Increase font size
Topic Title: MSI K7D-Master-L Mobo & Athlon XP
Topic Summary:
Created On: 07/12/2005 08:20 PM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/12/2005 08:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mavericko

I have an MSI K7D-Master-L dual socket mobo.
As of now I am running it with a single Athlon XP 2000+.
Now, to increase performance, what is the best single CPU I can add safely ?? (other than Athlon MP)

07/19/2005 05:36 AM

Author Icon
phusg

QUOTE(mavericko @ Jul 13 2005, 01:20 AM)I have an MSI K7D-Master-L dual socket mobo.
As of now I am running it with a single Athlon XP 2000+.
Now, to increase performance, what is the best single CPU I can add safely ?? (other than Athlon MP)
[right][snapback]457757[/snapback][/right]

You can't officially run dual XPs, that's what the MPs are for. So officially there is no CPU you can add.

Unofficially you can cut a bridge on your XP, void your warranty and try and run it with another modded XP as 2 MPs. This is sometimes said to work, but there are also a lot of people who can't get such a system stable, especially with dual mobile XPs.
 08/21/2005 11:31 AM

Author Icon
aklietz

Hello mavericko,

I agree with phusg, that the safest way to a dual cpu configuration would be using two Athlon MP. Especially in a productive / business environment this should be the way to go.