AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Hard Time Overclocking On Phenom II X4 965BE
Topic Summary: Phenom II X4 965BE (140watt) at 3.4ghz (stock)
Created On: 12/16/2009 04:50 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/16/2009 04:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bwmcmaste
Newbie

Posts: 4
Joined: 12/16/2009

Greetings all,

I'm hoping that someone can give me some advice. I've been scouring the web for advice on how to overclock my new proc, but it has all been to no avail. Everybody seems to be overclocking their procs to 4ghz or above and I can't get mine over 3.7 without stability issues (i.e. system not booting). The best that I was able to do was an unstable 3.8ghz. I've tried everything I can think of in the BIOS, but it seems that the multiplier just won't go above 18x, and the only way I can OC is by ramping up the FSB first. Here are my specs:

Phenom II X4 965BE (140watt version)
Asus Crosshair III Formula (790FX chipset w/ SB750)
4 gb of Corsair dual channel DDR3 (PC3 10700H -667Mhz) at 1.5v
Radeon HD 5770
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
Antec 900 Ultimate Gamer Case (4 case fans)
Antec EarthWatts EA 750W Power Supply w/ Quad +12V


Any help would be greatly appreciated. I'm not looking for a mad overclock, just something in the ballpark of what everyone else seems to be acheiving.
 12/16/2009 05:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NemesisChild
ROGue Warrior

Posts: 2978
Joined: 11/28/2008

Welcome to the forum!

There's no guarentee that you'll hit 3.8GHz & above, it's a roll of the dice when it comes to getting a good chip or not!

Maybe this will help:

http://www.techreaction.net/forums/showthread.php?t=367

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1100T B.E.@ 4.26GHz
Corsair H70 Core Hydro
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX@ 1894MHz, 9-10-9-28
SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 570's@ 902/1804/2032
Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Corsair HX850W Modular
Cooler Master HAF 922
2x Win 7 Home Premium (x64)
 12/17/2009 02:04 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bwmcmaste
Newbie

Posts: 4
Joined: 12/16/2009

Thanks. It seems that increasing my NB and HT clocks helped significantly. Now it's just a matter of getting my temperatures down. Here's what I have so far:

CPU: 3780Mhz @ 1.315v w/ 18x multiplier and 210 FSB
HyperTransport: 2310MHz
Northbridge Speed: 2310MHz (NB VID: 1.1000v. NB: 1.113v)
Memory Frequency: 840MHz (DDR Voltage: 1.776v)
HT & CPU NB Multipliers: Both at 11x

I'm going to let AOD stress test it overnight and see if it can stay below 60C (and hopefully not crash).
 12/17/2009 12:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NemesisChild
ROGue Warrior

Posts: 2978
Joined: 11/28/2008

Your CPU voltage looks to be too low for that overclock.
NB frequency sweet spot is 2400-2600MHz.
There's no real performance gain by increasing the HT Link.
However, I've found the HT Link at 2200MHz or so helps with texture loading, etc. during gaming.

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1100T B.E.@ 4.26GHz
Corsair H70 Core Hydro
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX@ 1894MHz, 9-10-9-28
SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 570's@ 902/1804/2032
Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Corsair HX850W Modular
Cooler Master HAF 922
2x Win 7 Home Premium (x64)
 12/30/2009 05:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
unr3alv1p3r
Newbie

Posts: 8
Joined: 12/30/2009

hi guys only got 965 be today had a 940 before that which would only got to 3.6.

take a look @ what the 965 can do!

http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=916505

-------------------------
AMD Phenom II X4 Quad Core 965 Black Edition 3.40GHz [HDZ965FBGMBOX]
Sapphire PURE AMDtm 790GX Chipset + AMDtmSB750 Chipset
SAPPHIRE HD5770 1GB GDDR5 PCIE
OCZ DDR2 PC2-9200 Reaper HPC Edition 4 x 1 gig
Western Digital Caviar Black 500GB SATA-II
Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 500GB SATA-II
Samsung SpinPoint F1 750GB SATA-II
Coolermaster Silent Pro Modular 700W Power Supply
Coolermaster Stacker 830 - Silver
H20-220 Apex CPU liquid cooling kit
 12/30/2009 07:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NemesisChild
ROGue Warrior

Posts: 2978
Joined: 11/28/2008

Originally posted by: unr3alv1p3r

hi guys only got 965 be today had a 940 before that which would only got to 3.6.



take a look @ what the 965 can do!



http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=916505


Nice, but is she 24/7 stable at 4.2GHz?

