AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Phenom 2 Pricing
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/25/2008 08:10 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 3 Previous Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/18/2008 12:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Shugs
Junior Member

Posts: 15
Joined: 12/18/2008

@dimwit13: thanks for the info, i'm planning to OC it to 3.0ghz (if I can get it stable, i'm still a noob, it would be my first time OCing) the MB i'm looking at is the gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H w/140W cpu support. I'm aiming at upgrading every 3 years, do you think it would be wiser to get the 125w since it puts less strain on the MB? (I assume that also increases life expectancy of the MB even though it can supposedly handle 140W...is this a justified assumption?)
 12/18/2008 12:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dimwit13
Code Warrior

Posts: 2667
Joined: 04/04/2008

the ONLY reason to get the 140w is a BIG price differance.
get the 125w if you can.
mine was $140 shipped to my door, at the time the 125w would have cost $190.

dont know much about the MB you want , but i do know that Gigabyte has had some problems in the past with a few MBs-not sure which ones.

i my self like DFI,ASUS,ASRock.
just make sure it has a 790fx/sb750 chipset-for the phenom2

what video cards are you getting?


-dimwit-

-------------------------
I don't suffer from insanity. I enjoy every minute of it.
 12/18/2008 12:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Orn
Titanic Jelly Hammer

Posts: 3481
Joined: 01/04/2008

the Gigabyte GA-MA790X-DS4 (no cvsi3 it not your board, for the 100000000th time), that board had a lot of potential but let down by those girly man mosfets, and gigabyte refuses to update the board BO BO BO BO BOOOOB OOOOoooOoooOOoo
 12/18/2008 12:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Shugs
Junior Member

Posts: 15
Joined: 12/18/2008

Well its a 10 euro difference (~14 US$), so then i'll get the 125W for sure. The MB has 790GX / SB750 and according to the website its AM3 ready ( http://www.gigabyte.com.tw/Pro...ew.aspx?ProductID=2887 )

I wanted to get the Powercolor HD4870 1GB PCS+ its stock oc'd to 780/3700 and according to tests/reviews it stays real cool. Around 50-60C at fullload.
 12/18/2008 12:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Shugs
Junior Member

Posts: 15
Joined: 12/18/2008

@Orn: as i mentioned earlier i'm a noobie at OCing and tbh this would be my first attempt. Could you please elaborate? I don't quite follow....:S because the MB i'm getting is a different one compared to what you mentioned. See link above.
 12/18/2008 12:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Shugs
Junior Member

Posts: 15
Joined: 12/18/2008

Actually just read a review about the gigabyte MB and it didn't perform all too good. So i started looking for a new one and i came across this one: M3A79-T Deluxe...gonna see how that one got rated.
 12/18/2008 12:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dimwit13
Code Warrior

Posts: 2667
Joined: 04/04/2008

Originally posted by: Shugs

Actually just read a review about the gigabyte MB and it didn't perform all too good. So i started looking for a new one and i came across this one: M3A79-T Deluxe...gonna see how that one got rated.



Great Board
or my DFI


-dimwit-

-------------------------
I don't suffer from insanity. I enjoy every minute of it.
 12/18/2008 12:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Liqourice
Case Modder

Posts: 1616
Joined: 08/31/2008

Originally posted by: Shugs

Actually just read a review about the gigabyte MB and it didn't perform all too good. So i started looking for a new one and i came across this one: M3A79-T Deluxe...gonna see how that one got rated.


The one you were looking at first is a GX based motherboard with a built-in Radeon 3300. It's of a newer design than the motherboard that Orn was refering to so hopefully Gigabyte learned a bit from their mistakes with the 790FX/790X motherboards.

The last one, Asus M3A79-T is a great motherboard. I have one myself, got it instead of the MA790FX-DS5 that I RMA'd. It works beautifully. There's a few others but me on this forum that has it and I haven't seen anyone complain about it! Though, it doesn't have any built-in graphics like the earlier board but I guess that isn't important since you are looking at this Asus board?

However, if you're considering a 790GX board you should look at the one from Asrock, AOD790GX/128. It's performing very well and has been reported to overclock the new Phenom II to 4 GHz easily.

