AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Installing AMD Phenom 2
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/12/2009 06:56 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/12/2009 06:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
vladiator
Junior Member

Posts: 18
Joined: 02/12/2009

Hi

I am about to build my first PC using AMD Phenom 2 940 Black Edition. Since I have never done it before, I am paranoid that something will go wrong.

When I opened the box, there was an instuction manual that showed in pictures how the CPU needs to be installed. It didn't show any application of thermal paste. Then, there is some text saying that every processor requires thermal paste, but the Phenom 2 CPU's fan already has some pre-applied.

Does it mean that I do not need to apply any extra thermal paste on CPU if I am simply using for the first time the CPU and the fan that came in the box?

Sorry, I am sure it is a silly question, but I need to be sure.
 02/12/2009 07:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

hello vladiator

Yes the stock HSF comes with a cheaper less effective cooling paste pre installed.

As long as you plan to run all stock settings it will suffice just fine.

AS for putting the PC together. My advice would be to take it slow and easy and do the job RIGHT the first time.

If you have questions do not hesitate to ASK.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 02/12/2009 07:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
vladiator
Junior Member

Posts: 18
Joined: 02/12/2009

Thanks a lot PC-GURU. This is a good thing that I don't need to put any extra paste, since I read all those horror stories about what too much/little can do to the CPU.

By "running it on stock settings", do you mean not overclocking it? I am not planning to do that, since I hope that the out-of-the-box CPU will give me enough speed to notice the difference with my current Pentium 4 PC.
 02/12/2009 07:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dimwit13
Code Warrior

Posts: 2667
Joined: 04/04/2008

lol-the 940 will mop the floor with the pentium 4-and wax it too-lol
it should be night and day!
what is the rest of your build?

Guru you need a hobby-lol
you change your settings more than the Featured stripper does clothes-LMAO


-dimwit-

-------------------------
I don't suffer from insanity. I enjoy every minute of it.
 02/12/2009 08:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
vladiator
Junior Member

Posts: 18
Joined: 02/12/2009

Lol, dimwit

When I first decided to improve my current PC, I was planning to do it cheaply, and not exceed an amount of approximately $600 (I live in New Zealand, which is about NZ$1,000). So, I purchased:

- Phenom 2 940

- Asus M3A78-EM Motherboard, Socket AM2+ -- which I am hoping is compatible with Phenom 2.

- Samsung HD501LJ Hard Disk Drive, 500GB, 7200rpm, 16384KB Cache, SATA-2

- Corsair XMS2 DHX, 2x2GB, DDR2-800 - cheap, but I can always improve it later

- Cooler Master eXtreme Power, 650W ATX PSU

- my old Acer m-ATX case

- my old graphics card Palit 512 Ge9500 - it worked ok on my old PC, and I'll keep it until ready to improve.

Which comes to about NZ$1200.
 02/12/2009 08:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dimwit13
Code Warrior

Posts: 2667
Joined: 04/04/2008

just busting his chops-lol

check asus's website for compatability

what OS are you going to run?


-dimwit-

-------------------------
I don't suffer from insanity. I enjoy every minute of it.
 02/12/2009 08:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
vladiator
Junior Member

Posts: 18
Joined: 02/12/2009

Hoping to be able to use the Windows XP disks I got when purchasing Acer. Is OS important?
 02/12/2009 08:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

Originally posted by: dimwit13

lol-the 940 will mop the floor with the pentium 4-and wax it too-lol

it should be night and day!

what is the rest of your build?



Guru you need a hobby-lol

you change your settings more than the Featured stripper does clothes-LMAO





-dimwit-


fracking trying to keep up with Kaz lol. Shes just to god dam good.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 02/12/2009 08:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
vladiator
Junior Member

Posts: 18
Joined: 02/12/2009

Just found this on Asus website. http://support.asus.com/cpusup....aspx?SLanguage=en-us

As I understand it, they should be compatible without any updates as long as my version number is higher than 1206. I'll check what version my MB is later.
 02/12/2009 08:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
vladiator
Junior Member

Posts: 18
Joined: 02/12/2009

Sorry, one more question.

If I have two HDDs in my new PC - the new 500gb and old 60gb -- will I need to reinstall Windows XP if the old HDD already should have it installed?
 02/12/2009 08:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

this is your CPU support list with needed bios version info.

