AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Phenom II x4 910
Topic Summary:
Created On: 04/13/2009 05:28 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/13/2009 05:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jyoung
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 04/13/2009

Has this processor been released or does anyone know when it could be released?

Phenom II x4 910

I see it listed on some sites for sale with pre-built computer and a couple listings on ebay.
 04/13/2009 06:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
grndragon57
Senior Member

Posts: 610
Joined: 10/10/2007

It can be bought, but with the prices I've seen it doesn't appear to be a good option.

http://www.google.com/products...roup&resnum=1&ct=title

-------------------------
Athlon 64 X2 4800 @ 3000mhz, Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro, Biostar 520 A2, 2x1gb G.Skill DDR2 800, EVGA 8800 GT, Corsair VX450, Cooler Master Centurion 534,

Phenom II 720 @ 3700mhz, Zigmatek Dark Knight S1283V, EVGA 730a, 2x2gb G.Skill PI-Black DDR2 1066, EVGA GTX 260, Corsair VX550, CM 690 Case
 04/13/2009 07:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jyoung
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 04/13/2009

I have actually went to each of them sites and called each one that did not say out of stock. No one had them available or know anything about them.
 04/13/2009 11:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MastiffMan2007
Fanboi

Posts: 68
Joined: 11/28/2007

Just get the 810 and unlock the Cache.... Same thing... ;o)

-------------------------
PhenomII x4 965 BE "C3" @ 4.3Ghz
PROOF!!!!
MSI 790FX-GD70
OCZ Flex EX 2000MHz (1700) @ 7-7-7-21-1T @ 2.05v
Sapphire ATI VAPOR-X 5770 1Gb @1100mhz/ 1475mhz
OCZ 32GB SATAII SSD + WD Green 32mb 500Gb
RAIDMAX RX-850SS 850W PSU
Windows 7 x64
 04/14/2009 12:12 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
grndragon57
Senior Member

Posts: 610
Joined: 10/10/2007

Why do you want the 910?

-------------------------
Athlon 64 X2 4800 @ 3000mhz, Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro, Biostar 520 A2, 2x1gb G.Skill DDR2 800, EVGA 8800 GT, Corsair VX450, Cooler Master Centurion 534,

Phenom II 720 @ 3700mhz, Zigmatek Dark Knight S1283V, EVGA 730a, 2x2gb G.Skill PI-Black DDR2 1066, EVGA GTX 260, Corsair VX550, CM 690 Case
 04/14/2009 10:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jyoung
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 04/13/2009

Well the reason behind wanting a 910 was that I though it was the newest thing out currently for the Phenom ii x4 and had a better cache. I am not big into overclocking and unlocking the processors to get better performance. I wanted it to be nice right out of the box. (and I am not saying the other processors are not bad in anyway, I just wanted to be current)

Upon further reading I think I would actually be more interested in the 955 if it actually comes out sometimes soon.

My house was hit by lightning so I lost all my computers, tv, phones, anything plugged into my walls. So I am looking to build me another gaming machine but within somewhat of a budget.

My old machine was:
AMD x2 6400+ BlackEdition
ZEROtherm BTF90 92mm (CPU Fan)
4gb ddr2 pc6400 (2x2gb)
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 AM2
BFG9600GT (Video)
RaidMax Smilidon Extreme Black
I cant recall what Power Supply I was using


I used the computer for everything:
World of Warcraft-ing, CoD4-ing, Video Editing, Music Mixing, Movie Watching, etc.

I have been without a good machine sense February. I have beat the withdrawals but I am now just getting bored. I have already bought a video card, MSI ATI Radeon HD4890 OC 1GB DDR5. Hopefully I will make the best choice when I pick the processor and Motherboard.
 04/14/2009 10:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Zodgrod009
Overclocker

Posts: 679
Joined: 01/01/2009

Maybe buying some surge protectors might be a wise investment

-------------------------
AMD 940 PH2 BE @ 3.7 Ghz ArcticFreezer 64 pro
Asus M3A79-T Deluxe
Patriot 4GB pc8500 DDR2 1066@5-5-5-15
Antec Quattro 850 Watt PSU
Asus 5770 1GB DDR5 850/1200
Sound blaster Audigy. w/2.1 surround Logitech speakers
Antec 900 case w/4 120mm fans 1 200mm fan
 04/14/2009 10:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jyoung
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 04/13/2009

yep I have bought quite a few for my new items.

