AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: MP2400
Topic Summary:
Created On: 06/28/2005 07:10 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/28/2005 07:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
aplrapid
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 06/28/2005

Hi guys,

I have a MSI K7D-L Master running with two MP 2000+, everything running fine. Got from a friend 2x MP 2400+, cause his K7D Master fails. Implementing them on my installation, my Win XP Pro fails to start before first XP picture approaches. Changing to FSB 100, all OK. Starting with one CPU on FSB 133 => OK.

Disable internal cache from CPU in Bios, start with FSB 133, I reach my desktop, but pc is very slow.

Processors seems to be OK, no overheating or something else, but with both CPU's no FSB 133. grrrrrr

Try a new installation, installation fails on different positions.

any idea

regards aplrapid

PS: last bios version, all actual drivers
 06/28/2005 10:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Booze46
Senior Member

Posts: 914
Joined: 02/23/2005

maybe reseting the bios will do the trick?
 06/29/2005 06:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
aplrapid
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 06/28/2005

srry no, i tried different ways, resetting bios, disabling different bios properties.

greetz apl
 06/29/2005 01:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MD - Moderator
Deployer of Mjölnir - House Keeping

Posts: 11102
Joined: 11/05/2003

Please list all of your system specs.

Sometimes when a power supply can't keep up with a system it will allow the system to function at 100FSB instead of 266FSB

Also did you put the latest bios on the mainboard? That also may be an issue.

MD

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

Physics? Ha! This is clearly magic and devilry at work. Prepare firewood! We have witches to burn!


MODERATOR
 06/30/2005 09:08 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
aplrapid
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 06/28/2005

CPU Typ 2x AMD Athlon MP, 1512 MHz (15 x 101)
Motherboard Name MSI K7D Master (MS-6501) (3 PCI, 2 PCI64, 1 AGP, 4 DDR DIMM, Audio)
Motherboard Chipsatz AMD-760MPX
Arbeitsspeicher 512 MB (PC2100 Registered ECC DDR SDRAM)
BIOS Typ Award Modular (10/09/03)
Grafikkarte ALL-IN-WONDER 9600 SERIES - Secondary (128 MB)
IDE Controller AMD-768 PCI Bus Master IDE Controller V1.43
SCSI/RAID Controller Adaptec Embedded Serial ATA HostRAID
SCSI/RAID Controller D347PRT SCSI Controller
Floppy-Laufwerk Diskettenlaufwerk
Festplatte WDC WD1200JD-00HBB0 SCSI Disk Device (111 GB)
Festplatte ST340016A (40 GB, 7200 RPM, Ultra-ATA/100)
Optisches Laufwerk Generic DVD-ROM SCSI CdRom Device
Optisches Laufwerk LITE-ON DVD SOHD-167T (16x/48x DVD-ROM)
Optisches Laufwerk PIONEER DVD-RW DVR-106D S.M.A.R.T. Festplatten-Status OK
Netzwerkkarte D-Link DFE-530TX PCI Fast Ethernet Adapter (rev.C)
Speichercontroller Eigenschaften:
Fehlerkorrekturmethode 8-bit Parity
Fehlerkorrektur Keine
Unterstützter Speicher Interleave 1-Way
Aktueller Speicher Interleave 1-Way
Unterstützte Speichergeschwindigkeit 70ns, 60ns
Unterstützte Speichertypen SPM, EDO
Unterstützte Speicherspannung 5V
Maximale Speichermodulgröße 512 MB
Speichersteckplätze 4
Prozessor Eigenschaften:
Hersteller AMD
Version AMD Athlon™ MP
Externer Takt 101 MHz
Maximaler Takt 1900 MHz
Aktueller Takt 1500 MHz
Typ Central Processor
Spannung 1.6 V
Status Aktiviert
Aufrüstung ZIF
Sockelbezeichnung Socket A
Spannungswerte:
CPU1 Core 1.62 V
+2.5 V 2.45 V
+3.3 V 3.28 V
+5 V 5.03 V
+12 V 12.10 V
-12 V -11.95 V
-5 V -5.15 V
+5 V Bereitschaftsmodus 4.95 V
VBAT Batterie 3.49 V
Debug Info V 65 9A CD BB C7 24 33 23 (01)
Debug Info T 35 49 50
[ DIMM1: Infineon 72D64000GR7B ]

Arbeitsspeicher Eigenschaften:
Modulname Infineon 72D64000GR7B
Seriennummer 023C1787h
Herstellungsdatum Woche 38 / 2003
Modulgröße 512 MB (1 rows, 4 banks)
Modulart Registered
Speicherart DDR SDRAM
Speichergeschwindigkeit PC2100 (133 MHz)
Modulbreite 72 bit
Modulspannung SSTL 2.5
Fehlerkorrekturmethode ECC
Auffrischungsrate Reduziert (7.8 us), Self-Refresh
North Bridge Eigenschaften:
North Bridge AMD-760MPX

