AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Phenom II 940 BE overclock results
Topic Summary:
Created On: 04/05/2009 06:22 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 3 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/05/2009 06:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CoaterCup
Junior Member

Posts: 10
Joined: 04/05/2009

Just want to share the work I have done to overclock this chip. I have built this new rig with a low cost motherboard, the ASUS M3A78. Initial overclock results were disappointing. I would only get stable at 3.4Ghz with all configurations I could test on. Reading in so many forums seemed to identify the bottleneck with this AMD770/SB700 motherboard.
Since I noticed my CPU temps were also on the high side (57C on load 3.4Ghz), so I decided to lap both my CPU & Noctua. Results were pretty good (51 on load 3.4Ghz), however still encountered BSOD during Prime.
More research led me to the mosfet cooling (since the new 790GX/FX comes with mosfet cooling). I also finger touched the mosfet during Prime and they are freaking hot. So I decided to order those cheapo ram sinks with 3M thermal tape on those mosfets. End results? I am stable now at 3.575Ghz (still trying to push 3.6 barrier...)
So seems like a good motherboard with good mosfet cooling plays a big role in overclocking this chip.

-------------------------
CPU: Phenom II 940 (lapped) @ 3.6GHz (200x18) (1.456v)
HS: Noctua NH-U12P (lapped)
MB: Gigabyete GA-MA790X-UD4P
PSU: Antec Neopower 550
GPU: GTX 285
RAM: G.Skill 2 x 2GB DDR2-1066
 04/05/2009 11:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NemesisChild
ROGue Warrior

Posts: 2978
Joined: 11/28/2008

I'm stable at 3.6GHz (1.472v) with my M3A78 (multiplier at x18).
The 770/SB700 is a decent chipset, it's just that this board lacks voltage control and has a terrible voltage regulator.
I ran 3.7GHz stable, but I can't control the Vcore properly to get my temps down enough during Everest stress testing.

I'm looking at replacing my M3A78, will probably go with a AMD 790 or maybe even a Nvidia 780a sli board.

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1100T B.E.@ 4.26GHz
Corsair H70 Core Hydro
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX@ 1894MHz, 9-10-9-28
SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 570's@ 902/1804/2032
Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Corsair HX850W Modular
Cooler Master HAF 922
2x Win 7 Home Premium (x64)
 04/05/2009 12:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vellium
Member

Posts: 86
Joined: 03/26/2009

how the $%#% did you get 275 ?? same board and I can't get over 225

-------------------------
 04/05/2009 01:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

CoaterCup

275 is impressive 255 has been my max.

Good luck getting this setup to live long lol.

Its atronimical the strain this puts on the hardware.

Its also a completely pointless way to overclock. I think you will find that us guys and gals using just the multi overclock will still offer more performance out of our setups then your HTT reference clock overclock.

Not trying to SLAM on your system, But I am trying to point out that your style of overclocking is highly flawed.

want to test this?

You have the same CPU Memory speeds and GPU as me, Lets compare some benchmarks and I think you will find I have passed yours by a large margin.

Only because you went about your overclock ALL WRONG.

For instance setting your overclock all by multi like this would have offered FAR better results and your hardware would live for years.

CPU 18x5x200 = 3.7 Ghz

North Bridge set to 2400 Mhz (1800) Mhz is stock.

HTT set to 3600 Mhz default

Your ram left at DDR 2 1066 speeds max performance timings.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)

Edited: 04/05/2009 at 01:26 PM by PC-GURU -
 04/05/2009 09:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CoaterCup
Junior Member

Posts: 10
Joined: 04/05/2009

Unfortunately I have limited settings in the M3A78 bios.
HT Link (1.8Ghz/1.6Ghz/1.4Ghz/etc) which converts to multiplier (9x/8x/7x/etc)
NB frequency cannot be changed, fixed at bus speed x 9
Your 3DMARK06 scores are very high, I could only get around 17,800+ with GTX285 core at 700Mhz.
Let me check if I could change the settings to a 'safer' levels. Appreciate the feedback.
Well if something goes wrong, it would give me an excuse to get myself an i7...;P

-------------------------
CPU: Phenom II 940 (lapped) @ 3.6GHz (200x18) (1.456v)
HS: Noctua NH-U12P (lapped)
MB: Gigabyete GA-MA790X-UD4P
PSU: Antec Neopower 550
GPU: GTX 285
RAM: G.Skill 2 x 2GB DDR2-1066
 04/05/2009 09:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

I had a Asus Nforce 8300 board with same limited settings in bios and that's why I used a 255 HTT reference clock overclock lol.