M3A78-EM
The following table shows the support for CPU / Motherboard
CPU

Since PCB

Since BIOS

Note
Athlon 64 3200+ (DE),512K,rev.G,45W,SocketAM2 ALL
0407

Athlon 64 3500+ (DE),512K,rev.G,45W,SocketAM2 ALL
0407

Athlon 64 3800+ (CW),512K,rev.F2,62W,SocketAM2 ALL
0407

Athlon 64 3800+ (DE),512K,rev.G,45W,SocketAM2 ALL
0407

Athlon 64 3800+ (DH),512K,rev.F3,62W,SocketAM2 ALL
0407

Athlon 64 4000+ (CW),512K,rev.F2,59W,SocketAM2 ALL
0407

Athlon 64 4000+ (DH),512K,rev.F3,62W,SocketAM2 ALL
0407

Athlon 64 LE-1600+ (DH),1M,rev.F3,45W,SocketAM2 ALL
0407

Athlon 64 LE-1620+ (DH),1M,rev.F3,45W,SocketAM2 ALL
0407

Athlon 64 LE-1640+ (DH),1M,rev.F3,45W,SocketAM2 ALL
0407

Athlon 64 LE-1640+ (DP),512K,rev.G2,45W,SocketAM2 ALL
0407

Athlon 64 LE-1660+ (DP),512K,rev.G2,45W,SocketAM2 ALL
0407

Athlon 64 X2 3600+ (DD),1MB,65W,rev.G,SocketAM2 ALL
0407

Athlon 64 X2 4000+ (DD),1MB,rev.G,65W,SocketAM2 ALL
0407

Athlon 64 X2 4200+ (DD),512Kx2,rev.G1,65W,SocketAM2 ALL
0407

Athlon 64 X2 4200+ (DO),512Kx2,rev.G2,65W,SocketAM2 ALL
0407

Athlon 64 X2 4400+ (DD),1MB,rev.G,65W,SocketAM2 ALL
0407

Athlon 64 X2 4400+ (DO),1MB,rev.G2,65W,SocketAM2 ALL
0407

Athlon 64 X2 4400+ (DU),1MB,rev.G2,65W,SocketAM2,ADO4400IAA5DU ALL
0701

Athlon 64 X2 4600+ (DO),1M,rev.G2,65W,SocketAM2 ALL
0407

Athlon 64 X2 4800+ (DD),1MB,rev.G,65W,SocketAM2 ALL
0407

Athlon 64 X2 4800+ (DO),1MB,rev.G2,65W,SocketAM2 ALL
0407

Athlon 64 X2 5000+ (CS),1MB,rev.F2,89W,SocketAM2 ALL
0407

Athlon 64 X2 5000+ (CZ),1MB,rev.F3,65W,SocketAM2 ALL
0407

Athlon 64 X2 5000+ (CZ),1MB,rev.F3,89W,SocketAM2 ALL
0407

Athlon 64 X2 5000+ (DD),1MB,rev.G,65W,SocketAM2 ALL
0407

Athlon 64 X2 5000+ (DO),1MB,rev.G2,65W,SocketAM2 ALL
0407

Athlon 64 X2 5200+ (CZ),2MB,rev.F3,65W,SocketAM2 ALL
0407

Athlon 64 X2 5200+ (CZ),2MB,rev.F3,89W,SocketAM2 ALL
0407

Athlon 64 X2 5200+ (DD),1MB,rev.G,65W,SocketAM2 ALL
0407

Athlon 64 X2 5200+ (DO),1MB,rev.G2,65W,SocketAM2 ALL
0407

Athlon 64 X2 5400+ (CZ),1M,rev.F3,89W,SocketAM2 ALL
0407

Athlon 64 X2 5400+ (DO),1M,rev.G2,65W,SocketAM2 ALL
0407

Athlon 64 X2 5400+ (DS),1M,rev.G2,65W,SocketAM2 ALL
0407

Athlon 64 X2 5600+ (CZ),2MB,rev.F3,89W,SocketAM2 ALL
