AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Athlon II X3 435 Core Voltage
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/19/2009 12:42 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/19/2009 12:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
&roo
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 11/19/2009

Hi

I have an Athlon II 435 processor (ADX435WFGIBOX) and am looking for info on what the core voltage should be. The AMD page here gives all the basic info but omits the voltage.

Can anyone give me or direct me to the voltage details for this processor?

I've seen a spec on a non AMD site that says 0.875V - 1.425V, if this is correct, where in this range would you run the processor for normal (non - overclocking) use? i.e. What voltage would a mainboard select on 'auto'?

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Cheers - Andy
 11/19/2009 01:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bigun08
Driod

Posts: 153
Joined: 12/14/2008

Andy.. welcome to the forum.. I have some moderate research and yours is an illusive one to be sure.. Odd how there is no voltage reading on the AMD sight.. I will keep looking and if get somewhere.. I will let you know

-------------------------
MSI NF980-G65
AMD Phenom II 1090T BE @ 4.1
4GB Gskill 1600
EVGA 570s Sli'd
160GB intel SSD boot drive
750 GB WD caviar black
300 GB WD raptor
Corsair HX1000
Cooler master Haf 932

Lappy- Alienware R2 I7
4GB ram
Samsung 256 SSD
 11/20/2009 07:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
&roo
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 11/19/2009

Hi

Thanks for looking at my post and the welcome. I've now got time to post a bit more info:

I'm using the processor in a Gigabyte GA-MA74GM-S2H (rev. 2.0) board with FC BIOS. This BIOS revision is updated for "AGESA 3.3.2.4 for AM3 CPU" and supports some of the Athlon II processors but not the 435 specifically.

The processor boots and works perfectly but the default CPU voltage is not correct. When I go into the BIOS it shows the "Normal" voltage to be 1.425 but when Windows XP boots CPUID shows it to be 1.52! If I go into the BIOS and set the CPU Voltage Control to -0.125v, CPUID shows the voltage to be 1.3v (1.425v - 0.125v). I've chosen to leave it run at this voltage based on CPUID screen shots for 'stock' tests shown on several review sites.

The processor is now running quite happily at 14.5 x 207Mhz = 3Ghz with these settings.

I'd still like to know what the AMD recommended voltage is for this chip.

Hopefully, Gigabyte will update the GA-MA74GM-S2H BIOS for these processors as they have with the rev 3 & 4 versions of this board recently. I raised a 'tech query' on this matter with them last weekend but it is still shown as being unopened.

Thanks again - Andy
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information