AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Phenom 965: Core Temps 10-12C higher then CPU temp
Topic Summary:
Created On: 09/22/2009 12:13 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/22/2009 12:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hister
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 09/22/2009

Phenom 965: Core Temps 10-12C higher then CPU temp.
Is it normal or how it can be helped? What is safe max temp for core of Phenom II?

phenom II x4 965
asus lion square
GA-MA790FX-DQ6 bios f7b
4x1gb ddr2-800 Qimonda
Asus EN8800GTX

Edited: 09/22/2009 at 01:58 PM by Hister
 09/22/2009 01:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
B-Shot
Case Modder

Posts: 1212
Joined: 05/18/2009

62c. is the max temp for the 955. The HSF is the same as the 955 but the 965 has a higher vcore @stock settings,so it will run a bit hotter than the 955
you may want to reapply the HSF wit some high quality TIM like MX-2 or AC-5. If you do hours of gaming or wanting to overclock i would recommend a new HSF like this one, or similar rifle cooler your budget allows.
 09/22/2009 01:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
skline00
Fanboi

Posts: 72
Joined: 07/12/2007

In addition to a better heatsink, I notice you are running 4 hds which obviously increases heat. Tell us more. The make of your case. How many fans? I notice per Hardware monitor (I use that also) that a fan is only running at 1155rpm. Why so low? Sounds like a lot of heat building up.

-------------------------
PhnmII X6 1100T@4 Ghz;CM Hyp212EVO p/p;Asus Sabbertooth 990FX;8g Gskill DDR3-1600;XFX 6970 XXX;Intel X25-V 40g;SsngF3 500gb;;Win7 home 64;Antec 750Gamer psu;
 09/22/2009 01:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hister
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 09/22/2009

ok
I have
Asus Lion Square 92mm Vapo Bearing CPU Cooler

Thermaltake Eureka

3x 120-mm fans

max load (prime95)



when render hd-video core temps 62C

idle
 09/22/2009 02:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
geezer_wheelz
Elite

Posts: 1462
Joined: 09/23/2006

How much airflow does that case give you? Especially in the front?
I could not tell from the pictures, but the door looks solid.

I know that you have to have a decent case with lots of airflow.
When I changed to a ThermalTake V9 case I had a 40°C drop in CPU temps!!

-------------------------
Asus M4A79 Deluxe, Phenom II 940 BE, 20,770 3D06

Asus Moderator ~ My CPU Overheating Guide
 09/22/2009 02:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NemesisChild
ROGue Warrior

Posts: 2978
Joined: 11/28/2008

I never trust the core temp readings in HWMonitor, theyr'e usually not accurate.
So, the CPU reading under "Temperatures" is the temp that you should monitor.
Judging by your screen shots, your load temps are a bit high, but fine.

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1100T B.E.@ 4.26GHz
Corsair H70 Core Hydro
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX@ 1894MHz, 9-10-9-28
SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 570's@ 902/1804/2032
Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Corsair HX850W Modular
Cooler Master HAF 922
2x Win 7 Home Premium (x64)
 09/22/2009 03:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hister
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 09/22/2009

my english is not very good, but i try to explain
my case is open, because when it closed Core temps rises to 65C and more when I render HD

to NemesisChild

I try 3 different programs(Everest, HWMonitor,OSSTP) , and all of them show one result

Render HD-project - 8-10 hours on max load, i am fear for my CPU
 09/22/2009 03:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
geezer_wheelz
Elite

Posts: 1462
Joined: 09/23/2006

Then I would say you have case issues then.
You need one fan at the front, it is best if it is sucking air into the case and mounted as low as possible.
Exhaust fans should be blowing air out of the case and mounted as high as possible.

The bigger the fans that you can mount in those positions the better.
Also make sure the inside computer cables are not blocking airflow inside the case.

-------------------------
Asus M4A79 Deluxe, Phenom II 940 BE, 20,770 3D06

Asus Moderator ~ My CPU Overheating Guide
 09/22/2009 03:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hister
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 09/22/2009

Previous processor Phenom 9950 - max temp was 50C
Airflow in case is good, cables are not blocking
First 120mm fan flow on cpu radiator, 3x - cooling hard drives, 1 - under videocard(additionally to videocard cooling)
Temp in case = room temp

 09/22/2009 04:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NemesisChild
ROGue Warrior

Posts: 2978
Joined: 11/28/2008

Oh, I now see your running a 965, it's a 140w CPU and will generate heat quickly.
Again, I wouldn't use the individual core temps to monitor your CPU temps.
As as an example, with Everest, my core temps are at 41c, while my CPU temp reads 37c for my 940.
When I run Everest stress tests, I only monitor the CPU reading, not the individual core temps.

So chill, you should be fine!

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1100T B.E.@ 4.26GHz
Corsair H70 Core Hydro
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX@ 1894MHz, 9-10-9-28
SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 570's@ 902/1804/2032
Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Corsair HX850W Modular
Cooler Master HAF 922
2x Win 7 Home Premium (x64)
 09/22/2009 10:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
skline00
Fanboi

Posts: 72
Joined: 07/12/2007

Install a better (high speed) exhaust fan and install an intake fan in the front. I use an old Antec 1200 server case with 2 80mm Panaflo HO fans in the rar and 1 in the front. With my Zalman9900HS pushing the heat back through the 2 exhaust fans, my system is very cool.

-------------------------
PhnmII X6 1100T@4 Ghz;CM Hyp212EVO p/p;Asus Sabbertooth 990FX;8g Gskill DDR3-1600;XFX 6970 XXX;Intel X25-V 40g;SsngF3 500gb;;Win7 home 64;Antec 750Gamer psu;
 10/10/2009 02:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hister
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 09/22/2009

Problem was solved after update BIOS to F7d version
Core temps now detect correctly.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information