But it is VERY hard on the hardware and buying your self a decent 790 GX or FX board with 750 SB would be highly advisable.

As for buying a i7 that's one of the silliest things I have heard yet. A 940 BE @ 3.7 Ghz benchmarks at the same as the i7 at 3.4 to 3.5 Ghz.

DUDE just take $109.00 and pick up a new kick azz Asrock 790GX 750 SB board.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 04/06/2009 04:57 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vellium
Member

Posts: 86
Joined: 03/26/2009

CoaterCup you can change ht link. I have a spreadsheet that list how. You can do it without outragious bus speed. I have the same mobo as you. Here is a listing

205x15 = 1845 HT link
210x15 = 1890
220x15 = 1898/3.3 ghz
225x15 = 2025/3.45 ghz
235x15 = 2115.3/3.5ghz

I have about 50 other settings. Those are just with 15x

So it is changable you just can't phsyical set it.

And Guru you're new banner is UGLY as hell. I'm a hobbist graphic designer and it hurts my eyes =/

-------------------------
 04/06/2009 05:00 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

you offering to make me one?

never claimed to be an artist.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 04/06/2009 05:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vellium
Member

Posts: 86
Joined: 03/26/2009

I might have to do that

-------------------------
 04/06/2009 10:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CoaterCup
Junior Member

Posts: 10
Joined: 04/05/2009

Originally posted by: Vellium

CoaterCup you can change ht link. I have a spreadsheet that list how. You can do it without outragious bus speed. I have the same mobo as you. Here is a listing



205x15 = 1845 HT link

210x15 = 1890

220x15 = 1898/3.3 ghz

225x15 = 2025/3.45 ghz

235x15 = 2115.3/3.5ghz



I have about 50 other settings. Those are just with 15x



So it is changable you just can't phsyical set it.



And Guru you're new banner is UGLY as hell. I'm a hobbist graphic designer and it hurts my eyes =/


Thanks. I have dropped down to 202x17.5 = 3.535Ghz. Want to keep my ram at DDR1066 speeds, so either ridiculous high bus speeds or low bus speeds...
Will keep this setting till my new mobo arrives

-------------------------
CPU: Phenom II 940 (lapped) @ 3.6GHz (200x18) (1.456v)
HS: Noctua NH-U12P (lapped)
MB: Gigabyete GA-MA790X-UD4P
PSU: Antec Neopower 550
GPU: GTX 285
RAM: G.Skill 2 x 2GB DDR2-1066
 04/06/2009 11:36 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vellium
Member

Posts: 86
Joined: 03/26/2009

Yeah the 275 was outragious! I'm curious if you could drop your core volts on your computer and still have it run smooth and stable. I got 3.5 Ghz and I run stable/cool @ 1.376. This is slightly up from stock of 1.360.

-------------------------
 04/12/2009 12:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CoaterCup
Junior Member

Posts: 10
Joined: 04/05/2009

Well my new mobo arrived. The built quality was good but I could only get 3.6 stable. 3.7 windows OK but Prime95 crashed. Spent alot of time to OC with different settings...
Temps were still considered high at 3.6 comparing to what I have seen in these forums. Guess I have a lousy chip...

-------------------------
CPU: Phenom II 940 (lapped) @ 3.6GHz (200x18) (1.456v)
HS: Noctua NH-U12P (lapped)
MB: Gigabyete GA-MA790X-UD4P
PSU: Antec Neopower 550
GPU: GTX 285
RAM: G.Skill 2 x 2GB DDR2-1066
 04/12/2009 10:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Holy Drink
Newbie

Posts: 32
Joined: 04/12/2009

Hello, I had some problems like that around the 3.6ghz barrier. I found that my DDR2 (G.Skill 800/1066 4 x 2GB with heat spreader) was incredibly hot on load @ 2.1v. So I mounted a fan over the DDR2 and solved that issue at around 3.6ghz. I Had the stock Phenom II cooler at that time of overclocking.

Currently for myself I hit Stability Issue at 290 x 14.0 so I am at 286 x 14.0. I cant really remember what settings I used for that barrier.So i'll retest @ 3.6ghz for ya for reference voltages used, cooling problems found, drive strengths used, etc. at that speed. Even though I may not have the same board it could be used as a reference.