-------------------------
Main Rig:
Cooler Master HAF 932 Full Tower : Corsair 750HX Modular PSU : Asus Crosshair III Formula : Phenom II X4 965 125W
Corsair H-50 CPU Cooler : Corsair Dominator GT DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20-1T 2x2GB : WD Caviar Black 32MB 640GB : Sapphire HD5870 Vapor-X
HTPC:
Antec Fusion Remote Black : ASUS M4A785TD-M EVO : Athlon II X2 240e : Crucial BallistiX 1600 2GB x2
Corsair 400W : Sapphire Radeon HD6850 : Lite-On iHBS112 BD-Burner : WD Caviar Green 500 GB
 12/19/2008 04:37 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Shugs
Junior Member

Posts: 15
Joined: 12/18/2008

@Liqourice: Good to hear that the board is performing good. Actually I was looking for a board at a store which is about 3 blocks away and they are generally quite cheap vs other stores in the area. However their product range is limited and the Gigabyte seemed fairly decent. I definately don't need an onboard graphics chip, the gigabyte board just seemed like a good bargain at first.

I'm currently reading a review that isn't too positive about the M3A79-T, this is of course only one review... I'm also checking out the DFI board that dimwit13 has. There's also a 20e price difference. So i'm going to need some very strong arguments why the DFI board isn't better. Anywayz i'm going back to checkin out reviews.
 12/19/2008 04:46 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Shugs
Junior Member

Posts: 15
Joined: 12/18/2008

PS: the review i'm talkin bout is - http://www.trustedreviews.com/...Asus-M3A79-T-Deluxe/p1

This one is more positive and detailed: http://www.legitreviews.com/article/795/3/

Edited: 12/19/2008 at 05:26 AM by Shugs
 12/19/2008 11:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hardwood
Case Modder

Posts: 1008
Joined: 02/16/2008

Originally posted by: Shugs

Well its a 10 euro difference (~14 US$), so then i'll get the 125W for sure. The MB has 790GX / SB750 and according to the website its AM3 ready ( http://www.gigabyte.com.tw/Pro...ew.aspx?ProductID=2887 )



In the OCing championships They mention using a 790GX mobo. I thought they said Gigabyte but I could be wrong. :/
I just saw a vid with them using the ASUS 790Gx chipset and an AM3 940 for OCing. That's something to consider.

-------------------------
Spider: Phenom II 955, Antec Kuhler 920, GA-MA790FX-DS5 (F8g), ASUS 5870/V2, ASUS Xonar D2X pcie,
OCZ2N1066SR2GK (4x1gig @800), Antec Truepower New 750, Fractal Design's Arc Midi Case.
#2: A64 X2 4200+, ASUS A8V-D, SAPPHIRE AGP 1950PRO

Edited: 12/19/2008 at 11:56 AM by Hardwood
 12/19/2008 07:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Liqourice
Case Modder

Posts: 1616
Joined: 08/31/2008

Originally posted by: Shugs

PS: the review i'm talkin bout is - http://www.trustedreviews.com/...Asus-M3A79-T-Deluxe/p1



This one is more positive and detailed: http://www.legitreviews.com/article/795/3/


Well, I don't know. Maybe they had a bad motherboard or their CPU is faulty because I haven't experienced any of those problems. The only problem I have is that I can't overclock much with HT Ref but I'm afraid that's a problem with my CPU since I experienced the same with another motherboard.

There are always bad samples and from what I know, everyone on this forum that has the M3A79-T is happy with it.

Or maybe those at trustedreview just don't know how to handle the hardware since they seem to have had problems with other brands as well......

This is why it's never a good idea to trust just one review, always check up as many as possible because there's always going to be one place that writes badly about something.

-------------------------
Main Rig:
Cooler Master HAF 932 Full Tower : Corsair 750HX Modular PSU : Asus Crosshair III Formula : Phenom II X4 965 125W
Corsair H-50 CPU Cooler : Corsair Dominator GT DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20-1T 2x2GB : WD Caviar Black 32MB 640GB : Sapphire HD5870 Vapor-X
HTPC:
Antec Fusion Remote Black : ASUS M4A785TD-M EVO : Athlon II X2 240e : Crucial BallistiX 1600 2GB x2
Corsair 400W : Sapphire Radeon HD6850 : Lite-On iHBS112 BD-Burner : WD Caviar Green 500 GB
 12/20/2008 05:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Shugs
Junior Member

Posts: 15
Joined: 12/18/2008

Now I decided to wait till January for the Phenom II's. The US prices seem interesting enough to wait, I just hope that it is a global release and that europe will be supplied as well at a fair price. If i remember correctly the first PhenomIIs are going to be AM2+ cpus, so there are no extra expenses on the MB.

