AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Tyan Tiger S2466N-4M
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/19/2003 11:27 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/19/2003 11:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Morrowind
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Joined: 11/19/2003

I am trying to upgrade my motherboard to the full 4 gigabytes!

So far I have a Dane 1GB slot one, Lei 1GB slot two, Samsung 512MB slot three, and Samsung 256MB slot four.

I also have the Gainward GeForce FX5600 Ultra with 256MB. Video driver is Nvidia 52.16.

If I add another Samsung 512MB to slot four, I get one long beep and two short beeps, which means the video card will not post!

If I take it out and put the Samsung 256MB back in slot four, everything works!

Any one with ideas?

-------------------------
Tyan Tiger S2466N-4M motherboard.
Dual AMD 2400+ MP CPU's
Gainward FX PowerPack Ultra/780 TV/DVI (Geforce FX5600 256MB DDR)
3 Gigabytes PC2100 DDR RAM ECC Registered
Dual DVD's (one recordable)
3.5" Floppy 1.44MB - two hard drives ~ 80 GB total.
NEC MultiSync LCD1700M+ Monitor.
Santa Cruz 5.1 sound card with 5.1 speakers & woofer.
 11/19/2003 11:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Greyhound
Senior Member

Posts: 5449
Joined: 10/07/2003

hmmm...maybe a bad stick? or could be some conflict - running sticks from different manufacturers can sometimes cause problems.

what happens if you replace your current 512MB Samsung-stick with the new one?

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

<center><font color=red>MODERATOR</center></font>

AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ 89W :: Asus M2N32SLI Deluxe :: 2x1024MB Muskin XP2-6400 DDR2-800 :: BeQuiet! Darkpower Pro 530W :: 2x WD Raptor 74GB/10k rpm, RAID 0 :: ATI Radeon X1950XTX
 11/19/2003 03:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Morrowind
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Joined: 11/19/2003

All the memory is good, I have switched out the 512MB with the working configuration and it is fine. I think it is a memory "loading" problem, with posting the video card.

I will try rolling back to my previous nVidia driver this week end (so if anything goes wrong I will be able to fix it!

I was using a beta driver as I found the 44.03 driver unstable ! I never had a problem with the beta driver.

But I just got up to this much memory. I was going for the complete 4GIG set-up. but untill I solve the problems for 3GIG, I will wait to buy two more 1GB sticks!!

-------------------------
Tyan Tiger S2466N-4M motherboard.
Dual AMD 2400+ MP CPU's
Gainward FX PowerPack Ultra/780 TV/DVI (Geforce FX5600 256MB DDR)
3 Gigabytes PC2100 DDR RAM ECC Registered
Dual DVD's (one recordable)
3.5" Floppy 1.44MB - two hard drives ~ 80 GB total.
NEC MultiSync LCD1700M+ Monitor.
Santa Cruz 5.1 sound card with 5.1 speakers & woofer.
 11/21/2003 05:37 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Morrowind
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Joined: 11/19/2003

I had a Lei 1gig chip, replaced it with a samsung, everything works, the Lei chip must have has too many banks, it had double chips on both sides!

-------------------------
Tyan Tiger S2466N-4M motherboard.
Dual AMD 2400+ MP CPU's
Gainward FX PowerPack Ultra/780 TV/DVI (Geforce FX5600 256MB DDR)
3 Gigabytes PC2100 DDR RAM ECC Registered
Dual DVD's (one recordable)
3.5" Floppy 1.44MB - two hard drives ~ 80 GB total.
NEC MultiSync LCD1700M+ Monitor.
Santa Cruz 5.1 sound card with 5.1 speakers & woofer.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information