AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Need confirmation on maximum operating temperature
Topic Summary: cpu or core?
Created On: 09/12/2009 01:20 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/12/2009 01:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Merlin5
Member

Posts: 25
Joined: 09/09/2009

I've tried for ages to find out which temp refers to max operating temp and keep on getting differing opinions on different forums. My phenom II x2 550BE is apparently rated at 70c max operating temp. My CORE temp idles at 32c and goes to 44c under load with prime95. My CPU temp, as read in BIOS, easytune6, and various other apps, idles at 47c, and load 58c with prime 95. All with stock cooler.

Which is the one that SHOULD NOT go to 70c?

CORE?

or

CPU?

I've read that intel say cpu temp is their rated max. But I also know of someone who emailed AMD and they told him the core temp is the max specified. So it's confusing.

I'd really appreciate a definitive answer please, not guessing. Many thanks!

-------------------------
Phenom II x2 550BE @3.1GHz *HIS 4870 1GB
*OCZ ModXstream Pro 700w *WD 1TB RE3 sata-II 32mb
*Patriot Viper 2x2GB DDR2 6400@ EPP 4-4-4-12
*Thermalright HR-03-GT
*Coolermaster Dominator CM690
*GA-MA770-UD3 rev 2.0 motherboard bios FD
*Thermalright 120 Ultra Extreme Rev C + Sharkoon SE 2000 + Arctic Cooling MX-2
 09/12/2009 01:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
geezer_wheelz
Elite

Posts: 1462
Joined: 09/23/2006

Hi
Max temp for your CPU is 70°C, as stated here.

The temperature it is referring to is the CPU temperature not the core temps.

-------------------------
Asus M4A79 Deluxe, Phenom II 940 BE, 20,770 3D06

Asus Moderator ~ My CPU Overheating Guide
 09/12/2009 01:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Merlin5
Member

Posts: 25
Joined: 09/09/2009

Originally posted by: geezer_wheelz

Hi

Max temp for your CPU is 70°C, as stated here.



The temperature it is referring to is the CPU temperature not the core temps.


Thanks a lot.

-------------------------
Phenom II x2 550BE @3.1GHz *HIS 4870 1GB
*OCZ ModXstream Pro 700w *WD 1TB RE3 sata-II 32mb
*Patriot Viper 2x2GB DDR2 6400@ EPP 4-4-4-12
*Thermalright HR-03-GT
*Coolermaster Dominator CM690
*GA-MA770-UD3 rev 2.0 motherboard bios FD
*Thermalright 120 Ultra Extreme Rev C + Sharkoon SE 2000 + Arctic Cooling MX-2
 09/12/2009 02:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
geezer_wheelz
Elite

Posts: 1462
Joined: 09/23/2006

 09/12/2009 02:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Merlin5
Member

Posts: 25
Joined: 09/09/2009

Originally posted by: geezer_wheelz



You wouldn't believe how much that puts my mind at rest. At least I know now
which temp to look at if I ever decided to overclock.

-------------------------
Phenom II x2 550BE @3.1GHz *HIS 4870 1GB
*OCZ ModXstream Pro 700w *WD 1TB RE3 sata-II 32mb
*Patriot Viper 2x2GB DDR2 6400@ EPP 4-4-4-12
*Thermalright HR-03-GT
*Coolermaster Dominator CM690
*GA-MA770-UD3 rev 2.0 motherboard bios FD
*Thermalright 120 Ultra Extreme Rev C + Sharkoon SE 2000 + Arctic Cooling MX-2
 09/12/2009 02:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

Would highly recommend you not allow it to hit the 70c mark much if you want it to live long.

When it comes to longevity of the hardware, temperature plays the biggest part hands down.

Ideal would be to not let it ever pass 58c to 60c tops.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 09/12/2009 03:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Merlin5
Member

Posts: 25
Joined: 09/09/2009

Originally posted by: PC-GURU -

Would highly recommend you not allow it to hit the 70c mark much if you want it to live long.



When it comes to longevity of the hardware, temperature plays the biggest part hands down.



Ideal would be to not let it ever pass 58c to 60c tops.


Why do some people with amd processors show cpu lower than core, and others like me, have cpu higher than core?

