AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Phenom 2 Pricing
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/25/2008 08:10 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 3 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/25/2008 08:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MK
Member

Posts: 32
Joined: 11/25/2008

Hi guys , Im just wondering what the pricing is going to be on the new Phenom 2 ..

Ive seen one site advertise the new Phenom 2 and , all I can say is , the price makes the intel i7 look a better option , especially if more mainstream boards are released shortly ... If this sites price is going to be mainstream , for the new release ...

All I can say is , AMD sure does enjoy adversity ...

In anyway , I hope its just a price scalper ... Cos at $500 USD for a middle of the road cpu ... Some one is dreaming ...


http://hwbot.org/user.do?userId=19314

Have a nice day !

-------------------------
Phenom 9850 @ 3.1 [ Max 3.75 ] Gig MA790GP-DS4H , GF8800 GTS320 , 2Gig 1066 Hyper X , Seagate 500Gig , Xigmatek HDT-S1283

HW-Bot = MK1
 11/25/2008 08:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dimwit13
Code Warrior

Posts: 2667
Joined: 04/04/2008

where did you see the $500 price tag-link


-dimwit-

-------------------------
I don't suffer from insanity. I enjoy every minute of it.
 11/25/2008 09:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MK
Member

Posts: 32
Joined: 11/25/2008

http://www.austin.net.au/Produ...40/Default.aspx


Here :

My bad , Aust Dollar ... Still $200 more than the Phenom 9950.. and almost as much as the i7 920 .... Sorry , $10 more than the i7 920 .... Geez ...

If these are the prices , then the i7 is looking mighty good ....

-------------------------
Phenom 9850 @ 3.1 [ Max 3.75 ] Gig MA790GP-DS4H , GF8800 GTS320 , 2Gig 1066 Hyper X , Seagate 500Gig , Xigmatek HDT-S1283

HW-Bot = MK1
 11/25/2008 09:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dimwit13
Code Warrior

Posts: 2667
Joined: 04/04/2008

link doesnt work


-dimwit-

-------------------------
I don't suffer from insanity. I enjoy every minute of it.
 11/25/2008 10:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

my supplier for my business has sent the prices for 4 of the next phenom line due out Jan 18th. Already sent in my intent to Cary them.

Prices are.

$197.00 dual core @ 2.7 Ghz.
$219.00 2.7 Ghz quad
$257.00 2.8 Ghz quad
$319.00 3 Ghz Quad

Suggested retail, my prices are my business

So I will pick up the new line of 9850 BE ordered today for my cost $149.00

as long as I can hit 3 Ghz I will be happy and wont loose anything in games, with time I will gain.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 11/25/2008 10:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dimwit13
Code Warrior

Posts: 2667
Joined: 04/04/2008

this your price, or retail?
my B-Day Jan,19
happy birthday to me


-dimwit-

-------------------------
I don't suffer from insanity. I enjoy every minute of it.
 11/25/2008 10:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMD-4-LIFE
Member

Posts: 103
Joined: 11/09/2008

Guru, you know you want to hook us up with a deal!! Ummm 3ghz deneb for 280? lol

-------------------------
Phenom II 940 Coolermaster 212
M3A78-EM
8GB DDR2 800 mhz OCZ VU
Sapphire 4850
Code Name: Baby Dragon
 11/26/2008 11:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

Will see. Lot can change in 1.5 months

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 12/01/2008 11:38 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SkateZilla
Junior Member

Posts: 11
Joined: 12/28/2007

Intel's New CPU have TLB Errors

-------------------------
Digital Overload / Skate Zilla (XBL)
MSI K9N Platinum SLi n570, AMD Athlon X2 6000+, 2GB DDR2 Corsair XMS2, nVidia GF8800 GTS 640MB, BlackMagic Intensity Pro PCI-E 1x, 2x Acer 20' LCD, SB XFi Fata1ity, 600W SLi
-
http://www.myspace.com/skate_zilla
 12/01/2008 12:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dimwit13
Code Warrior

Posts: 2667
Joined: 04/04/2008

Originally posted by: SkateZilla

Intel's New CPU have TLB Errors


ya,and my @$$ itches when i sit on it too long.
but what does that have to do with the pricing of the phenom 2?


-dimwit-

-------------------------
I don't suffer from insanity. I enjoy every minute of it.
 12/17/2008 04:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

Still trying to confirm the dates with sales rep. Its looking like we might see phenom 2 a week early. Prices might be less then anticipated by a good 25%.