Actually the reason my computer got hit was because of my Ethernet cable. They computer itself was plugged into a nice power surge protector. The surge took out my modem, and router which I did not have plugged in, then ran down the network line .
 04/14/2009 10:59 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
grndragon57
Senior Member

Posts: 610
Joined: 10/10/2007

The Phenom II X3 710 might be a good option. It is clocked a little higher than the 910 and having 1 less core won't make much if any difference for gaming. If you do a lot of video editing the X4's might be better though.

Had the same thing happen last summer, took out my cable modem and 3 televisions. Fortunately all the computers survived.

-------------------------
Athlon 64 X2 4800 @ 3000mhz, Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro, Biostar 520 A2, 2x1gb G.Skill DDR2 800, EVGA 8800 GT, Corsair VX450, Cooler Master Centurion 534,

Phenom II 720 @ 3700mhz, Zigmatek Dark Knight S1283V, EVGA 730a, 2x2gb G.Skill PI-Black DDR2 1066, EVGA GTX 260, Corsair VX550, CM 690 Case
 04/14/2009 06:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
hrmchan
Junior Member

Posts: 20
Joined: 12/15/2007

Jyoung

I don't quite understand your comment, regarding the "better cache" on the 910.

For $10 price dif between the 910 and the 920 at NewEgg today, you lose 2mb of L3 and 200mHz ... how is that better. ??????????????????????????????

Frankly, for another $30bucks it makes no cents to not go to the 940 and the top of the deneb line and start your OC'ing from 3Ghz. Plus the 940s are all cut from the best of the silicons and will most likely OC'ing higher than any other PII 45nm

-------------------------
PHENOM x4 9850 Black, MSI K9A2, GSkill 2Gb 1066, EVGA 8800GTS, RX950 PSU 950w
AMD64X2 4000, Biostar TF7050, pMEDIAPC HTPC, EVA 8800 GTS
AMD64X2 4200+, LanParty UT UltraD 939, MSI 8800GTS
AMDXP1800+,IWILL XP333, ATI8500
AMDXP1600+ "AGOGA", ATI 8500, IWILL KA266R
AMDXP1600+ "2.4gHz AG0IA w/128w Peltier", IWILL KK266, ATI 8500 (oc'ed+modded)
AMDXP1500+,"AXDA", Epox EP8RDA+, ATI 8500
AMD 1.2gHz T-Bird, Epox EP8K7, ATI 8500

Edited: 04/14/2009 at 07:21 PM by hrmchan
 04/14/2009 09:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jyoung
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 04/13/2009

Maybe that is the route i need to go then. Than you

What motherboard do you like with the 940's and I want to use DDR3
 04/14/2009 11:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
grndragon57
Senior Member

Posts: 610
Joined: 10/10/2007

hrmchan- the 910 the 910 is not listed on Newegg. The 910 has the same cache as the 920 and 940. It is the X4 810 that has the smaller cache.

910 http://products.amd.com/en-us/...8=&f9=&f10=False&f11=

940 http://products.amd.com/en-us/...8=&f9=&f10=False&f11=

810 http://products.amd.com/en-us/...8=&f9=&f10=False&f11=

However you are right the better choices are the 920 and 940. Or if you don't need 4 cores the 710.

