AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Would you buy into AM2+ right NOW or wait for a better AM3 Proc?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 03/01/2009 05:31 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/01/2009 05:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
GEXY1
Junior Member

Posts: 16
Joined: 09/30/2005

It just so happens that I have the resources to buy anything at this time, BUT, I won't in 1 year. I would think that an AM3 Proc would be a better choice now because in 1 year AM2+ might not be supported as much, if at all. I went through this with socket 939. I got it almost the moment it came out and it was almost completely unsupported a year later. I want to avoid this situation again. Socket AM3 only has 2 X3's and 1 X4. The X4 isn't even a black edition! The next Proc to come out (That I can see) is the AM3 X4 910 which is still a 2.6 gig Proc but has all 6MB of L3 cache. The AM3 X4 810 that is out right now only has 4Mb of L3 cache.

Just so you know, the price of DDR3 Mem is not an issue either. All I really need to know is how much I'm going to be spending in 1 year from now on upgrade. 1 year from now, I would rather spend money on a new Proc and maybe more RAM than spending money on a new Motherboard, RAM, AND a new Proc!

Hopefully somone out there has better insight into the future than I do and can help me here. Please?

I've bought everything for my new rig already except for the MB, Proc, and RAM.

Here's what I have so far:
Cooler master HAF Full Tower
Cooler Master 700 watt SLI/Crossfire power supply
Saphire Radeon 4870 X2 2 gig
SB X-FI Extreme 7.1 PCI Express
ASUS 22x DVD+/-R Litescribe SATA 3.0
Seagate 500 GIG HD SATA 16 MB cache


Any help would be appreciated!
Alan A.K.A. GEXY1
 03/01/2009 12:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
BoyWonder1911
Junior Member

Posts: 19
Joined: 03/01/2009

I'm waiting for the AM3 3.0GHz.

I want to be able to use DDR3 1600mhz RAM.

Would be nice though if AMD can come out with somethign that will match the i7 3.2 soon. $1,000 on newegg....it can hardly be worth that much over the 2.93 or 2.66.....
 03/01/2009 12:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

Originally posted by: BoyWonder1911

I'm waiting for the AM3 3.0GHz.



I want to be able to use DDR3 1600mhz RAM.



Would be nice though if AMD can come out with somethign that will match the i7 3.2 soon. $1,000 on newegg....it can hardly be worth that much over the 2.93 or 2.66.....


If your thinking DDR 3 1600 will run with the AM3 chip your sadly mistaken. The only way you would get to 1600 would be to overclock the HTT reference clock past 255 and this is VERY hard on the motherboard and is a very long shot at best. I can do it, but I would NOT recommend it.

AM3 chips are limited to DDR 3 1333.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 03/01/2009 12:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

Originally posted by: GEXY1

It just so happens that I have the resources to buy anything at this time, BUT, I won't in 1 year. I would think that an AM3 Proc would be a better choice now because in 1 year AM2+ might not be supported as much, if at all. I went through this with socket 939. I got it almost the moment it came out and it was almost completely unsupported a year later. I want to avoid this situation again. Socket AM3 only has 2 X3's and 1 X4. The X4 isn't even a black edition! The next Proc to come out (That I can see) is the AM3 X4 910 which is still a 2.6 gig Proc but has all 6MB of L3 cache. The AM3 X4 810 that is out right now only has 4Mb of L3 cache.



Just so you know, the price of DDR3 Mem is not an issue either. All I really need to know is how much I'm going to be spending in 1 year from now on upgrade. 1 year from now, I would rather spend money on a new Proc and maybe more RAM than spending money on a new Motherboard, RAM, AND a new Proc!



Hopefully somone out there has better insight into the future than I do and can help me here. Please?



I've bought everything for my new rig already except for the MB, Proc, and RAM.



Here's what I have so far:

Cooler master HAF Full Tower

Cooler Master 700 watt SLI/Crossfire power supply

Saphire Radeon 4870 X2 2 gig

SB X-FI Extreme 7.1 PCI Express

ASUS 22x DVD+/-R Litescribe SATA 3.0

Seagate 500 GIG HD SATA 16 MB cache





Any help would be appreciated!

Alan A.K.A. GEXY1


Price / performance the best buy is to grab a phenom II 940 BE overclock it to 3.5 Ghz or better and pick up a nice 4 gig set of DDR 2 1066 5 5 5 15 timings.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 03/01/2009 04:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
GEXY1
Junior Member

Posts: 16
Joined: 09/30/2005

Hey PC GURU... I know all about the price/performance ratio. I know that my computer would be better right now with an AM2+ 940 BE Proc and DDR2 MEM. I'm not thinking about right now. I'm thinking about 1 year into the future. I know that an AM2+ 940 Proc would still be bad ***** in 1 year, but, will I be able to upgrade an AM2+ set up at that time? (And have it be cost effective!) Probably not! for now I'm just sitting and hopeing for a better AM3 Proc to come out. OH... I'll bet that AMD isn't the only one to blame for the delay either. AMD probably put the AM2+ and AM3 out so quickly that the Motherboard manufacturers are now playing catch-up which is just adding to our delay. Well I'll wait just a little longer then buy... something.


