AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Help Phenom II X4 940 BE + GA-MA790GP-DS4H
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/18/2009 02:24 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/18/2009 02:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
yoshiro2008
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 01/18/2009

I have bought my Processor Phenom II X4 940 IT BE, and it would want to know if board GA-MA790GP-DS4H is compatible since in the AMD page recommended that board to use with the processor but the personnel of technical support of Gigabyte still says that this to me in phase of test and wanted to know with board can be compatible since the majority of the pages Web says that just by to update the bios of the board it can support the processor, that is to say that it says to truth since AMD recommended that board and in the gigabyte page also it says that just by to update can work the processor but in other forums they have written that is problem with that board and the new processor hopefully answers all my doubts thanks of advance, they excuse my writing in English I am using a translator
 01/18/2009 04:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Liqourice
Case Modder

Posts: 1616
Joined: 08/31/2008

http://www.gigabyte.com.tw/Sup...el.aspx?ProductID=2887

It's not even listed so that's what you have to go by. If Gigabyte says it's not tested and they can't guarantee it won't work then that's the way it is. Trust them.

Don't trust anyone else on this, I'm speaking from experience.

You have to wait until you get a green light from Gigabyte.

-------------------------
Main Rig:
Cooler Master HAF 932 Full Tower : Corsair 750HX Modular PSU : Asus Crosshair III Formula : Phenom II X4 965 125W
Corsair H-50 CPU Cooler : Corsair Dominator GT DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20-1T 2x2GB : WD Caviar Black 32MB 640GB : Sapphire HD5870 Vapor-X
HTPC:
Antec Fusion Remote Black : ASUS M4A785TD-M EVO : Athlon II X2 240e : Crucial BallistiX 1600 2GB x2
Corsair 400W : Sapphire Radeon HD6850 : Lite-On iHBS112 BD-Burner : WD Caviar Green 500 GB
 01/18/2009 04:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

none tested so no bios support.

It will end badly if you try it now.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 01/19/2009 10:35 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hardwood
Case Modder

Posts: 1008
Joined: 02/16/2008

Actually the web page says it's supports AM3 cpus with just a BIOS update. The 940 is NOT an AM3 cpu. Think of it as simply another high power AM2+.

With that said, my mobo is in the same position as yours (waiting for confirmation) however, a fellow on another forum put the 940 in this mobo and once he did the usual remove cpu driver, install new cpu, clear CMOS and load optimized defaults it's working normally. I'd say try it. If you don't have that mobo yet, then look for something else.

As the guys above say, don't be sad if it doesn't work.

-------------------------
Spider: Phenom II 955, Antec Kuhler 920, GA-MA790FX-DS5 (F8g), ASUS 5870/V2, ASUS Xonar D2X pcie,
OCZ2N1066SR2GK (4x1gig @800), Antec Truepower New 750, Fractal Design's Arc Midi Case.
#2: A64 X2 4200+, ASUS A8V-D, SAPPHIRE AGP 1950PRO
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information