0407

Athlon 64 X2 5600+ (DO),1MB,rev.G2,65W,SocketAM2 ALL
0407

Athlon 64 X2 5600+ (DO),2MB,rev.G2,89W,SocketAM2 ALL
0407

Athlon 64 X2 5800+ (DO),2MB,rev.G2,SocketAM2 ALL
0407

Athlon 64 X2 6000+ (CZ),2MB,rev.F3,125W,SocketAM2 ALL
0407

Athlon 64 X2 6000+ (CZ),2MB,rev.F3,89W,SocketAM2 ALL
0407

Athlon 64 X2 6000+ (DO),1MB,rev.G2,89W,SocketAM2 ALL
0701

Athlon 64 X2 6400+ (CZ),2MB,rev.F3,125W,SocketAM2 ALL
0407

Athlon 64 X2 6500+ ,2.3GHz,1MB,rev.B3,AD6500WCJ2BGH,95W,SocketAM2 ALL
0701

Athlon X2 4050e (DO),1M,rev.G2,45W,SocketAM2 ALL
0407

Athlon X2 4450e (DO),1M,rev.G2,45W,SocketAM2 ALL
0407

Athlon X2 4850e (DO),1M,rev.G2,45W,SocketAM2 ALL
0407

Athlon X2 5000+ (DU),1MB,rev.G2,65W,SocketAM2 ALL
0701

Athlon X2 5050e (DO),1MB,rev.G2,45W,ADH5050IAA5DO,SocketAM2 ALL
0904

Athlon X2 7550+ ,2.5GHz,2MB,rev.B3,AD7550WCJ2BGH,95W,SocketAM2+ ALL
1206

Athlon X2 7750+ ,2.7GHz,2MB,rev.B3,AD775ZWCJ2BGH,95W,SocketAM2+ ALL
1206

Athlon X2 BE-2300 (DD),1M,45W,rev.G1,SocketAM2 ALL
0407

Athlon X2 BE-2300 (DO),1M,45W,rev.G2,SocketAM2 ALL
0407

Athlon X2 BE-2350 (DD),1M,45W,rev.G1,SocketAM2 ALL
0407

Athlon X2 BE-2350 (DO),1M,45W,rev.G2,SocketAM2 ALL
0407

Athlon X2 BE-2400 (DO),1M,45W,rev.G2,SocketAM2 ALL
0407

Phenom IIX3 710 (HDX710WFK3DGI),2.6GHz,95W,rev.C2,SocketAM3,Triple-Core ALL
1401

Phenom IIX3 720 (HDZ720WFK3DGI),2.8GHz,95W,rev.C2,SocketAM3,Triple-Core ALL
1401

Phenom IIX4 805 (HDX805WFK4FGI),2.5GHz,95W,rev.C2,SocketAM3,Quad-Core ALL
1401

Phenom IIX4 810 (HDX810WFK4FGI),2.6GHz,95W,rev.C2,SocketAM3,Quad-Core
1206

Phenom IIX4 910 (HDX910WFK4DGI),2.6GHz,95W,rev.C2,SocketAM3,Quad-Core
1401

Phenom IIX4 920 (HDX920XCJ4DGI),2.8GHz,125W,rev.C2,SocketAM2+,Quad-Core ALL
1206

Phenom IIX4 940 (HDZ940XCJ4DGI),3.0GHz,125W,rev.C2,SocketAM2+,Quad-Core ALL
1206

Phenom X3 8250e (HD8250ODJ3BGH),1.9GHz,rev.B3,65W,SocketAM2+,Triple-Core ALL
0407

Phenom X3 8400 (HD8400WCJ3BGD),2.1GHz,rev.B2,95W,SocketAM2+,Triple-Core ALL
0407

Phenom X3 8450 (HD8450WCJ3BGH),2.1GHz,rev.B3,95W,SocketAM2+,Triple-Core ALL
0407

Phenom X3 8450e (HD8450ODJ3BGH),2.1GHz,rev.B3,65W,SocketAM2+,Triple-Core ALL
0303

