AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Dual Opteron 2350
Topic Summary: Unable to install Linux distro on a Tyan n3600M (2932) + Dual Opteron + Corsair memory
Created On: 08/22/2008 09:52 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/22/2008 09:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
phicha
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Joined: 11/20/2007

Hello,

We are trying to setup a new box with:
- Antec Titan Box
- Tyan 2932G2NR motherboard
- 2 Opteron 2350
- 8 corsair 1GB memory modules
and install Linux on it.

Each distro we have tested (Cent OS, Debian, Ubuntu desktop, Ubuntu server, Gentoo, and so on) can n not be installed... Only FreeBSD in *32bits version* is working (we did not check any other 32 bit distribution) The error is not always the same. e.g. with Cent OS (netinstall) we have:

HARDWARE ERROR
CPU 0: Machine check exception: 4 bank: blah-blah-bla (a long number)
TSC (a number)
This is not a software error
Use mcelog to understand...

The way is:
- we have tested memory with the latest memtest8-+ tool ;
- we have tested CPUs ona secondary MB ;
- we tried with only one CPU (CPU0 + 2 GB of memory)
*without* any success...

Any help would appreciated.
Best regards
Philippe
 08/22/2008 10:12 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
vsingh
Voodoo Programmer

Posts: 3919
Joined: 10/15/2005

For 8GB of memory, you need the 64-bit version of Linux. 32-bit can only handle up to 4GB of memory.
 08/22/2008 10:57 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Orn
Titanic Jelly Hammer

Posts: 3481
Joined: 01/04/2008

32bit linux supports full 4gb cool!
 08/22/2008 12:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
vsingh
Voodoo Programmer

Posts: 3919
Joined: 10/15/2005

Well I'm not too sure if it will use all 4GB, but it should recognize like 3.5 GB of it or so. It's kind of complicated to explain, but here's a link:

http://www.codinghorror.com/blog/archives/000811.html
 08/27/2008 05:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Kab
Senior Member

Posts: 1349
Joined: 02/03/2007

It looks to me as a hardware error with your motherboard and CPU IMC but at early stages I can no way be sure.

What exactly is the motherboard model?
Tyan 2932G2NR is quite a generic name that I could not track back but the only similar ones we have are Tyan 2932G2NR-E and Tyan S2932WG2NR. Is yours any of these?

Which version of BIOS are you on?
Also, which power supply are you using.... not the Antec TruePower 2.0 TP-550EPS12V I hope.

Try the 64-bit version of FreeBSD. 64-bit will aggravate memory and CPU IMC far more than 32-bit can and if either of them are faulty or problematic, it will error very quickly which will give us some more insight. Most likely it won't even boot in those cases. http://www.freebsd.org/platforms/amd64.html
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information