AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: 4 dimms of DDR 2 1066 yes or no
Topic Summary:
Created On: 03/09/2009 04:06 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
Answer This question was answered by PC-GURU -, on Monday, March 9, 2009 4:45 PM

Answer:
Back to all 4 dimms 8 GiG total and time will tell. It passes all stability tests and looks to run flawless @ 1066 Mhz 5 5 5 15 2.1 volts 2.4 Ghz north bridge 1.275 volts 3.7 Ghz CPU 1.475 volts.
 03/09/2009 04:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

So my new ram came in today. According to Gskill its the same chips as my other set but different HS's. So I popped in all 4 dimms and its working flawless just like before.

Last time I tried this it ran fine then 2 weeks down the road 1 of the 4 sticks died. Figured it just could not handle 4 dimms of DDR 2 1066 for long term. Ether that or it was just a freak thing and 1 stick out of 3 was the week one.

give your in site on who has been able to run all 4 dimms long term will ya.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 03/09/2009 04:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
moorhen2
Case Modder

Posts: 983
Joined: 01/23/2009

Hi guru,as you know i had 4x2gig g-skill 8500's,worked for a while then killed one of the sticks,thats why i dropped down to 800,my geils will overclock nearly as fast as the g-skills anyway,4.4.4.12 timings really nice,so thats my opinion anyway.Just dont think the mem controler can handle the stress of 4x8500 sticks.

-------------------------
AMD 965BE @4.032GHZ 24/7 VCORE 1.528v TEMPS 32C/52C
MSI 790FX GD70
3 X SAPPHIRE 4890 OC's 991/1100
4 GIG G-SKILL RIPJAWS 1600 @ 7 7 7 24 1.65v RUNNING @1680MHZ
4 SAMSUNG F1 750 GIG SATA II HDD's 2X RAID 0
THERMALTAKE ARMOR+ FULL TOWER CASE
THERMALTAKE TOUGHPOWER MODULAR 850W
THERMALTAKE BIGWATER 760IS WC
28" HANNS-G LCD 1920X1200 3ms
WINDOWS 7 ULTIMATE 32bit OS
 03/09/2009 04:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

so you lost a stick after a few to hu ?

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 03/09/2009 04:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
moorhen2
Case Modder

Posts: 983
Joined: 01/23/2009

Yep,killed one of the sticks,have edited first reply.In my personal opinion i cant see that much difference when using 8 gig,be it 800's or 1006's,as we all know 8500's are oc'd 800's anyway,so there allready pushed to the limit,almost anyway.

-------------------------
AMD 965BE @4.032GHZ 24/7 VCORE 1.528v TEMPS 32C/52C
MSI 790FX GD70
3 X SAPPHIRE 4890 OC's 991/1100
4 GIG G-SKILL RIPJAWS 1600 @ 7 7 7 24 1.65v RUNNING @1680MHZ
4 SAMSUNG F1 750 GIG SATA II HDD's 2X RAID 0
THERMALTAKE ARMOR+ FULL TOWER CASE
THERMALTAKE TOUGHPOWER MODULAR 850W
THERMALTAKE BIGWATER 760IS WC
28" HANNS-G LCD 1920X1200 3ms
WINDOWS 7 ULTIMATE 32bit OS
 03/09/2009 04:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

Answer Answer
Back to all 4 dimms 8 GiG total and time will tell. It passes all stability tests and looks to run flawless @ 1066 Mhz 5 5 5 15 2.1 volts 2.4 Ghz north bridge 1.275 volts 3.7 Ghz CPU 1.475 volts.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)

Edited: 03/09/2009 at 10:57 PM by PC-GURU -
 03/09/2009 04:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
moorhen2
Case Modder

Posts: 983
Joined: 01/23/2009

A costly mistake we have both made mate,we live and learn ah.lol.

