AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Official Phenom II 125 watt 955 965 C3 BE Thread
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/11/2009 01:33 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Previous Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/11/2009 10:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JC
Elite

Posts: 1808
Joined: 10/19/2009

I'm running Prime 95, the hottest that I hit is 42C... Why are you hitting 50's

-------------------------


 11/11/2009 10:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

Originally posted by: jcocanour

I'm running Prime 95, the hottest that I hit is 42C... Why are you hitting 50's


Temp sensors are all different bud, Claims of low temps may or may not be the truth over all.

I know his board, Owned one lol. It reads temps higher then others.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 11/11/2009 10:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JC
Elite

Posts: 1808
Joined: 10/19/2009

What do you mean, claims of low temps...


This is at load.. prime 95.. please do explain

-------------------------


 11/11/2009 10:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NemesisChild
ROGue Warrior

Posts: 2978
Joined: 11/28/2008

Not sure, but my 955 and 940 both hit these same max. temps during the Everest torture test.
The difference is probably in the way Prime & Everest stress the CPU.
Everest stress all four cores at 100% and also stresses the FPU, cache, and memory.
Try Everest some time, I bet you won't see 42c again...lol

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1100T B.E.@ 4.26GHz
Corsair H70 Core Hydro
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX@ 1894MHz, 9-10-9-28
SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 570's@ 902/1804/2032
Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Corsair HX850W Modular
Cooler Master HAF 922
2x Win 7 Home Premium (x64)
 11/11/2009 10:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

Like he said use Everest ultimate stability test and Everest monitor to watch the temps and see a different picture.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 11/11/2009 10:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JC
Elite

Posts: 1808
Joined: 10/19/2009

Do you guys think that everest is a better stress tester?

-------------------------


 11/11/2009 10:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

Originally posted by: jcocanour

Do you guys think that everest is a better stress tester?




Try it!

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 11/11/2009 10:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NemesisChild
ROGue Warrior

Posts: 2978
Joined: 11/28/2008

SUCCESS!!!....Passed 1 hr. Everest stress at 3.9GHz

Vcore: 1.465v
NB@ 2600MHz (1.2875v)
Max. Everest stress test CPU temp: 52c

Now I need to figure out how to get 4.0GHz stable.
I almost passed at 1.475v, but it failed about 50 min. into the Everest test.

Any ideas???

I almost gave up on this chip...lol
If I couldn't hit at least 3.9GHz, it wouldn't be worth it 'cause my 955 did 3.84GHz.

Now onto some more overclocking....

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1100T B.E.@ 4.26GHz
Corsair H70 Core Hydro
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX@ 1894MHz, 9-10-9-28
SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 570's@ 902/1804/2032
Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Corsair HX850W Modular
Cooler Master HAF 922
2x Win 7 Home Premium (x64)
 11/11/2009 11:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JC
Elite

Posts: 1808
Joined: 10/19/2009

Nice job!!! When you say Vcore are you talking about the cpu voltage? What do your temps read with pc probe II just curious to compair vs everest temps..

Haha, i couldnt get my 955 past 3.4! so this cpu makes me very happy.

I'm running prime at 3.9Ghz cpu vlotage at 1.4125 as we speak..

-------------------------


 11/11/2009 11:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JC
Elite

Posts: 1808
Joined: 10/19/2009

Originally posted by: PC-GURU -

Originally posted by: jcocanour



Do you guys think that everest is a better stress tester?








Try it!


I'll give her a try after this pass on prime to compair.. I have everest, I've jsut heard that prime is the best. But I dont judge and i'm down for anything.. thanks guru..

-------------------------


 11/11/2009 11:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NemesisChild
ROGue Warrior

Posts: 2978
Joined: 11/28/2008

How long do you run Prime?

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1100T B.E.@ 4.26GHz
Corsair H70 Core Hydro
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX@ 1894MHz, 9-10-9-28
SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 570's@ 902/1804/2032
Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Corsair HX850W Modular
Cooler Master HAF 922
2x Win 7 Home Premium (x64)
 11/11/2009 11:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JC
Elite

Posts: 1808
Joined: 10/19/2009

I ran prime for 4.5hrs at 3.6Ghz, prime for 3.5hrs at 3.8Ghz... When i do my final burn in it will be for 24 hrs+...

-------------------------


 11/12/2009 12:04 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

The question is @ 1.46 volts how long will she run before she stats to degrade?

I give it 2 weeks tops.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 11/12/2009 12:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JC
Elite

Posts: 1808
Joined: 10/19/2009

Thats a good question. Are you guys that are running @ 3.8Ghz and up running that all the time.. is this bad for your cpu

-------------------------


 11/12/2009 12:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

I have noticed Problems with the 955 BE after runing it at 3.9 Ghz for over 1 month solid. I had to reduce to 3.8 Ghz and then I stareted to use cool n quite with my OC.

50% minimal to 100 % max in windows to keep this from becoming a problem in the future.

Yes long term high voltage will take its toll if you use your PC heavy and in gaming a lot.

This is my all day every day clocks.

Idle



Load (gaming)



I think you will find your CPU to live longer going with a cool n quite OC like this.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)

Edited: 11/12/2009 at 12:37 AM by PC-GURU -
 11/12/2009 12:38 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JC
Elite

Posts: 1808
Joined: 10/19/2009

So do you run oc'd when gaming and other demanding things, and stock when not. or can you run at lets say 3.8Ghz consistantly

-------------------------


 11/12/2009 12:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

Look at my last post, I used a cool n quite 50% to 100% OC for long term every day usage.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 11/12/2009 01:04 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NemesisChild
ROGue Warrior

Posts: 2978
Joined: 11/28/2008

Guru makes a good point here!

I'm planning to keep my 965 for an AM3 build, which should last at least a couple of years.

I keep C&Q enabled 100% of the time on my family's AMD comps.
I used to on my comp, but noticed CPU throttling during gaming sessions.
But thanks to modern technology, we can always disable C&Q when so desired.
So, I'm gonna rethink this whole C&Q issue again.

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1100T B.E.@ 4.26GHz
Corsair H70 Core Hydro
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX@ 1894MHz, 9-10-9-28
SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 570's@ 902/1804/2032
Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Corsair HX850W Modular
Cooler Master HAF 922
2x Win 7 Home Premium (x64)
 11/12/2009 01:06 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JC
Elite

Posts: 1808
Joined: 10/19/2009

Just crashed prime at 3.9Ghz after 1 hr and 45 min. cpu at 1.4250 v. need some sleep. let me know if we have any suggestions for 3.9Ghz... 3.9Ghz was only at 44c

-------------------------


 11/12/2009 01:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NemesisChild
ROGue Warrior

Posts: 2978
Joined: 11/28/2008

Originally posted by: jcocanour

Just crashed prime at 3.9Ghz after 1 hr and 45 min. cpu at 1.4250 v. need some sleep. let me know if we have any suggestions for 3.9Ghz... 3.9Ghz was only at 44c


I passed 3.9GHz with a Vcore (CPU voltage) of 1.45v, try it.

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1100T B.E.@ 4.26GHz
Corsair H70 Core Hydro
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX@ 1894MHz, 9-10-9-28
SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 570's@ 902/1804/2032
Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Corsair HX850W Modular
Cooler Master HAF 922
2x Win 7 Home Premium (x64)
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information