Alan A.K.A. GEXY1
 03/01/2009 04:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

I would disagree, AM2+ DDR 2 will still be going very strong and cheap a year from now.

upgrade ability for the DDR 2 AM2+ phenom II in a years time is a sure thing and I am willing to bet it will still be cheaper then a DDR 3 system.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 03/01/2009 06:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
adhie
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 03/01/2009

I Hope any review with AM3 Processor n AM3 motherboard. How far DDR3 platform can bring performance for AM3 base systems..

-------------------------
- Processor AMD X2 4800+ @ 3.3GHz
- Motherboard : ECS Black series A780GM A Ultra
- Chipset : AMD 780G
- Memory : Gskill 1GB x 2 GBPI
- VGA : AMD Radeon HD 3200
- Storage : Hitachi Desktar 160GB
- Optical : Pioneer DVDRW 20x
- PSU : Corsair HX620
- Display : Philips 109S 19" CRT Monitor
 03/01/2009 09:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

here is what your failing to consider. DDR 3 timings suck unless you buy top of the line $250.00 set of DDR 3 ram.

The max ddr 3 speeds supported are 1333.

So 267 Mhz diffrence in speed over DDR 2 1066 5 5 5 15 timings dirt cheap to buy and the average DDR 3 run at 9 9 9 27 - 9 9 9 24 and 8 8 8 21 - 7 7 7 20

tests show NO benefit in bandwidth unless you can get the better 6 6 6 21 timings.

If you can OC the HTT reference clock to 255 for DDR 3 1600 speeds then it would just rock.

Good luck with that and let me how she turns out for ya.

I my self will wait for phenom line with DDR 3 1600 native support.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 03/01/2009 10:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
BoyWonder1911
Junior Member

Posts: 19
Joined: 03/01/2009

I didn't know that the AM3 boards will only support DDR 1333....I think I had specifically looked for one that supports DDR3 1600...let me find it....

http://www.newegg.com/Product/...?Item=N82E16813131363

if the link doesn't work, its product number N82E16813131363

Shows DDR3 1600 standard w/o overclocking....or are you saying that with a PhenomII you have to overclock the RAM to get it to work at 1600?

I agree the timings are slow, I was thinking about Crucial Ballistix DDR3 1600 but they are only 8-8-8-24
 03/01/2009 10:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

Your missing the point. The DDR 3 phenom II only support 1333. There isn't plans for 1600 support yet.

Memory controller is in the CPU not the board.

It would take a fsb htt reference clock of 255 to get 1600 speeds.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)

Edited: 03/01/2009 at 11:12 PM by PC-GURU -
 03/01/2009 11:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Speedwayaudio
Overclocker

Posts: 919
Joined: 02/13/2009

Originally posted by: GEXY1

Hey PC GURU... I know all about the price/performance ratio. I know that my computer would be better right now with an AM2+ 940 BE Proc and DDR2 MEM. I'm not thinking about right now. I'm thinking about 1 year into the future. I know that an AM2+ 940 Proc would still be bad ***** in 1 year, but, will I be able to upgrade an AM2+ set up at that time? (And have it be cost effective!) Probably not! for now I'm just sitting and hopeing for a better AM3 Proc to come out. OH... I'll bet that AMD isn't the only one to blame for the delay either. AMD probably put the AM2+ and AM3 out so quickly that the Motherboard manufacturers are now playing catch-up which is just adding to our delay. Well I'll wait just a little longer then buy... something.





Alan A.K.A. GEXY1
No disrespect here, but a year from now you might be in a pine box taking a dirt nap. Live for today. Tomarrow will take care of itself.

-------------------------
FX 8150 X 8 4.5MHz
Asus Crosshair V
ATI Radeon HD 6950 X2
8 gb Corsair Dominator GT 9-9-9-24@ 1866mhz DDR3
Seagate 7200.10 HDD LG BluRay HD DVD
w/LightScrib
Crucial M4 128 SSD
55"Vizio LCD
Corsair HX 1000 psu
NZXT Phantom Black
Corsair H80 push/pull
Razer Death Adder VooDoo edition mouse and Keyboard.
 03/02/2009 01:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
GEXY1
Junior Member

Posts: 16
Joined: 09/30/2005

Yea... I'm inclined to agree with PC-GURU and Speedwayaudio on this one. I've been watching everything I can find on the subject and it all comes back to AM2+.

I thank all of you that have posted on my behalf. My decision is now made and I will be getting the 940 BE. Not just because of cost and speed but because I'm tired of waiting for something that was supposed to be out by now. I know that it'll all come together just fine.

