AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Upgrading computer, A bit confused
Topic Summary: Upgrading
Created On: 12/12/2010 04:03 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/12/2010 04:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Elliottlives
Lurker

Posts: 7
Joined: 12/12/2010

Sup guys Uhh i have just bought Call of duty black ops and come to my surprise I cannot get past the menu without it crashing on me, at the moment i have a Processor:Amd Athlon 64 processor 3000+,Video card:Geforce 9500 Gt , 1.81 Ghz and 3.00 GB of ram, A friend of mine has built this computer for me about 4 years ago and has moved since, I was hoping to upgrade my Cpu but am hoping not to spend over 250$ if any one can give me some advice as to how i would go about upgrading my cpu or buying a new cpu, or what ever would help me to enhance the over all performance of my computer i would be really appreciative any additional help would also be gr8ly appreciated

-------------------------
Elliott largen
 12/12/2010 10:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MU_Engineer
Dr. Mu

Posts: 1837
Joined: 08/26/2006

Your best bet would be to get a new machine. That's a Socket 939 CPU, which is three generations behind current. You can upgrade it to a dual-core CPU, but dual-core Socket 939 CPUs are relatively uncommon and thus expensive, and will be quite a bit slower than a comparably-priced newer CPU like a Socket AM3 Athlon II. $250 isn't a lot of money, but you could probably get a lower-end Socket AM3 motherboard, an Athlon II X2 dual-core (which is a lot faster than a socket 939 dual-core), and 4 GB of DDR3-1333 memory.

-------------------------
 12/13/2010 02:00 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Elliottlives
Lurker

Posts: 7
Joined: 12/12/2010

Thank you so much really appreciate the help.
If i were to buy a AM3 Athlon II where would i go from there (what procedure would i have to follow to remove my current Cpu and Install the AM3 Athlon II),Also where might i find one in Australia?(Shop,Online,Etc)Sorry about my stupidity, Don't know much about computers ( my computer is mostly used for gaming and downloading purposes)

-------------------------
Elliott largen

Edited: 12/13/2010 at 02:14 AM by Elliottlives
 12/13/2010 09:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MU_Engineer
Dr. Mu

Posts: 1837
Joined: 08/26/2006

Originally posted by: Elliottlives

Thank you so much really appreciate the help.

If i were to buy a AM3 Athlon II where would i go from there (what procedure would i have to follow to remove my current Cpu and Install the AM3 Athlon II)


You need a new motherboard to use an Athlon II, so you will not need to remove your old CPU from your old motherboard. Installing an AM3 processor is identical to installing a Socket 939 processor, so if you put together your current system,

Also where might i find one in Australia?(Shop,Online,Etc)Sorry about my stupidity, Don't know much about computers ( my computer is mostly used for gaming and downloading purposes)


I am not from Australia and couldn't tell you about any online stores. AMD does have a listing of some retailers in Australia that sell AMD parts in their "Where to Buy" section on their Australian website. There seems to be a good number of stores on that list, so at least one of them should have what you are looking for.

-------------------------
 12/17/2010 04:09 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Elliottlives
Lurker

Posts: 7
Joined: 12/12/2010

Thanks m8 appreciate all the help

-------------------------
Elliott largen
 12/17/2010 05:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
go_for
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3217
Joined: 01/21/2006

or what ever would help me to enhance the over all performance of my computer i would be really appreciative any additional help would also be gr8ly appreciated

While mu_engineer is correct it may be the time to upgrade the platform, in the meantime, could
explore the improvement you can make on your current system to increase performance.
Not sure it will run COD_BO though, but the system will improve overall, if your motherboard has the features.

I assume everything in the system is running at stock settings, thus not using any overclock potential it possesses.

Please provide a bit more detailed info of your system e.g motherboard, RAM, OS
Post info from CPU-Z as an example. "About"->"Save Report" .txt

-------------------------
 12/17/2010 11:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MU_Engineer
Dr. Mu

Posts: 1837
Joined: 08/26/2006

Originally posted by: go_for

or what ever would help me to enhance the over all performance of my computer i would be really appreciative any additional help would also be gr8ly appreciated


While mu_engineer is correct it may be the time to upgrade the platform, in the meantime, could

explore the improvement you can make on your current system to increase performance.

Not sure it will run COD_BO though, but the system will improve overall, if your motherboard has the features.

I assume everything in the system is running at stock settings, thus not using any overclock potential it possesses.



Please provide a bit more detailed info of your system e.g motherboard, RAM, OS

Post info from CPU-Z as an example. "About"->"Save Report" .txt


He has two main problems, a low-clocked older single-core CPU and an older lower-end GPU. I'd say the GPU is a bigger problem than the CPU is right now, but modern games generally spawn at least two heavy threads and single-core CPUs choke on them. Overclocking the CPU won't do much because he might get it to 2.5-2.7 GHz if he's lucky and it overclocks well, and that's still a tremendous bottleneck. Swapping in an A64 X2 isn't advisable either as 939 X2s don't overclock very well either and are pretty pricey, so you'd just have an expensive way to make slightly less of a bottleneck. He'd really want to get a new midrange GPU like one of the $80 9800 GTs and a modern Athlon II X2 (which can be overclocked to close to 4 GHz if you get a good one, which no A64 X2 can even touch in performance, short of an LN2 suicide shot). An Athlon II X3 or X4 would be all that much better yet. I'd recommend he save his money until he can buy new parts that will work well rather than waste money on trying to upgrade an older system and still ending up with an insufficient machine.

