (45C and 49C) so heat shouldn't be the reason.

Any one have any ideas?
Matt
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information