-------------------------
Phenom II x2 550BE @3.1GHz *HIS 4870 1GB
*OCZ ModXstream Pro 700w *WD 1TB RE3 sata-II 32mb
*Patriot Viper 2x2GB DDR2 6400@ EPP 4-4-4-12
*Thermalright HR-03-GT
*Coolermaster Dominator CM690
*GA-MA770-UD3 rev 2.0 motherboard bios FD
*Thermalright 120 Ultra Extreme Rev C + Sharkoon SE 2000 + Arctic Cooling MX-2
 02/20/2010 04:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mukarakaplan
Newbie

Posts: 6
Joined: 02/20/2010

geezer_wheelz, I searched everywhere in the AMD's website, but I can't find the product details page that you showed for my processor (Phenom II X4 965). I think the maximum temperature would be the same (70) but I still want to see it on their pages just to be %100 sure.
 02/20/2010 04:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
B-Shot
Case Modder

Posts: 1212
Joined: 05/18/2009

 02/20/2010 06:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mukarakaplan
Newbie

Posts: 6
Joined: 02/20/2010

Thanks. I wonder how you can find this page so easily and I can't for hours... I still cannot find the page which has the link to this page. I think I will bookmark the link you gave, otherwise I'll not be able to find it from AMD's site by myself.
 02/20/2010 06:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
QB the Slayer
Case Modder

Posts: 1304
Joined: 01/23/2010

I have a question that fits in here... What is the safe operating temp of the NorthBridge? I have a 790GX and I think the 4th temp that is recorded in SpeedFan is my NB... everest does not show this temp, but SF does and it rises when I stress test the system... so what is the max for a 790GX NB?

QB

-------------------------

The MONSTER HTPC

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 965 C2 (140W).||.Cooler: Corsair H80i
MB: Gigabyte 990FXA-UD7.||.RAM: 8 GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2000MHz (7-10-8-27-1T)
Case: CoolerMaster HAF 932.||.PSU: Corsair HX750
GPU:HIS IceQ 5 Radeon HD 5770 Turbo 1GB.||.Audio: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro w/ Logitech Z-5300e (5.1, 280W-RMS)
Drive: 2xKingston SSD 40GB RAID0.||.Storage: 6TB (4x500GB Caviar Black RAID0, 2TB Hitachi & 2TB Caviar Green)
 02/20/2010 07:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NemesisChild
ROGue Warrior

Posts: 2978
Joined: 11/28/2008

That's a good question, I believe AMD OverDrive would report the NB voltage and temp.

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1100T B.E.@ 4.26GHz
Corsair H70 Core Hydro
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX@ 1894MHz, 9-10-9-28
SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 570's@ 902/1804/2032
Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Corsair HX850W Modular
Cooler Master HAF 922
2x Win 7 Home Premium (x64)
 02/20/2010 08:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
unclefester1
Overclocker

Posts: 629
Joined: 11/29/2008

Don't know 100% if Gigabyte and ASUS are the same, but the max for my 790FX is 55C. You can download Everest Ultimate to monitor temps. http://www.lavalys.com/product...lang=en&page=11

It will look like this



-------------------------
Antec 1650B
PC Power & Cooling Silencer 910w
ASUS M3A79-T DeLuxe
1090T x6 @Boiling in the La-Boratory
Corsair H70
OCZ Reaper 8500 2x2 *Pending
ASUS 5970 (under OC investigation)
EVGA 260 55nm (holding pattern)
SeaGate 320x2 16GB Sata
Creative X-Fi Elite Pro
Logitech Z-5500
XP Pro SP2
 02/20/2010 08:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
QB the Slayer
Case Modder

Posts: 1304
Joined: 01/23/2010

Yeah... I have that temp.... it is a MB temp.... basically an ambient case temp... but in SpeedFan I have a 4th temp that is the NB (at least I am pretty sure it is) and that is what I want to know.... so 55c is the 790FX max NB temp as per Asus? Sounds about right.

it is the "Temp3" that SpeedFan reports... last night while stressing with OCCT large data set this climbed to 54c and sat there... so I guess that might be as far as I push it.