Concerning the MB I'm leaning towards the Asus M3A79-T Deluxe. I can't seem to find any reviews for the DFI board (LANPARTY DK 790FXB-M2RSH), except for the testimonial from dimwit13. But as you said Liqourice, there are always bad samples...Its just a risk I'm gonna have to take, although I generally like to ensure myself and take educated risks

In the end I wanna last atleast 3 years with this new build.

Anyways thanks for the input ppl.
 12/20/2008 05:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Shugs
Junior Member

Posts: 15
Joined: 12/18/2008

Originally posted by: Hardwood

Originally posted by: Shugs



Well its a 10 euro difference (~14 US$), so then i'll get the 125W for sure. The MB has 790GX / SB750 and according to the website its AM3 ready ( http://www.gigabyte.com.tw/Pro...ew.aspx?ProductID=2887 )







In the OCing championships They mention using a 790GX mobo. I thought they said Gigabyte but I could be wrong. :/

I just saw a vid with them using the ASUS 790Gx chipset and an AM3 940 for OCing. That's something to consider.



I found in multiple reviews that the 790GX had quite some OCing capabilities to offer (Although in those it was tested w/the AM2+'s). But i dunno, I don't really like the idea of an onboard GPU...it has me doubting whether it will eventually perform better. I'm not exactly sure, but I think the GPU is substituted for something else on the FX board? or correct me if I'm wrong, but I suppose that instead of an onboard GPU the 790FX must offer something else to compensate?

Anyways, I think I'll just take my chances with the FX given that I'm going to get a 4870, I won't have any benefits from the onboard GPU.
 12/20/2008 11:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Liqourice
Case Modder

Posts: 1616
Joined: 08/31/2008

The overclocking benefits has more to do with the southbridge SB750 than the northbridge so the difference between 790FX and 790GX isn't that huge, if any at all, as long as both have SB750 paired with it.

You'll do fine with a 790FX/SB750 motherboard. Though, the 790GX ones are a bit cheaper and if you never plan to connect more than one graphicscard to it it will work just as well, the built-in gfx can always be turned off. That's the main downside with the GX boards, you can only use one discrete gfx card in 16x mode, if you add a second card both slots will only work in 8x. With an FX motherboard you can run two cards in 16x..

So, if you won't ever connect more than one card a GX motherboard is a very good choise. Asrock has one that's great.

-------------------------
Main Rig:
Cooler Master HAF 932 Full Tower : Corsair 750HX Modular PSU : Asus Crosshair III Formula : Phenom II X4 965 125W
Corsair H-50 CPU Cooler : Corsair Dominator GT DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20-1T 2x2GB : WD Caviar Black 32MB 640GB : Sapphire HD5870 Vapor-X
HTPC:
Antec Fusion Remote Black : ASUS M4A785TD-M EVO : Athlon II X2 240e : Crucial BallistiX 1600 2GB x2
Corsair 400W : Sapphire Radeon HD6850 : Lite-On iHBS112 BD-Burner : WD Caviar Green 500 GB
 12/20/2008 11:02 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hardwood
Case Modder

Posts: 1008
Joined: 02/16/2008

I agree, the only benefit I can think of for the onboard GPU is when you eventually upgrade, those mobos can be used without adding more hardware.
And you're correct again, like the 790X, the pcie slots would be 1 at 16x and 1 at 8x.
It does make me wonder why they chose the GX over the FX for the competition.

-------------------------
Spider: Phenom II 955, Antec Kuhler 920, GA-MA790FX-DS5 (F8g), ASUS 5870/V2, ASUS Xonar D2X pcie,
OCZ2N1066SR2GK (4x1gig @800), Antec Truepower New 750, Fractal Design's Arc Midi Case.
#2: A64 X2 4200+, ASUS A8V-D, SAPPHIRE AGP 1950PRO
 12/21/2008 05:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Shugs
Junior Member

Posts: 15
Joined: 12/18/2008

@Liqourice: I think I will definitely stick to the FX board then, because when I generally upgrade I get a complete rig instead of just parts. That's why I intend to build a system that will last me 3 years. I don't want to exclude getting a second HD4870 eventually when they are extremely cheap, but this would only apply if the single HD4870 can't handle the latest games.