Speicher Timings:
CAS Latency (CL) 2T
RAS To CAS Delay (tRCD) 2T
RAS Precharge (tRP) 2T
RAS Active Time (tRAS) 5T
Row Cycle Time (tRC) 7T
RAS To RAS Delay (tRRD) 2T
Write Recovery Time (tWR) 2T

Fehlerkorrektur:
ECC Unterstützt, Aktiviert
BIOS Eigenschaften:
BIOS Typ Award Modular
Award BIOS Typ Award Modular BIOS v6.00PG
Award BIOS Nachricht W6501MS V1.91 100903 10:38:36
Datum System BIOS 10/09/03
Datum Video BIOS 03/08/21

BIOS Hersteller:
Firmenname Phoenix Technologies Ltd.


Enough Info? let me know if you miss something.

What i pre-checked:
- Changing Power Supply
- Changing Memory to Samsung M383L6423BT1-CB0
- Disabling onboard Sound, Lan,....
- Starting up with only one IDE Disk, without SATA Controller
- Changing Video Card
- Running without Audigy Soundcard


thx for help
aplrapid


 06/30/2005 12:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MD - Moderator
Deployer of Mjölnir - House Keeping

Posts: 11102
Joined: 11/05/2003

Whats the true capacity of your power supply? What I mean by that is not whats written on the side like "400W" I mean what are the amperage (A) specs for each voltage on the side of the power supply for:
3.3V = ?A
+5V =?A
+12V =?A
+5VSB =?A


Also how do the capacitors look on that motherboard, I've seen quite a few of those dual XP boards needing to be recapped.

MD

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

Physics? Ha! This is clearly magic and devilry at work. Prepare firewood! We have witches to burn!


MODERATOR
 06/30/2005 01:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
aplrapid
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 06/28/2005

DATA:
3.3V = 28A
+5V =38A
+12V =25A
+5VSB =2A

Also how do the capacitors look on that motherboard?

All clean, no bursting up on top.

I also thought about another power supply, but even tried a 400Watt Tagan(no change). Tomorow I ask some friends, if someone has an actual 500Watt P5 power Supply. Maybe that helps.

greetz apl
 06/30/2005 02:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MD - Moderator
Deployer of Mjölnir - House Keeping

Posts: 11102
Joined: 11/05/2003

Very odd, you seem to have pretty much covered the basics...

Can you run the board with a single processor, and if so can you try each processor separately?

How did your friends board fail, could the failure have damaged one or both of the MP2400's?

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

Physics? Ha! This is clearly magic and devilry at work. Prepare firewood! We have witches to burn!


MODERATOR
 07/01/2005 05:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
aplrapid
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 06/28/2005

=> "Can you run the board with a single processor, and if so can you try each processor separately?"

Already done, starting up with one prozi FSB133(vice versa) => no problem

=> "How did your friends board fail, could the failure have damaged one or both of the MP2400's?"

PC sometimes hanging, as he uses his pc mostly for gaming he searches for new stable solution and we think to solve his problem it isn't worth to solve it on his k7d master solution, cause we found 6 capacitors on the board which where bursted or brown coloured on the top.
But his pc was runninng till last day with 2x2400 FSB133. He uses an 460Watt Enermax Power supply.

best regards
aplrapid
 07/01/2005 05:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MD - Moderator
Deployer of Mjölnir - House Keeping

Posts: 11102
Joined: 11/05/2003

I'm not sure what else to check other than, have you looked at the bottom of your capacitors, sometimes they fail out of the bung in the bottom...

Where do you guys live? Has your friend considered getting his board re-capped?

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

Physics? Ha! This is clearly magic and devilry at work. Prepare firewood! We have witches to burn!


MODERATOR
 07/19/2005 05:46 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
phusg
Member

Posts: 24
Joined: 07/08/2005

QUOTE(MD Willington @ Jul 1 2005, 10:13 PM)I'm not sure what else to check other than, have you looked at the bottom of your capacitors, sometimes they fail out of the bung in the bottom...

Where do you guys live? Has your friend considered getting his board re-capped?
[right][snapback]450488[/snapback][/right]


I don't need to at the moment, but how much does this re-capping usually cost? And what's the best precautionary measure to avoid stressing the caps? Undervolting VCore, lower FSB/PCI, low case temperature or a better PSU?

I've got my K7D set up nicely now, and I'd like for it to run for years! /smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif' />
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information