-------------------------
 12/17/2010 02:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
go_for
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3217
Joined: 01/21/2006

er, my point was that without investing anything in the current rig, the potential is to get a 25%+ performance boost. How far that suffices for modern games is another story, as we all know. I agree its better to use the money for modern hardware.

-------------------------
 12/21/2010 04:00 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Elliottlives
Lurker

Posts: 7
Joined: 12/12/2010

Video card: Geforce 9500 Gt, Motherboard: A8N-E, Processor: AMD Athlon (64) 3000+, Os: Windows Xp, Ram DDR 1 3GB

-------------------------
Elliott largen
 12/21/2010 05:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Elliottlives
Lurker

Posts: 7
Joined: 12/12/2010

Also i spoke to a friend of mine who said i should buy a I5 650 processor and a P55 motherboard or H55 motherboard he also said i should buy a more current graphics card that would work well with the processor and motherboard (if possible could you please give me some good examples?)

-------------------------
Elliott largen
 12/21/2010 10:06 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
go_for
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3217
Joined: 01/21/2006

I let other forum members have a take on what you should upgrade to.

The 3GB RAM you have, what config is it, 3x1Gb or 2x512+2x1GB ? What is the core model of your A64 3000+ , Winchester or Venice? CPU-z will tell.

a8n-e oc thread

-------------------------


Edited: 12/21/2010 at 10:17 AM by go_for
 12/21/2010 12:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bogey
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5643
Joined: 03/25/2005

The board does support dual core cpus. Up to Opteron 185.

-------------------------
MSI K7N2 Delta2 LSR|35w XP-M2400 11x214 1.62V|2x512MB OCZ EL 2 2 2 11 2.9V|9600XT|Seasonic 350w
Abit AN7|XP-M2800 10.5x227 1.62V|2x512MB Mushkin XP4000 2 3 2 11 3.2V|9600XT|Seasonic 550w
Asus A7V600|XP-M2600 6-11x202 1.6V|2x512 Crucial PC3200 2.5 3 3 9 2.7V|PCI 32MB gfx|Corsair 450w
 12/22/2010 11:15 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Elliottlives
Lurker

Posts: 7
Joined: 12/12/2010

Sorry no idea on the ram but im certain the core model is Venice

-------------------------
Elliott largen
 12/22/2010 11:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Elliottlives
Lurker

Posts: 7
Joined: 12/12/2010

I am now buying a i5 750 dual core and a H55 motherboard which comes to about 350$ i am also buying a new power Supply for my tower because my current 1 is 400W so i think if im going to make the jump and upgrade i will need a new power supply any idea how many W's my new 1 should have (i would also like to have a bit extra incase i need the W's)

-------------------------
Elliott largen
 02/19/2011 02:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
aus-amdfan
Deprecated

Posts: 308
Joined: 01/21/2011

id recamend the am3 aswell as ive had nearly all first sereis athlon dual core and two of the first gen phenoms and would have to say that the phenom 2 and athlon two are a vast improvement you could probally pick up a cheap am3 board like the 870a ud3 4 about $120 and id go for the phenom 2 x6 1055t wich you should be able to pick up 4 around $200

-------------------------
amd fx-8120 powercolor 6970 @890mhz
g-skill ripjaw x 1866mhz 16gig
asus ch5
2x corsair force 3 ssds in raid (2 x 60g)
2 xwd 500g sata 3 hdds in raid 1.10
 02/19/2011 02:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
aus-amdfan
Deprecated

Posts: 308
Joined: 01/21/2011

id suggest msy ive bought most of my hardware from there and had no issues as yet and there a hell of a lot cheaper then most other store

-------------------------
amd fx-8120 powercolor 6970 @890mhz
g-skill ripjaw x 1866mhz 16gig
asus ch5
2x corsair force 3 ssds in raid (2 x 60g)
2 xwd 500g sata 3 hdds in raid 1.10
 02/19/2011 02:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
aus-amdfan
Deprecated

Posts: 308
Joined: 01/21/2011

with the setup your going 4 600watt should be more then enougth unless you intend to run sli even the the 600watt should be more then enougth run the whole thing

-------------------------
amd fx-8120 powercolor 6970 @890mhz
g-skill ripjaw x 1866mhz 16gig
asus ch5
2x corsair force 3 ssds in raid (2 x 60g)
2 xwd 500g sata 3 hdds in raid 1.10
 02/19/2011 03:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
aus-amdfan
Deprecated

Posts: 308
Joined: 01/21/2011

Originally posted by: Elliottlives

Also i spoke to a friend of mine who said i should buy a I5 650 processor and a P55 motherboard or H55 motherboard he also said i should buy a more current graphics card that would work well with the processor and motherboard (if possible could you please give me some good examples?)


that depends on what brand youd prefer me personally would go 4 the ati 5770 runs all the new games and has directx 11 capabillity and should not be that exspensive and have seen them go for about $150 or the gtx 460 also has direct x 11 capabillity but slightly more exspensive but should not cost more than $220 i hope this helps

-------------------------
amd fx-8120 powercolor 6970 @890mhz
g-skill ripjaw x 1866mhz 16gig
asus ch5
2x corsair force 3 ssds in raid (2 x 60g)
2 xwd 500g sata 3 hdds in raid 1.10
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information