-------------------------
Athlon 64 X2 4800 @ 3000mhz, Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro, Biostar 520 A2, 2x1gb G.Skill DDR2 800, EVGA 8800 GT, Corsair VX450, Cooler Master Centurion 534,

Phenom II 720 @ 3700mhz, Zigmatek Dark Knight S1283V, EVGA 730a, 2x2gb G.Skill PI-Black DDR2 1066, EVGA GTX 260, Corsair VX550, CM 690 Case
 04/21/2009 02:05 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mundano
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 04/21/2009

The 910 is the highest end AMD chip available that supports DDR3 from what I can tell from their site. Only AM3 socket chips support DDR3. The 920 and 940 are AM2+...only DDR2.
 04/22/2009 04:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stuck at home
Member

Posts: 55
Joined: 04/19/2009

The PhenomII x940 is back in stock at Newegg for $189 with free shipping!!!

-------------------------
Phenom II X4 940be overclocked to 3.4
Gigabyte 790x-UD4P
8GB of Patriot Viper Extreme RAM (4x2) DDR2 800MHz running at 4-4-4-12 2.1v
Western Digital 320GB Sata
Lite-On DVD-RW
MSI ATI 4560 512MB PCI-E 16x video card
19" HP lcd monitor
World of Warcraft junkie
win7 RC 64bit
still no case
 04/22/2009 07:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NemesisChild
ROGue Warrior

Posts: 2978
Joined: 11/28/2008

The 940 does not support DDR3, only the soon to be released 945 and 955 do!
To use DDR3 memory, you need a mobo that supports DDR3.
ASUS makes some decent DDR3 boards, just look them up on Newegg and research them before buying one.

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1100T B.E.@ 4.26GHz
Corsair H70 Core Hydro
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX@ 1894MHz, 9-10-9-28
SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 570's@ 902/1804/2032
Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Corsair HX850W Modular
Cooler Master HAF 922
2x Win 7 Home Premium (x64)
 04/22/2009 08:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stuck at home
Member

Posts: 55
Joined: 04/19/2009

I am upgrading to an AMD machine mainly because of the price difference of the intel and AMD hardware. I know the 940 is AM2+ but is the performance difference between the 940 and the am3 processors worth buying the am3 hardware(mobo and ddr3 ram) I bought a ddr2 mobo but can still run and am3 processor later.. Many forums are only talking a 5% to 10% performance jump going to the new ddr3. am I missing something?

-------------------------
Phenom II X4 940be overclocked to 3.4
Gigabyte 790x-UD4P
8GB of Patriot Viper Extreme RAM (4x2) DDR2 800MHz running at 4-4-4-12 2.1v
Western Digital 320GB Sata
Lite-On DVD-RW
MSI ATI 4560 512MB PCI-E 16x video card
19" HP lcd monitor
World of Warcraft junkie
win7 RC 64bit
still no case
 04/25/2009 10:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mundano
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 04/21/2009

Now it might not make a big difference but your limiting yourself from future upgrades, DDR3 is the new stuff if you don't have compatability now a year or two down the road when you want to upgrade you'll be out of luck.

MSI makes several AM3 socket boards.
 04/27/2009 02:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dandaletas
Member

Posts: 36
Joined: 04/27/2008

We have Lithuania Phenom 910 can not be purchased, as the 925, which is intended only for the OEM market .. With both of these CPU is the same.

And we have these processors were very welcome, and many who bought them for a good price \ performance ratio.

After all, much more pleasant to meet the same computer, or purchase already completed.

-------------------------
MSI K9A2 Platinum bios 1.5
AMD Sempron 3400+
A-DATA G-series DDR 2 4GB
Zalman HP 500W
X550XT
(edited 2008.10.06)
 06/12/2009 02:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Trinidad
Junior Member

Posts: 8
Joined: 08/11/2007

I know I'm late to this thread, but no one's mentioned the other positive of the 910; that is, the 95 Watt thermal power rating.

I believe it's the only Phenom quad-core, with 6 MB L3, at 95 Watts. I've been looking for some benchmarks, but haven't found any. Currently, it's not listed on NewEgg.com, either, so I can't read any reviews or compare it's pricing.

If the price is right, this could be a contender for best 'bang for the buck', don't ya think?

AMD Phenom II Comparisons
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information