AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: FPS problems in games phenom 2 quad core 2.4, 275 GTX.
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/16/2009 09:14 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 3 Previous Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/16/2009 03:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

Out of them 2 I would have to go the 550 BE phenom II.

I use this cooler Link

These are my temps at 3.816 Ghz full time stable @ Idle 955 BE quad



Loaded my temps are never over 52c on the CPU.

Like I said CPU speed is only 1 part of the equation.

For in game FPS performance the key components are,

CPU
North bridge
Memory
GPU
PSU

One part is lacking it all unravels fast.

CPU = Phenom II dual triple or quad 3.2 Ghz to 3.5 Ghz Ideal
North Bridge = 2.4 Ghz to 2.6 Ghz Ideal

Memory = DDR 2 1066 5 5 5 15 or DDR 3 1600 7 7 7 24 or DDR 3 1333 6 6 6 21 4 GB minimal for games.

GPU 275 GTX = OC to superclocked speeds by increasing the stock fan speeds some. 713/1512/2520 FTW speeds or 684/1512/2430 for superclocked.

PSU = 650 watt to 750 watt Ideal 83% efficency or better with minimal 52 amps 12+ rail or better. 750 watt corsair 750xt recommended

Address these issues and your going to find your gaming experience increase 10 fold. You will find that you can run higher eye candy with a lot smoother game play.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 10/16/2009 04:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
slacker83
Junior Member

Posts: 19
Joined: 10/16/2009

Here's what I was thinking of buying when I have the money:

http://www.pcgarage.ro/proceso...-310-ghz-skt-am3-box/
http://www.pcgarage.ro/surse/corsair/cmpsu-750txeu/
http://www.pcgarage.ro/coolere...ooling/alpine-64-pro/

Tell me if its good or bad.Idk what i'm going to do with the old parts, maybe sell them or something, no idea, wasted alot of money and I feel like s**t.
Cheers!
 10/16/2009 04:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

CPU = good

PSU = Great

Cooler = to small and just wont work.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 10/16/2009 04:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
slacker83
Junior Member

Posts: 19
Joined: 10/16/2009

 10/16/2009 04:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

that would work for stock and light overclocks to say 3.2 Ghz tops.

You need better if you plan to get that 3.5 to 3.7 Ghz stable.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 10/16/2009 04:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
slacker83
Junior Member

Posts: 19
Joined: 10/16/2009

Can you give me an example?

I didn't find yours btw.
 10/16/2009 04:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

you need one that's 92 mm and offers more surface area on the cooler.

Thus bigger and better.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 10/16/2009 05:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
B-Shot
Case Modder

Posts: 1212
Joined: 05/18/2009

Go back to 189.xx or 188.xx drivers, my 275 games like crap with the 19x.xx drivers.
 10/16/2009 05:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

285 GTX just loves the 191.03 and didnt like the 191.07 lol.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 10/16/2009 07:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NemesisChild
ROGue Warrior

Posts: 2978
Joined: 11/28/2008

This is a great CPU cooler, I own three of the original Artic Freezer 64 Pro.

The newer (Rev. 2) Freezer 7 Pro looks like it's comaptible with AMD as well:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/...x?Item=N82E16835186134

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1100T B.E.@ 4.26GHz
Corsair H70 Core Hydro
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX@ 1894MHz, 9-10-9-28
SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 570's@ 902/1804/2032
Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Corsair HX850W Modular
Cooler Master HAF 922
2x Win 7 Home Premium (x64)
 10/16/2009 07:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

the problem is hes in the UK lol.

So showing him stuff off newegg isn't helping.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 10/16/2009 09:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NemesisChild
ROGue Warrior

Posts: 2978
Joined: 11/28/2008

Originally posted by: PC-GURU -

the problem is hes in the UK lol.



So showing him stuff off newegg isn't helping.


oops, sorry mate

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1100T B.E.@ 4.26GHz
Corsair H70 Core Hydro
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX@ 1894MHz, 9-10-9-28
SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 570's@ 902/1804/2032
Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Corsair HX850W Modular
Cooler Master HAF 922
2x Win 7 Home Premium (x64)
 10/17/2009 05:34 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
slacker83
Junior Member

Posts: 19
Joined: 10/16/2009

I'm actually from romania, but its ok, i'll just search those parts on my local websites.

And I just found them, I think.Tell me wich one of them I should get.

http://www.pcgarage.ro/coolere...g/freezer-64-pro-pwm/
http://www.pcgarage.ro/coolere...freezer-xtreme-rev-2/

Cheers!
 10/17/2009 10:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
RBR
Case Modder

Posts: 1099
Joined: 01/22/2005

Originally posted by: slacker83
In the first month I was playing crysis for example on very high settings (Hack tool) and I had a pretty good fps, now im getting like 20-25 fps, not playeable, World of wacraft runs on about 20-45 fps when NOT in a major city, I heard other people getting about 80- 90 fps in wow on a much lower performance pc than mine.I'm really frustrated, I tried everything to solve this, like installing 3 versions of windows, reformated my HDD, got the latest drivers and none of this solved my problem, i'm still getting 20 fps in wow and 25 in crysis etc.


I'm just curious why your system ran well for a month on the current hardware and has now lost performance? Have you been able to determine the cause of this? Maybe an earlier driver version as already mentioned by B-Shot was giving you better results.

-------------------------
 10/17/2009 03:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
slacker83
Junior Member

Posts: 19
Joined: 10/16/2009

Well, I actually thought it was running well, until I ran windows 7, then I thought something was wrong with my pc not knowing that windows xp couldn't max out all games.
Kinda noobish yeah I know...
 10/17/2009 05:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
B-Shot
Case Modder

Posts: 1212
Joined: 05/18/2009

Did you reinstall the MB drivers or check for updates for your MB with your current OS?
 10/17/2009 06:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
slacker83
Junior Member

Posts: 19
Joined: 10/16/2009

You mean XP? Yes I did. I reinstalled windows 7 now though.
 10/17/2009 07:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

Great that your installing windows 7 fresh.

But its still fact that your CPU is more business class then gaming class and it will bottleneck your 275 GTX.

Your PSU is a clear problem

Like I said, lot has to come into play for a gaming PC to run at its top possible efficiency. Your 275 GTX is capable of so much more.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 10/17/2009 08:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
slacker83
Junior Member

Posts: 19
Joined: 10/16/2009

Yeah I understand. I so regret buying those parts, I'll try calling the shop and see if I can return them back or exchange them but I doubt it. As soon as I have the money I'll probably buy the parts we were talking about earlier, until then I'll stick with these.
Btw, windows 7 rocks!
 10/17/2009 08:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

Ya Win 7 is nice. Still needs some work yet lol.

Its more stable then xp ever was but I still see a few odd problems now and then.

Using what you have now, OC the CPU you have as far as you can stable and get the 275 GTX up in clock some and try for better timings and clock speeds on your ram.

Push what you can out of her to get ya by for now.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)

Edited: 10/17/2009 at 09:00 PM by PC-GURU -
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information