AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Is another bios update required to support AM3 on AM2+ mobo...?
Topic Summary: besides initial one done for Phenom II support
Created On: 03/23/2009 11:49 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/23/2009 11:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
.aT
Lurker

Posts: 6
Joined: 03/23/2009

I think I covered it in Title and Summary.

Trying to find out for a friend. She wants to surprise her husband with the AMD 955 when it releases. He is already running the 940BE on an AM2+ mobo, which he had to update the bios to support Phenom II. Sorry but she does not know the make or model of mobo.

So if one has already done a bios update so that their AM2+ mobo can run Phenom II, will another be required to specifically run the AM3 955 on AM2+?

Yes, I realize the 955 "is" a Phenom II and one could assume so but I know not to assume things r/t compatability these days.

A side question, please: any word yet or good guesses whether 955 will be a black edition or not?

Thanks all and a friendly shout out/hello to cvsi3, Immortal Lobster, & kazgirl.

Cheers!

-------------------------
Abit AN78GS | AMD 940 | Gskill | EVGA 9800GTX+ | WD HDD | LiteOn DVDb | Corsair 550VX | Antec 300

Edited: 03/24/2009 at 12:04 AM by .aT
 03/23/2009 11:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cvsi3
Elite

Posts: 1955
Joined: 01/31/2008

Come on @man, i think you know the answer to this question. Im gonna go with its most likely gonna need a bios update, assuming the board will support AM3 Cpu's, but it really cant be answered until the motherboard manufacture releases the info about what cpu's it supports, and that doesnt generally happen until right around when the cpu comes out.

Edit: BTW, You forgot about Immortal Lobster, but i wont tell anyone! hehe

-------------------------
i7 2600K - Asus Maximus Extreme-Z - G.Skill DDR3 2133 CL9 - MSI 5870 - Corsair 1200w PSU - 2 x Western Digital Raptors Raid 0 - Swiftech Apogee XT Water Block - Swiftech MCP655 Pump - 120mm Quad Rad - Windows 7 - Ubuntu x64

5311Mhz Validation
 03/24/2009 12:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
.aT
Lurker

Posts: 6
Joined: 03/23/2009

What? If you look, CV, I did shout out to IL.

hahaha...can you say EDIT and busted! Darn added edit tags. lol

The reason for my asking, put more clearly maybe...AM3 cpu's will seat and run on AM2+ mobo's. AM3 is a Phenom II. So that would actually lead me in the other direction, actually; ie, one could assume that the AM3 would not require a further bios update if one already had the update from their board maker to support Phenom II's.

But! (lol)

I'm starting to think the "adds support for Phenom II" bios updates that board makers are releasing really should say "adds support for Phenom II AM2 CPU's."

Did I miss something here...seriously. Are we suppose to be calling the AM3 CPU Phenom III?

-------------------------
Abit AN78GS | AMD 940 | Gskill | EVGA 9800GTX+ | WD HDD | LiteOn DVDb | Corsair 550VX | Antec 300
 03/24/2009 12:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cvsi3
Elite

Posts: 1955
Joined: 01/31/2008

I dont know why they came up with the same series of cpu on 2 platforms lol.
Just because the board can support Phenom II's, which could be either AM2+ or AM3, doenst mean they support all the cpus in that line. But first double check to see if the motherboard manufacture ment it would support the AM2+ cpu or the AM3 CPU or both, because just saying it supports the Phenom II doesnt really cut it. Also if it does support the AM3 cpu, you would have to check to see if it supports the specific cpu.

Edit: You had me scratching my head about IL btw, until i read the next line about being busted about the edit lol.

-------------------------
i7 2600K - Asus Maximus Extreme-Z - G.Skill DDR3 2133 CL9 - MSI 5870 - Corsair 1200w PSU - 2 x Western Digital Raptors Raid 0 - Swiftech Apogee XT Water Block - Swiftech MCP655 Pump - 120mm Quad Rad - Windows 7 - Ubuntu x64

5311Mhz Validation
 03/24/2009 12:36 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
.aT
Lurker

Posts: 6
Joined: 03/23/2009

hahaha...don't scratch too hard and hit bone! OUCH!