-------------------------

The MONSTER HTPC

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 965 C2 (140W).||.Cooler: Corsair H80i
MB: Gigabyte 990FXA-UD7.||.RAM: 8 GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2000MHz (7-10-8-27-1T)
Case: CoolerMaster HAF 932.||.PSU: Corsair HX750
GPU:HIS IceQ 5 Radeon HD 5770 Turbo 1GB.||.Audio: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro w/ Logitech Z-5300e (5.1, 280W-RMS)
Drive: 2xKingston SSD 40GB RAID0.||.Storage: 6TB (4x500GB Caviar Black RAID0, 2TB Hitachi & 2TB Caviar Green)
 02/20/2010 10:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Liqourice
Case Modder

Posts: 1616
Joined: 08/31/2008

Speedfan reads just about everything wrong on my Crosshair III motherboard. CPU and Core temp is correct, otherwise it shows -128 for the rest.

Since I have the small display with temperature info on I know that there are sensors for MB, NB and SB as well.. but since I have that I don't need anything else to monitor temps anyway.

-------------------------
Main Rig:
Cooler Master HAF 932 Full Tower : Corsair 750HX Modular PSU : Asus Crosshair III Formula : Phenom II X4 965 125W
Corsair H-50 CPU Cooler : Corsair Dominator GT DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20-1T 2x2GB : WD Caviar Black 32MB 640GB : Sapphire HD5870 Vapor-X
HTPC:
Antec Fusion Remote Black : ASUS M4A785TD-M EVO : Athlon II X2 240e : Crucial BallistiX 1600 2GB x2
Corsair 400W : Sapphire Radeon HD6850 : Lite-On iHBS112 BD-Burner : WD Caviar Green 500 GB
 02/20/2010 10:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
slaveondope
Case Modder

Posts: 1592
Joined: 01/25/2010

Any got any ideas why an athlonIIx4 has a 71c max and a phenomIIx4 has 62c? Since an athlon is just a phenom with the L3 cut out basically. All i can figure is the L3 cache cant take the heat.....ideas?

-------------------------
More Advanced Micro Devices than Intel
 02/21/2010 05:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JerryB52
Newbie

Posts: 14
Joined: 02/12/2010

Originally posted by: mukarakaplan

Thanks. I wonder how you can find this page so easily and I can't for hours... I still cannot find the page which has the link to this page. I think I will bookmark the link you gave, otherwise I'll not be able to find it from AMD's site by myself.

I wondered the same thing so found this...

http://products.amd.com/en-us/DesktopCPUResult.aspx

Find your processor and click View Detail.

-------------------------
Phenom 8750 x3 2.4 GHz, 3 GB ram, NVidia GeForce 9500 GT

THE MAIN REASON THAT SANTA IS SO JOLLY IS BECAUSE HE KNOWS WHERE ALL THE BAD GIRLS LIVE.
 02/22/2010 12:04 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mukarakaplan
Newbie

Posts: 6
Joined: 02/20/2010

Thanks!
 02/22/2010 10:59 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SH
Overclocker

Posts: 388
Joined: 08/13/2008

After 2 years of worrying about my 5200+ cause it got to the 70ºs I finally discovered that my mobo has a broken temperature sensor.
How do I know for sure? I took my 5200+ and installed it in a friend's mobo; and temps never got past 50º!!!! And then, when I install the X3 435 into my mobo guess what! Temps climb all the way up to 68º again!!! But core temps never get past 45º. The only weird thing is that all 3 cores have at all times the same temperature, regardless of their load. I believe they all share just 1 sensor...
 02/22/2010 05:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Liqourice
Case Modder

Posts: 1616
Joined: 08/31/2008

Core temps aren't measured by any sensor(s). They're calculated so if something is wrong with the motherboard that could be the reason for that effect.

-------------------------
Main Rig:
Cooler Master HAF 932 Full Tower : Corsair 750HX Modular PSU : Asus Crosshair III Formula : Phenom II X4 965 125W
Corsair H-50 CPU Cooler : Corsair Dominator GT DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20-1T 2x2GB : WD Caviar Black 32MB 640GB : Sapphire HD5870 Vapor-X
HTPC:
Antec Fusion Remote Black : ASUS M4A785TD-M EVO : Athlon II X2 240e : Crucial BallistiX 1600 2GB x2
Corsair 400W : Sapphire Radeon HD6850 : Lite-On iHBS112 BD-Burner : WD Caviar Green 500 GB
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information