Talk of the DDR 2 3 Ghz phenom II closer to the $295.00 range.

Somewhat confirmed.

Price looks to be in $295 to $315 range but isn't decided just yet. Date looks to remain the 18th.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)

Edited: 12/17/2008 at 04:20 PM by PC-GURU -
 12/17/2008 05:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kurlysir
Newbie

Posts: 50
Joined: 01/27/2007

Why the AM3 and AM2+ socket? I thought that the new processor was backward compatible with the AM2+ with a BIOS update!

Edited: 12/17/2008 at 06:00 PM by kurlysir
 12/17/2008 06:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

they are.

AM3 is just a high end AM2+ socket with DDR 3 support but will run DDR 2.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 12/17/2008 06:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Liqourice
Case Modder

Posts: 1616
Joined: 08/31/2008

I've seen that the Phenom II's will be launched Jan 8, not Dec 18.

-------------------------
Main Rig:
Cooler Master HAF 932 Full Tower : Corsair 750HX Modular PSU : Asus Crosshair III Formula : Phenom II X4 965 125W
Corsair H-50 CPU Cooler : Corsair Dominator GT DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20-1T 2x2GB : WD Caviar Black 32MB 640GB : Sapphire HD5870 Vapor-X
HTPC:
Antec Fusion Remote Black : ASUS M4A785TD-M EVO : Athlon II X2 240e : Crucial BallistiX 1600 2GB x2
Corsair 400W : Sapphire Radeon HD6850 : Lite-On iHBS112 BD-Burner : WD Caviar Green 500 GB
 12/17/2008 07:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

Sorry but my AMD sales rep says Jan 18th. But lets hope they might change there minds.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 12/17/2008 08:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kurlysir
Newbie

Posts: 50
Joined: 01/27/2007

Originally posted by: PC-GURU -

they are.



AM3 is just a high end AM2+ socket with DDR 3 support but will run DDR 2.


That is what I thought, I was just surprised to see different listings for AM3 and AM2+ at same speed but with different model numbers.

Appears that the 940 is AM2+ only and the 945 will work in either if supported by Bios. Why would you buy an AM2+ only?

Edited: 12/17/2008 at 08:47 PM by kurlysir
 12/17/2008 08:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

that's because the AM3 has a DDR 3 memory controller.

the others have the default DDR 2 memory controller.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 12/18/2008 12:24 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

ok so the 7750 BE hits the market and is available for sale now. Cost ranged from $82.00 to $98 US and only has 3 MB cache and IS NOT classified as a phenom. It is classified as athlon.

It does support DDR 2 1066 with B3 stepping.


link to buy

link to other stores.

review

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)

Edited: 12/18/2008 at 12:34 AM by PC-GURU -
 12/18/2008 11:34 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Shugs
Junior Member

Posts: 15
Joined: 12/18/2008

Does anybody know anything about the european prices for the Phenom II? All i can find is US$ prices, but generally you can't use the exchange rate to calculate the prices (most of the time the prices are higher in euros than what it would be using the x-rate). Anyways if anybody knows anything about the possible prices for the Phenom II 3ghz quad for europe a 1000x thanks.

I'm highly doubting whether I should purchase the x4 9950BE now or wait a month for the Phenom 2. It would probably be worthwhile waiting, but if the price is gonna be 1/3 higher or more than the 9950 than I'll just wait till my next upgrade.

Another question kind of off topic, but are there any differences between the 140W and 125W 9950 BE? Besides the wattage?

Thnx in advance.

- Shugs
 12/18/2008 11:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dimwit13
Code Warrior

Posts: 2667
Joined: 04/04/2008

Originally posted by: Shugs




Another question kind of off topic, but are there any differences between the 140W and 125W 9950 BE? Besides the wattage?



Thnx in advance.



- Shugs


i have the 140watt 9950
it runs a little few degrees hotter (not mine because of my WC setup)
but the max temp (so ive read) is 65c for the 140w but only 61c for the 125w

the bigest hurdle for the 140w is motherboard support, only a few good MBs support it.
it will put a strain on you MB if dont have a good one.
besides that i see no differance
i have mine oced to 3.1


-dimwit-

-------------------------
I don't suffer from insanity. I enjoy every minute of it.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information