Phenom X3 8550 (HD8550WCJ3BGH),2.2GHz,rev.B3,95W,SocketAM2+,Triple-Core ALL
0407

Phenom X3 8600(HD8600WCJ3BGD),2.3GHz,95W,rev.B2,SocketAM2+,Triple-Core ALL
0407

Phenom X3 8650 (HD8650WCJ3BGH),2.3GHz,95W,rev.B3,SocketAM2+,Triple-Core ALL
0407

Phenom X3 8750 (HD8750WCJ3BGH),2.4GHz,rev.B3,95W,SocketAM2+,Triple-Core ALL
0407

Phenom X3 8750 (HD875ZWCJ3BGH),2.4GHz,rev.B3,95W,SocketAM2+,Triple-Core ALL
1103

Phenom X3 8850 (HD8850WCJ3BGH),2.4GHz,rev.B3,95W,SocketAM2+,Triple-Core ALL
0904

Phenom X4 9100e (HD910OBJ4BGD),1.8GHz,65W,rev.B2,SocketAM2+,Quad-Core ALL
0407

Phenom X4 9150 (HD9150ODJ4BGH),1.8GHz,65W,rev.B3,SocketAM2+,Quad-Core ALL
0701

Phenom X4 9350 (HD9350ODJ4BGH),2.0GHz,65W,rev.B3,SocketAM2+,Quad-Core ALL
0701

Phenom X4 9450 (HD9450ODJ4BGH),2.1GHz,65W,rev.B3,SocketAM2+,Quad-Core ALL
1003

Phenom X4 9500 (HD9500WCJ4BGD),2.2GHz,rev.B2,95W,SocketAM2+,Quad-Core ALL
0407

Phenom X4 9550 (HD9550WCJ4BGH),2.2GHz,rev.B3,95W,SocketAM2+,Quad-Core ALL
0407

Phenom X4 9600 (HD9600WCJ4BGD),2.3GHz,95W,rev.B2,SocketAM2+,Quad-Core ALL
0407

Phenom X4 9650 (HD9650WCJ4BGH),2.3GHz,95W,rev.B3,SocketAM2+,Quad-Core ALL
0407

Phenom X4 9750 (HD9750WCJ4BGH),2.4GHz,95W,rev.B3,SocketAM2+,Quad-Core ALL
0407

Phenom X4 9750 (HD9750XAJ4BGH),2.4GHz,125W,rev.B3,SocketAM2+,Quad-Core ALL
0407

Phenom X4 9850 (HD9850WCJ4BGH,rev.B3,SocketAM2+,Quad-Core ALL
1003

Phenom X4 9850 (HD985ZXAJ4BGH),2.5GHz,125W,rev.B3,SocketAM2+,Quad-Core ALL
0407

Phenom X4 9950 (HD995ZFAJ4BGH),2.6GHz,140W,rev.B3,SocketAM2+,Quad-Core ALL
0407

Phenom X4 9950 (HD995ZXAJ4BGH),2.6GHz,125W,rev.B3,SocketAM2+,Quad-Core ALL
0701

Sempron 2100+ (DD),512K,rev.G1,65W,SocketAM2 ALL
0407

Sempron 2100+ (DO),512K,rev.G2,65W,SocketAM2 ALL
0407

Sempron 2300+ (DO),512K,rev.G2,SocketAM2 ALL
0407

Sempron 3600+ (CN),256K,rev.F2,62W,SocketAM2 ALL
0407

Sempron LE-1100 (DE),256K,rev.G1,45W,SocketAM2 ALL
0407

Sempron LE-1150 (DE),256K,rev.G1,45W,SocketAM2 ALL
0407

Sempron LE-1200 (DE),512K,rev.G2,45W,SocketAM2 ALL
0407

Sempron LE-1200 (DP),512K,rev.G2,45W,SocketAM2 ALL
0802

Sempron LE-1250 (DP),512K,rev.G2,45W,SocketAM2 ALL
0407

Sempron LE-1300 (DP),512K,rev.G2,45W,SocketAM2 ALL
0407

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 02/12/2009 08:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
vladiator
Junior Member

Posts: 18
Joined: 02/12/2009

Congrats on 1000th post!
 02/12/2009 08:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dimwit13
Code Warrior

Posts: 2667
Joined: 04/04/2008

Originally posted by: PC-GURU -

Originally posted by: dimwit13

Guru you need a hobby-lol

you change your settings more than the Featured stripper does clothes-LMAO


-dimwit-



fracking trying to keep up with Kaz lol. Shes just to god dam good.


you guys are over my head now,i hope she gets the 940 so i can CHEAT off her too-lol

i figure ,i am at work all day (real work,remember that-lol) so i let you get it all sorted out then i cheat off you, and try a little higher (except my video cards,which i havent mentioned-lol).
But you change so much that by the time i change mine-you change yours agian-LMAO
so as of now i am at 3.2.1342gigs,ddr16 3902 ram and .003 htt all at 389.27volts and -20 degrees c-ROTFLMAO
so stop it allready


-dimwit-


-dimwit-

-------------------------
I don't suffer from insanity. I enjoy every minute of it.
 02/12/2009 08:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dimwit13
Code Warrior

Posts: 2667
Joined: 04/04/2008

Originally posted by: vladiator

Sorry, one more question.



If I have two HDDs in my new PC - the new 500gb and old 60gb -- will I need to reinstall Windows XP if the old HDD already should have it installed?



i have always done a new/clean OS install with a new system.

if you have the disc,i say install it on the new drive and copy over the stuff you want from the old drive.


-dimwit-

-------------------------
I don't suffer from insanity. I enjoy every minute of it.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information