Thanks for the info tho, I didn't know it was based more on the southbridge than the northbridge. Then I'll probably get the Asus since it also allows for 16GB RAM instead 8GB what most of the less expensive boards can manage. Given that DDR2 now is already unbelievably cheap, so this could be an additional option, although with gaming I highly doubt i'll ever need more then 4GB.

Thanks for the input.
 12/21/2008 05:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Shugs
Junior Member

Posts: 15
Joined: 12/18/2008

Originally posted by: Hardwood

It does make me wonder why they chose the GX over the FX for the competition.


Yeah, those were my thoughts exactly, I was somewhat confused to why they chose a GX board instead of FX. Oh well, I'm set on the FX now.
 12/21/2008 11:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Sargeist
Junior Member

Posts: 13
Joined: 12/21/2008

I have the Asus M3A79-T Deluxe MB with a Phenom 9950 OC to 3.0 and I haven't had a single problem to speak of, except that I can't seem to get my RAM to run at it's full 1066. Whenever I set it to run at that speed my computer won't boot properly and I have to set it lower. But I'm really not too concerned with that. I plan on getting the new Phenom II @ the default 3.0 GHz. I was initially going to buy a new motherboard and go with the Intel Corei7 940, but when I heard that the Phenom II's were supposed to be great, I decided against it.
I would probably stick with an FX motherboard like the M3A79-T Deluxe for better graphics scalability with dual GPUs. I have a 4870 X2 and I am running every game perfectly. I've reached 300 FPS+ in Call of Duty 4, but gotta make sure you have Vsync disabled.

-------------------------
Motherboard: Asus M3A79-T Deluxe
CPU: Phenom II 940 @ 3.4
Memory: Corsair Dominator 6GBs PC-8500
PSU: PC Power & Cooling Turbo Cool 860W
GPU: Sapphire Radeon HD 4870X2
OS: Windows Vista Ultimate x64
Monitor: 22" Acer F-22
 12/23/2008 03:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Liqourice
Case Modder

Posts: 1616
Joined: 08/31/2008

Originally posted by: Sargeist

I have the Asus M3A79-T Deluxe MB with a Phenom 9950 OC to 3.0 and I haven't had a single problem to speak of, except that I can't seem to get my RAM to run at it's full 1066. Whenever I set it to run at that speed my computer won't boot properly and I have to set it lower. But I'm really not too concerned with that. I plan on getting the new Phenom II @ the default 3.0 GHz. I was initially going to buy a new motherboard and go with the Intel Corei7 940, but when I heard that the Phenom II's were supposed to be great, I decided against it.

I would probably stick with an FX motherboard like the M3A79-T Deluxe for better graphics scalability with dual GPUs. I have a 4870 X2 and I am running every game perfectly. I've reached 300 FPS+ in Call of Duty 4, but gotta make sure you have Vsync disabled.


You have 6 Gb of memory? How is that placed? 2x2GB + 2x1GB? Or is it 3x2GB?

That's your answer then. If you only use 2 sticks in the yellow slots you'll be able to run them in 1066. If you use all 4 slots, or 3 slots, you can't run them higher than 800. That's one of the downsides with the 790FX chipset.

-------------------------
Main Rig:
Cooler Master HAF 932 Full Tower : Corsair 750HX Modular PSU : Asus Crosshair III Formula : Phenom II X4 965 125W
Corsair H-50 CPU Cooler : Corsair Dominator GT DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20-1T 2x2GB : WD Caviar Black 32MB 640GB : Sapphire HD5870 Vapor-X
HTPC:
Antec Fusion Remote Black : ASUS M4A785TD-M EVO : Athlon II X2 240e : Crucial BallistiX 1600 2GB x2
Corsair 400W : Sapphire Radeon HD6850 : Lite-On iHBS112 BD-Burner : WD Caviar Green 500 GB
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information