AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Overclocking a AMD 940 Phenom II
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/19/2009 12:39 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/19/2009 12:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bigun08
Driod

Posts: 153
Joined: 12/14/2008

I just ordered my 940 and was wondering are the settings the same in the bios for overclocking or are there necessary differences.. i saw a post about the NB only going to 1.8 ghz vs the 2.4 i am running now.. thanks all

-------------------------
MSI NF980-G65
AMD Phenom II 1090T BE @ 4.1
4GB Gskill 1600
EVGA 570s Sli'd
160GB intel SSD boot drive
750 GB WD caviar black
300 GB WD raptor
Corsair HX1000
Cooler master Haf 932

Lappy- Alienware R2 I7
4GB ram
Samsung 256 SSD
 01/19/2009 12:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

same as the 9850 be and 9950 be yes.

OC via multi and NOT FSB.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 01/19/2009 08:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
denhammkc
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 06/19/2006

I am running stable at 3.8 GHZ, multiplyer at 19, cpu voltage at 1.488, HT set to 2000. My MOBO defaulted to 1800 HT. With water cooling at idle temp 33c with room temp 72 to 75 F. Under load (4x CPU burn in for 60 min) 42c.

-------------------------
Phenom II X4 940
ASUS M3A32-MVP Deluxe (790FX NB)
2GB Corsair Dominator 1066
2 Visiontech (ATI) 4850's in crossfireX
3 HDDs = 2.5 TB & 2 Samsung 20X LS DVD burners
CPU and Vid cards WATER COOLED (Koolance)
Antec 850 WT PS Coolermaster Stacker case
22 in Samsung monitor
 01/20/2009 04:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bigun08
Driod

Posts: 153
Joined: 12/14/2008

Ok i am needing some of your collective wisdoms here.. I just ran a bench and got nearly the same score as the 9850 i had before.. 13500 to the now whopping 13880.. something is holding me back and i want it gone.. the only this i can think of is the memory..

-------------------------
MSI NF980-G65
AMD Phenom II 1090T BE @ 4.1
4GB Gskill 1600
EVGA 570s Sli'd
160GB intel SSD boot drive
750 GB WD caviar black
300 GB WD raptor
Corsair HX1000
Cooler master Haf 932

Lappy- Alienware R2 I7
4GB ram
Samsung 256 SSD
 01/20/2009 06:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

this with 3Dmark06?

Your not going to gain some massive score here guy. Your CPU score will go up and your going to gain 400 to 800 points TOPS.

as for volts

your ALWAYS start stock, test for stability. If you see a BSOD over and over and its a CPU code x0000010 i think it is then bump volts and do it slow.

3 Ghz to 3.4 Ghz stock volts to 1.32 volts

3.4 Ghz around 1.35 volts to 1.4 volts

3.6 GHz around 1.4 volts to 1.45 volts

3.8 Ghz to 4 Ghz 1.45 volts to 1.5 volts

4 Ghz + 1.55 volts

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)

Edited: 01/20/2009 at 06:38 PM by PC-GURU -
 01/20/2009 07:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ganjamaster
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 01/18/2009

ummm

-------------------------
Phenom 940 BE (oc'd 3.72)
Zalman 9700
8 gigs transcend jetram (800Mhz)
Asus M-3NHT deluxe mempipe
EVGA 8800 gts 512 sli (G92)
Antec 1000 Watt PS
NZXT apollo case (modded extra fans)
1920*1200 acer 2ms response
 01/20/2009 09:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bigun08
Driod

Posts: 153
Joined: 12/14/2008

i have a guy on the sli zone that is running the same chip a 780 motherboard vs my 750.. and he has 2 x 260s in sli and 1066 memory and is scoring 20K and i think i should have jumped much higher that i did.. and i really think there is a setting in the motherboard that needs to let this chip fly.. i'll keep at it

-------------------------
MSI NF980-G65
AMD Phenom II 1090T BE @ 4.1
4GB Gskill 1600
EVGA 570s Sli'd
160GB intel SSD boot drive
750 GB WD caviar black
300 GB WD raptor
Corsair HX1000
Cooler master Haf 932

Lappy- Alienware R2 I7
4GB ram
Samsung 256 SSD
 02/07/2009 03:58 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JieMan
Newbie

Posts: 31
Joined: 02/07/2009

Hey Bigun08 , nice to see a familiar face ..I was lookin on google and well here I am .. . I'm lookin at some O.C. with my PII and you must have seen these by now but for you others .. http://forums.slizone.com/inde...d=272201&#entry272201
I think this new chip Rocks as my previous high score with a 6000+ was 12572 3dmark 06 with 8800gt Sli
 02/07/2009 04:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

Take a look at our 3dmark thread and compare your scores to what we are getting with our phenom II's. We have been documenting the he'll out of the phenom II performance.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)

Edited: 02/07/2009 at 05:13 AM by PC-GURU -
 02/07/2009 05:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

Originally posted by: Bigun08

I just ordered my 940 and was wondering are the settings the same in the bios for overclocking or are there necessary differences.. i saw a post about the NB only going to 1.8 ghz vs the 2.4 i am running now.. thanks all


Northbridge defaults are based on the board. 1600 or 1800 Mhz. for phenom II and yet it offers more memory bandwidth then phenom I @ 2.4 Ghz.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 02/07/2009 04:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AlabamaCajun
Member

Posts: 25
Joined: 11/23/2007

OK, here is the Deal.