What im running at now....
----------------------------------------
M3N-HT Delux w/o memory heatpipe (Nvidia 780a Sli)
Enermax Revolution 1050w
Phenom II 940 BE @ 4004 286 x 14.0 1.5360v (bios)
(AiSuite Reports it as 3991.40ghz 285.10 x 14.0 | while AMD clock reports 4.0ghz)
Thermal Take Big Water 760IS (running it external)
G.Skill 4 x 2GB DDR2 570 x 2 2.6v (1140Mhz) 5-5-5-15 3-26-6-3 1T W/Fan
(as reported by SiSoftware Sandra)
NB Freq 2851Mhz
HT Link 2566Mhz
(as reported by CPU-Z)
MSI Geforce 260 (not the 216 core) 730/1475/2500 (1250x2)
3DMark ~ 18,366
 04/13/2009 05:56 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CoaterCup
Junior Member

Posts: 10
Joined: 04/05/2009

Wow, incredible. Your GTX260 beat my GTX285...

-------------------------
CPU: Phenom II 940 (lapped) @ 3.6GHz (200x18) (1.456v)
HS: Noctua NH-U12P (lapped)
MB: Gigabyete GA-MA790X-UD4P
PSU: Antec Neopower 550
GPU: GTX 285
RAM: G.Skill 2 x 2GB DDR2-1066
 04/13/2009 11:06 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NemesisChild
ROGue Warrior

Posts: 2978
Joined: 11/28/2008

Originally posted by: CoaterCup

Wow, incredible. Your GTX260 beat my GTX285...


You need to overclock that 285!!!
I have my 260, Core 216 (65nm) at 721/1516/1239
Keep the memory at or slightly above stock, it helps with higher core & shader overclocking.

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1100T B.E.@ 4.26GHz
Corsair H70 Core Hydro
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX@ 1894MHz, 9-10-9-28
SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 570's@ 902/1804/2032
Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Corsair HX850W Modular
Cooler Master HAF 922
2x Win 7 Home Premium (x64)
 04/13/2009 12:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

Dude Whats your 3Dmark06 score?

With that in mind however, I find his 3Dmark score in contradiction with real life findings and would like to see a compare URL for proof.

260 GTX would only score that in 3Dmark05 not 06 .

Unless he was running SLI

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)

Edited: 04/13/2009 at 01:02 PM by PC-GURU -
 04/13/2009 05:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Holy Drink
Newbie

Posts: 32
Joined: 04/12/2009

Sorry I didn't type that correctly, yes thats 3dmark06 V110 score with single 260 GTX. I'll provide a URL when I get done testing 3.7 ghz for Coater cup.
 04/13/2009 06:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Holy Drink
Newbie

Posts: 32
Joined: 04/12/2009

As for Coater cup, I was ok on prim95 @
3.7ghz @ 1.45 / 54-55 C (18.5 x 200)
Mem voltage 2.120 (1066)
Everything else on auto ran Prime95 ..
*Edited
Make sure you have good air flow on your NB, SB, DDR2 and your VRM <- (Very important at hier clocks).


I choked my cooler with a napkin (lolz) to hit and stay at hier temps that you would be in according to your first post.

Edited: 04/13/2009 at 08:19 PM by Holy Drink
 04/13/2009 08:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Holy Drink
Newbie

Posts: 32
Joined: 04/12/2009

Well I had to update my drivers from 181.22 to 182.08 for validity. Sadly to say my
3dMark06 score has increased to 18529. Maybe I Should update my chipset drivers from 15.24 to 15.26.

URL
http://service.futuremark.com/...?3dm06=10645625


----------------------------------------
Ultra E-Torque Mid ATX
M3N-HT Delux w/o memory heatpipe (Nvidia 780a Sli)
Enermax Revolution 1050w
Phenom II 940 BE @ 4004 286 x 14.0 1.5360v (bios)
(AiSuite Reports it as 3991.40ghz 285.10 x 14.0 | while AMD clock reports 4.0ghz)
Thermal Take Big Water 760IS (running it external)
G.Skill 4 x 2GB DDR2 570 x 2 2.6v (1140Mhz) 5-5-5-15 3-26-6-3 1T W/Fan
(as reported by SiSoftware Sandra)
NB Freq 2851Mhz
HT Link 2566Mhz
(as reported by CPU-Z)
MSI Geforce 260 (not the 216 core) 730/1475/2500 (1250x2)
3DMark06 ~ 18,529
 04/13/2009 09:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

you ran that test at 4 GHz?

your GPU score is what I expected but your CPU score is doing great.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information