Hey, thanks again to everybody for helping me with this dilemma.

Alan A.K.A. GEXY1
 03/02/2009 01:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

Let us know if we can help overclocking that bad boy.

Your going to just love the CPU, mad power for a small price.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 03/02/2009 04:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
GEXY1
Junior Member

Posts: 16
Joined: 09/30/2005

Yea I'll let you know and I probably will. I have another question though. Can you recommend a good Motherboard. I really would like an ASUS but I have also had good past experience with Gigabyte and Azrock as well. Right now I'm looking at an ASUS M4A78-E AM2+/AM3 AMD 790GX HDMI ATX AMD. I see it on New Egg for $139 and it seems like a recent release. There are no reviews for it yet and I guess I wouldn't mind being the first to do so, but, if anyone has any suggestions... I'm all ears. Throw it at me please!

Thanks again everybody.

Alan A.K.A. GEXY1
 03/02/2009 09:59 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Orn
Titanic Jelly Hammer

Posts: 3481
Joined: 01/04/2008

OH HELL NO guru changed to a gtx285 now?
 03/02/2009 12:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

Originally posted by: GEXY1

Yea I'll let you know and I probably will. I have another question though. Can you recommend a good Motherboard. I really would like an ASUS but I have also had good past experience with Gigabyte and Azrock as well. Right now I'm looking at an ASUS M4A78-E AM2+/AM3 AMD 790GX HDMI ATX AMD. I see it on New Egg for $139 and it seems like a recent release. There are no reviews for it yet and I guess I wouldn't mind being the first to do so, but, if anyone has any suggestions... I'm all ears. Throw it at me please!



Thanks again everybody.



Alan A.K.A. GEXY1


well I use this one my self and JUST love it. Very impressive rock solid stable board. Asrock make some dam nice product these days.

ASRock AOD790GX/128M AM2+/AM2 AMD 790GX ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail 140W phenom w/ 128M sideport memory, AM3 CPU ready

It was $104.00 now $124.00 but still good price.

Yes Orn for about a week now.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 03/02/2009 03:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
GEXY1
Junior Member

Posts: 16
Joined: 09/30/2005

I like your MB. And your right- Asrock does make good product. But I need PCI-express 1x for my sound card. The layout of your board puts it really close to the graphics slot. Oh yea... since you have an SLI MB, what slot do you use for your GTX 285? I think i'm going to go with GIGABYTE GA-MA790GP-UD4H AM2+/AM2 AMD 790GX HDMI ATX AMD because it has 3 PCI-express 1x slots so i'll have more options of where to put my soundcard. Plus, New Egg has a combo deal going with the 940 X4 Proc.

So here is my rig now:
GIGABYTE GA-MA790GP-UD4H AM2+/AM2 AMD 790GX HDMI ATX
AMD Phenom II 940 X4
Kingston HyperX 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500)
Saphire Radeon 4870 X2 2 gig
SB X-FI Extreme 7.1 PCI Express
ASUS 22x DVD+/-R Litescribe SATA 3.0
Seagate 500 GIG HD SATA 16 MB cache
Cooler master HAF Full Tower
Cooler Master 700 watt SLI/Crossfire power supply
Windows Vista Ultimate 32-bit

WOW! I can't wait to get it all put together.

All of you guys are kewl and I'll be back to OC the unit soon.

Thanks again everybody.
Alan A.K.A. GEXY1
 03/02/2009 03:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

slot 1 top slot

DO NOT buy that gigabyte board. Its well known to have a 100 problems. Gigabyte has gone to hell as of late.

Stick with Asus , MSI , Asrock.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 03/02/2009 07:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
GEXY1
Junior Member

Posts: 16
Joined: 09/30/2005

Too late! I already ordered it. I have a Gigabyte board right now and have been pretty happy with it. Right now my 3200+ socket 939 is oc to 2.4 gigs and it worked perfectly. I know that there are only 3 reviews on New Egg about this product but they were all 5 egg reviews too. I'm gonna give it a try. I already know how to use EasyTune for overclocking so hopefully I will be able to without any issues.

Oh man... now you got me all scared about it. I think it'll be just fine though.

Thanks dude!

Alan A.K.A. GEXY1
 03/04/2009 12:42 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Two7Buckeye
Senior Member

Posts: 440
Joined: 01/09/2009

make use of the 64 bit capabilities, youve already spent the money, why not load a 64bit OS?

-------------------------
Phenom II 955
Cooler Master V8
ASUS M3A79-T Deluxe 790FX
2 x Sapphire 4870 1GB GDDR5
4GB GSkill Pi Black 1066
2 x 74GB WD Raptor 16mb RAID-0
640GB WD Caviar Black 32mb
Cooler Master HAF 932
Antec Quattro 850w
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information