We have found on both XS and OC forums that the NB can do more than 1800Mhz. The default voltage is around 1.25. With higher CPU VCore and VDIMM (RAM) the NB and DRAM controller are being left behind.
If you experience instability on a non-Overclocked system then raising the NB voltage one notch as defined by your BIOS increments, may be all you need.
Overclocking then you want more NB and Stability the rasing the NB voltage to 1.275 or as much as 1.35 required.
Once you boost the NB voltage, you may find that you can lower the VCore for the CPU as I have been running 3.3G at 1.375 where I was using 1.4 before. NB Freq at 2000M.
 02/07/2009 04:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

AlabamaCajun yes northbridge can be overclocked, but its a sure fire way to kill the CPU in a years time.

Overclocking the memory controller can be bad.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 02/12/2009 10:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Silentscooter
Newbie

Posts: 45
Joined: 01/17/2008

Originally posted by: Bigun08

i have a guy on the sli zone that is running the same chip a 780 motherboard vs my 750.. and he has 2 x 260s in sli and 1066 memory and is scoring 20K and i think i should have jumped much higher that i did.. and i really think there is a setting in the motherboard that needs to let this chip fly.. i'll keep at it


Hey Bigun
I'm the guy you saw in the SLI forums with 20,000K score. However, that was for Vantage not 3DMark 06.

My 3DMark06 score with the CPU at 3.5 was 17,500

Just thought I would set the record straight

Cheers

-------------------------
M3N HT Deluxe
Phenom X4 940, watercooled
4GIG OCZ 1066, SLI ready
BFG GTX 260 (216) in SLI
Antec 850 Watt
Case Coolermaster HAF
Gaming @ 1680x1050
 02/12/2009 11:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Orn
Titanic Jelly Hammer

Posts: 3481
Joined: 01/04/2008

Cool!
 02/13/2009 01:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

And I score just shy of 18k .

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 02/13/2009 02:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kazgirl
Elite

Posts: 2480
Joined: 06/25/2007

3Dmark Benchmark Thread
Originally posted by: Bigun08

Ok i am needing some of your collective wisdoms here.. I just ran a bench and got nearly the same score as the 9850 i had before.. 13500 to the now whopping 13880.. something is holding me back and i want it gone.. the only this i can think of is the memory..


You need to remember that 3Dmark06 is primarily a gaming benchmark, which is focused mainly on graphics performance.... the 200Mhz gain on your CPU clocks from a P-I 9850 to a P-II @ stock 3.0Ghz, will not gain you much in 3DM06 by itself..!!

The main differences between the P-I 9850 and the P-II 940 is its potential for overclocking, and the added cache.

You should be able to get a much higher clock speed from your P-II than you will have gotten from your P-I 9850, and if you then look solely at the CPU score in 3DM06 and compare it to your previous 9850 CPU score, then you should see a noticeable difference...!!!

When I look at my current CPU 9950BE @ 3.3Ghz for example in the ORB and compare it to Phenom II 940BE @ 3.8Ghz with same 4850 in Crossfire...

My CPU score is 4491 and the 940BE gets 5609, thats a 1100+ point difference in CPU score alone... of course the added CPU clocks will also mean that the Gfx Cards work a bit faster so it increases the graphics scores a little as well... which when combined it has quite an impact on the overall 3DMark score...

My Overall 3Dmark score for example withthe 9950Be @ 3.3Ghz is 17170

The Phenom II 940BE @ 3.8Ghz is 20372

Of course in these 2 examples we both have 2 x 4850's in Crossfire and this is the reason the scores are as high as they are in comparison to your single card score..!!

Try browisng in the ORB for similar configurations to yours and comparing the scores that way...

A quick look shows the follwoing scores for stock P-II 940BE and Single GTX280 at stock settings:

P-II 940BE @ stock 3.0Ghz
=================
Overall Score 14860 CPU Score 4002
Overall Score 14939 CPU Score 3985

P-II 940BE @ 3.8Ghz
===============
Overall Score 17753 CPU Score 4879


Phenom 9850BE @ 2.8Ghz
=================

Overall Score 14851 CPU Score 3723

Phenom 9950BE @ 3.0Ghz
=================
Overall Score 14355 CPU Score 3873


As you can see from the above looking at the CPU Score differences between the 9850BE at 2.8Ghz and the 940BE @ 3.8Ghz there's a 1000+ point difference...!! which more or less tallies with the difference I see between my 9950BE @ 3.3Ghz and a 940BE @ 3.8Ghz

So you can see there is definitely a gain to be had from a Phenom II 940BE but it means having to use the full potential of the CPU and its biggest benefit is its ability to Overclock to a much higher clock than previous Phenoms..!!

