AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Current set up and future overclocking
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/05/2009 09:31 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/05/2009 09:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Zodgrod009
Overclocker

Posts: 679
Joined: 01/01/2009

Hey all at the AMD forum.

So recently I did a major upgrade from a 5000 BE processor and a 780g chip set to a 9950 BE and a 790 FX chipset.
And I did it all with out having to reinstall windows. I just uninstalled all my harware drivers before swapping and backed up my data.
I had some wonky issues with windows but after installing all hardware it began working properly.

I ran 3d mark 06 in xp and got a score of 11215 at 1680x1050

in vista 3d mark 06 11170 and with fusion activated I got 11701

and with Vantage I got P7067 and with Fusion activated the score was P7107

I still need to find a version of overdrive that will work I had a message with it saying it does not detect my cpu.

But before I do an serious over clocking I am going to get a thermaltake big typhoon.

-------------------------
AMD 940 PH2 BE @ 3.7 Ghz ArcticFreezer 64 pro
Asus M3A79-T Deluxe
Patriot 4GB pc8500 DDR2 1066@5-5-5-15
Antec Quattro 850 Watt PSU
Asus 5770 1GB DDR5 850/1200
Sound blaster Audigy. w/2.1 surround Logitech speakers
Antec 900 case w/4 120mm fans 1 200mm fan
 01/05/2009 11:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Liqourice
Case Modder

Posts: 1616
Joined: 08/31/2008

If AOD doesn't detect your CPU I still would bet on a driver problem. Chipset drivers might not be installed properly for example.

-------------------------
Main Rig:
Cooler Master HAF 932 Full Tower : Corsair 750HX Modular PSU : Asus Crosshair III Formula : Phenom II X4 965 125W
Corsair H-50 CPU Cooler : Corsair Dominator GT DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20-1T 2x2GB : WD Caviar Black 32MB 640GB : Sapphire HD5870 Vapor-X
HTPC:
Antec Fusion Remote Black : ASUS M4A785TD-M EVO : Athlon II X2 240e : Crucial BallistiX 1600 2GB x2
Corsair 400W : Sapphire Radeon HD6850 : Lite-On iHBS112 BD-Burner : WD Caviar Green 500 GB
 01/05/2009 12:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Zodgrod009
Overclocker

Posts: 679
Joined: 01/01/2009

Maybe but it shows everything installed properly, maybe I need to install updated drivers for it to work. I recently read something similar in the AMD game forum on over drive not detecting the CPU and it suggested downgrading or restarting and trying again. I didn't try the restart yet either.

-------------------------
AMD 940 PH2 BE @ 3.7 Ghz ArcticFreezer 64 pro
Asus M3A79-T Deluxe
Patriot 4GB pc8500 DDR2 1066@5-5-5-15
Antec Quattro 850 Watt PSU
Asus 5770 1GB DDR5 850/1200
Sound blaster Audigy. w/2.1 surround Logitech speakers
Antec 900 case w/4 120mm fans 1 200mm fan
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information