-------------------------
AMD 965BE @4.032GHZ 24/7 VCORE 1.528v TEMPS 32C/52C
MSI 790FX GD70
3 X SAPPHIRE 4890 OC's 991/1100
4 GIG G-SKILL RIPJAWS 1600 @ 7 7 7 24 1.65v RUNNING @1680MHZ
4 SAMSUNG F1 750 GIG SATA II HDD's 2X RAID 0
THERMALTAKE ARMOR+ FULL TOWER CASE
THERMALTAKE TOUGHPOWER MODULAR 850W
THERMALTAKE BIGWATER 760IS WC
28" HANNS-G LCD 1920X1200 3ms
WINDOWS 7 ULTIMATE 32bit OS
 03/09/2009 09:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mbjbdc
Overclocker

Posts: 657
Joined: 04/01/2005

been running 4x2 gskill @1066 since phenomII released

-------------------------
Biostar TA-990FXE-Extreme
amd-fx8120 @3.7 1.2750 V
corsair ddr3-1866 16GB
ocz-vertex3-240
windows 8 rtm
 03/09/2009 10:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)

Edited: 03/09/2009 at 10:55 PM by PC-GURU -
 03/09/2009 10:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

4 say not safe and 2 for safe.

My god I'm so confused.

I can get all 8 gig 4 dimms to run just fine at 1066 5 5 5 15 2.1 volts.

I guess I can just run it and if I kill yet another stick I have my answer lol.


EDIT-------------------------

All 4 dimms 8 GiG total are back in. Pass all memory stability tests, So time will tell.

I might have killed the first stick when I was waring memory read speeds with Kaz lol.

Chances are it could run for years @ DDR 2 1066 5 5 5 15 2.1 volts and 3.7 Ghz CPU 2.4 Ghz north bridge.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 03/10/2009 12:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kazgirl
Elite

Posts: 2480
Joined: 06/25/2007

LOL... if its any comfort I think one of my RAMs also fell in that battle.. I've had problems getting my OC stable since that clash..!!

I was planning on getting some new RAM, but then opted to get the new Soundcard for the HTPC instead..!

The RAM seems to be OK now I've dropped my OC to 3.7Ghz full time, its either that or I can keep it at 3.8 -3.85 GHz but run looser timings on the RAM..

I prefer to lose a 150Mhz on the CPU Clocks for now.... and keep tighter timings..!!

But yes, my RAM was also a casualty of that war..!!!..

-------------------------

3DMark06 = 20717 / 3DMark Vantage = P13618 / My Overclock Guide / My Troubleshooting Guide
 03/10/2009 12:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mbjbdc
Overclocker

Posts: 657
Joined: 04/01/2005

maybe it depends on motherboard
even though the memory controller is in cpu
all the posts i seen on failed ram are amd chipsets
mine is nvidia
just a wild guess

-------------------------
Biostar TA-990FXE-Extreme
amd-fx8120 @3.7 1.2750 V
corsair ddr3-1866 16GB
ocz-vertex3-240
windows 8 rtm
 03/10/2009 12:46 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

Originally posted by: mbjbdc

maybe it depends on motherboard

even though the memory controller is in cpu

all the posts i seen on failed ram are amd chipsets

mine is nvidia

just a wild guess



And your guess would be WRONG.............................

I was on a Nvidia based board then guy.

It was a Asus with 7050v chip set.

Nice try thou lol.

No Kaz and I where having some wild crazy war then, We where both overclocking to point of break lol.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 03/14/2009 12:34 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Billybob7
Member

Posts: 141
Joined: 10/22/2008

I don't think it matters how many sticks of memory you run that causes the 2GB sticks of G.Skill to fail. I was only running two sticks and one failed in less than a month. They are good about doing RMA's to replace the defective product, but the problem is it's defective in the first place. The replacements they sent out seemed to be OK, but they're now collecting dust on a shelf as I went back to my Kingston HyperX. I never liked that it took 2.2v to run them, but they are solid.

-------------------------
MSI DKA790GX Platinum
Phenom 9950BE o/c 3.0ghz-Sunbeam Core Contact Freezer
2 x GB G.Skill DDR2 1066mhz @ 5-5-5-15
Diamond Radeon 4890 o/c 950/1150
Antec True Power New 750-Antec Sonata Solo case
250gb Seagate SATA drive-300gb Seagate SATA drive
Vista Home Premium 32 bit
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information