Hope this helps you out... and encourages you to try overclocking your new PII 940BE...!!

For more comparison scores you may want to check out the benchmarks section of the forum here as well...!!!

-------------------------

3DMark06 = 20717 / 3DMark Vantage = P13618 / My Overclock Guide / My Troubleshooting Guide
 02/16/2009 06:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bigun08
Driod

Posts: 153
Joined: 12/14/2008

Yea sorry folks i have been busy.. I didn't realize that the score was strongly based on GPUs.. so now i am running my Phenom II 940 @ 3.7 with a pair of 260 core 216s and my score is over 21K .. so i am very content with that .. but as for the overclocking i have upped the multiplier and voltage on the cpu and the ram.. Memory requires 2.2v mother board defaults to 1.8 and the memory is seen as 800 not 1066.. but other than that i am unganged and a little high on CPU voltage but my system is very stable and cool where it is right now and i am pretty happy.. i am running the Voltage at 1.52 and no BSODs lower than that and i get one every once and a while.. but all seems good where i am right now... every thing else is on auto..

PC-Guru thanks for all the help and wisdom.. I appreciate your balanced understanding.. (although i am not too sure you will be happy with my voltage)
to my SLI-zone buddies whats up.. glad to see some familiar tags as well..

-------------------------
MSI NF980-G65
AMD Phenom II 1090T BE @ 4.1
4GB Gskill 1600
EVGA 570s Sli'd
160GB intel SSD boot drive
750 GB WD caviar black
300 GB WD raptor
Corsair HX1000
Cooler master Haf 932

Lappy- Alienware R2 I7
4GB ram
Samsung 256 SSD
 08/04/2009 03:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Pelu
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 02/02/2009

Dunno what you people think... but I heard that overvoltage something above their design, no matter stability, temperature or settings will slowly screw up the hardware due to electromigration... Wondering if that is just a myth or true...

by the way i got a new bios version for the m3a78-t and now i got trouble overclocking...
 08/04/2009 10:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
pcnazz
Sub Zero

Posts: 2246
Joined: 05/17/2008

I run my Phenom II X4 940 Black Edition 24/7 Prime 95 24hr and game stable at these #s Phenom II X4 940 CPU 24/7 Prime 95 24hr & game stable Very fine processors . One thing I have found with this processor is that if you can keep it cool it loves voltage . I don't know first hand but from reading our friends 955 tests the 955 does not like a lot of voltage . The 955 is also a great processor I just have not had the chance on testing with one myself . With the 965 on its way I guess I will not get a chance to test with the 955 . For a DDR2 platform I highly recommend the Phenom II X4 940 Black Edition .

-------------------------
    Room Temp H20 | 2 Stage Cascade | PH II X6 1090T BE | PH II X2 555 / Asus CH4 v905 | i7 970 / Asus R2E v1914 | Corsair HX1000 1210W | Asus 5970 QF | Corsair Dominator GT 2000 | WD VR 3+0 Raid ( 450gb )


Edited: 08/05/2009 at 02:30 AM by pcnazz
 10/31/2009 04:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
madmels
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 10/31/2009

I have very little to no knowledge of OCing but I purchased these parts below and would like to OC it:

ASUS M4A785TD-V EVO AM3 AMD 785G HDMI ATX AMD Mobo
Phenom 955 BE
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (4 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600
Geforce 260GTX
(left out the rest because I felt it had no relevence to OCing)

my question is this:
the options in the bios (ASUS M4A785TD-V EVO AM3 AMD 785G HDMI ATX AMD) are plenty and overwhelming and I don't want to make a change that will make me regret it.

I have the new bios for the board and there's sections like:
CPU configuration where I can unlock the cores and enable the UNLEASHED MODE
then there's the other section where the voltages and multipliers are in which is the main section to tweak your system for OC.

I want to OC the CPU to 3.8 GZ and OC the memory (to 1800) if possible*
Is it possible that you can send me a step by step guide on which sections I change to manual and the values I place in them as well as the things I leave alone so I don't screw anyting up? any help with this would be much appreciated and thanks

if anyone is willing to help please send guide/steps to the following email:
ISLANDER59@HOTMAIL.COM
***Bios version is:M4A785TD-V EVO BIOS 0501***

v/r
Mel Kosaka

Edited: 10/31/2009 at 04:49 AM by madmels
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information