Well, this new acquaintence is wanting to surprise her husband, thus her not knowing all the details on board make and model, etc. Her having to get him involved by asking about what board he has would spoil such. It was suggested to me that she simply give him a card that has a note inside giving him permission to buy a 955. lol It might end up being that she subsequently gives him permission to purchase a new mobo and ram, too. lol

Thanks for the replies, CV, appreciate it. You brought up the points I needed to know what to say to her. I've been needing to set up an account here, anyways, and this allowed me an excuse to do so. My old one expired or I do not recall it so it worked out well.

Cheers!

-------------------------
Abit AN78GS | AMD 940 | Gskill | EVGA 9800GTX+ | WD HDD | LiteOn DVDb | Corsair 550VX | Antec 300
 03/24/2009 12:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cvsi3
Elite

Posts: 1955
Joined: 01/31/2008

Well there are 2 things that she could do at this point.

1. Download CPU-Z and click the Mainboard Tab and write down the Make and Model of the motherboard as well as the Bios verson, and we can go from there.

2. Buy him a gift card or certificate for newegg or something along those lines, so
when it does come out he can get what would work.

-------------------------
i7 2600K - Asus Maximus Extreme-Z - G.Skill DDR3 2133 CL9 - MSI 5870 - Corsair 1200w PSU - 2 x Western Digital Raptors Raid 0 - Swiftech Apogee XT Water Block - Swiftech MCP655 Pump - 120mm Quad Rad - Windows 7 - Ubuntu x64

5311Mhz Validation
 03/24/2009 01:04 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
.aT
Lurker

Posts: 6
Joined: 03/23/2009

Ahhhh, good idea, CV...on both. She could simply install, get the info, and then, uninstall CPUZ afterwards and clean her tracks, so to speak. lol I'll pass along the info to her and let her take it from there. Thanks again, ole'chum.

-------------------------
Abit AN78GS | AMD 940 | Gskill | EVGA 9800GTX+ | WD HDD | LiteOn DVDb | Corsair 550VX | Antec 300
 03/24/2009 01:05 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cvsi3
Elite

Posts: 1955
Joined: 01/31/2008

She doesnt even have to uninstall it, just delete it and empty the recycling bin.

-------------------------
i7 2600K - Asus Maximus Extreme-Z - G.Skill DDR3 2133 CL9 - MSI 5870 - Corsair 1200w PSU - 2 x Western Digital Raptors Raid 0 - Swiftech Apogee XT Water Block - Swiftech MCP655 Pump - 120mm Quad Rad - Windows 7 - Ubuntu x64

5311Mhz Validation
 03/24/2009 10:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kazgirl
Elite

Posts: 2480
Joined: 06/25/2007

Hi .aT....welcome to the fold....!!

I'm sure your friend can get the necessary info, quickly turning on the PC at the opening POST screen it should list details of the mobo and BIOS version being used....if she can make a note of it and let you know, I'm sure you'll be able to do the rest..!!

If its supporting an AM2+ PII 940BE right now I'd guess that it will likely have support for the PII 955 when available as well.... its mainly the power sections of the motherboard that causes the compatability issues AFAIK, so if its running a 940BE now then it should be fine for the 955 also....but again who knows with mobo manufacturers how far into a product line they will provide support.....

Otherwise I like the idea of a permission slip...LOL.... that sounds great and I'm sure it would make an amusing anecdote for the husband as well...

-------------------------

3DMark06 = 20717 / 3DMark Vantage = P13618 / My Overclock Guide / My Troubleshooting Guide
 03/24/2009 01:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
.aT
Lurker

Posts: 6
Joined: 03/23/2009

Cheers, kazgirl...thanks for that. I believe after all that has been said, I'm going to suggest the "permission slip." And only because I think she only really knows what she does because he's talked about it. I get the feeling she is very pc'shy. Plus, not much of a performance boost for him so he'd better served holding onto that permission slip for a few months. lol

Just "had" to reply again to shout back at'ya, kazgirl.

-------------------------
Abit AN78GS | AMD 940 | Gskill | EVGA 9800GTX+ | WD HDD | LiteOn DVDb | Corsair 550VX | Antec 300
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information