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1100T B.E.@ 4.26GHz
Corsair H70 Core Hydro
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX@ 1894MHz, 9-10-9-28
SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 570's@ 902/1804/2032
Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Corsair HX850W Modular
Cooler Master HAF 922
2x Win 7 Home Premium (x64)
 12/30/2009 08:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
unr3alv1p3r
Newbie

Posts: 8
Joined: 12/30/2009

she been running 12hours so far. played games cod6 benched and stressed no problem at all. she all stable under stress she runs @ 48c

-------------------------
AMD Phenom II X4 Quad Core 965 Black Edition 3.40GHz [HDZ965FBGMBOX]
Sapphire PURE AMDtm 790GX Chipset + AMDtmSB750 Chipset
SAPPHIRE HD5770 1GB GDDR5 PCIE
OCZ DDR2 PC2-9200 Reaper HPC Edition 4 x 1 gig
Western Digital Caviar Black 500GB SATA-II
Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 500GB SATA-II
Samsung SpinPoint F1 750GB SATA-II
Coolermaster Silent Pro Modular 700W Power Supply
Coolermaster Stacker 830 - Silver
H20-220 Apex CPU liquid cooling kit
 12/30/2009 10:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NemesisChild
ROGue Warrior

Posts: 2978
Joined: 11/28/2008

Originally posted by: unr3alv1p3r

she been running 12hours so far. played games cod6 benched and stressed no problem at all. she all stable under stress she runs @ 48c


-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1100T B.E.@ 4.26GHz
Corsair H70 Core Hydro
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX@ 1894MHz, 9-10-9-28
SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 570's@ 902/1804/2032
Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Corsair HX850W Modular
Cooler Master HAF 922
2x Win 7 Home Premium (x64)
 12/30/2009 10:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NemesisChild
ROGue Warrior

Posts: 2978
Joined: 11/28/2008

Originally posted by: unr3alv1p3r

she been running 12hours so far. played games cod6 benched and stressed no problem at all. she all stable under stress she runs @ 48c


Nice job, please keep us posted on your progress!!!

Another forum member (pcnazz) just got the 965 and is in the process of stability testing above 4.1GHz.
He is also on liquid cooling as well as moorhen2, haven't heard from him lately.

Please post your overclocking results in this thread:

http://forums.amd.com/forum/me...d=121873&enterthread=y

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1100T B.E.@ 4.26GHz
Corsair H70 Core Hydro
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX@ 1894MHz, 9-10-9-28
SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 570's@ 902/1804/2032
Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Corsair HX850W Modular
Cooler Master HAF 922
2x Win 7 Home Premium (x64)

Edited: 12/30/2009 at 10:38 PM by NemesisChild
 12/31/2009 08:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
randomkid
Fanboi

Posts: 95
Joined: 11/03/2009

Originally posted by: unr3alv1p3r

hi guys only got 965 be today had a 940 before that which would only got to 3.6.



take a look @ what the 965 can do!



http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=916505

I check the validation & this is my first time to do so... what does "rejected" in CPU-Z means?

I quote:
"ID : 916505
Submitted by steve williams | Wed, 30 Dec 2009 23:40:56 +0100 | Rejected by CPU-Z 1.53"

-------------------------
MSI 790FX-GD70;AMDX3 720BE 4cores;Xigmatek-SD964;HIS HD4890 1GB iCoolerX4;4GB G.Skill DDR3 1600;2x500GB WD Black in RAID0; Corsair 620HX;Case AZZA Helios 910;Logitech Z-5500 5.1; 32"LG FullHD LCDTV; Samsung 17" 743NX
 12/31/2009 08:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
unr3alv1p3r
Newbie

Posts: 8
Joined: 12/30/2009

im not sure why cpuz has rejected either?
but heres a screen shot if you dont believe me.

I check the validation & this is my first time to do so... what does "rejected" in CPU-Z means? I quote: "ID : 916505 Submitted by steve williams | Wed, 30 Dec 2009 23:40:56 +0100 | Rejected by CPU-Z 1.53"


-------------------------
AMD Phenom II X4 Quad Core 965 Black Edition 3.40GHz [HDZ965FBGMBOX]
Sapphire PURE AMDtm 790GX Chipset + AMDtmSB750 Chipset
SAPPHIRE HD5770 1GB GDDR5 PCIE
OCZ DDR2 PC2-9200 Reaper HPC Edition 4 x 1 gig
Western Digital Caviar Black 500GB SATA-II
Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 500GB SATA-II
Samsung SpinPoint F1 750GB SATA-II
Coolermaster Silent Pro Modular 700W Power Supply
Coolermaster Stacker 830 - Silver
H20-220 Apex CPU liquid cooling kit
 12/31/2009 09:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
unr3alv1p3r
Newbie

Posts: 8
Joined: 12/30/2009

from what ive read online its an problem with cpuz 1.53 and amd pII

http://www.xtremesystems.org/f...wthread.php?p=4171326

http://www.overclock.net/intel...0-rejected-cpu-z.html

http://forum.canardpc.com/showthread.php?t=32858

-------------------------
AMD Phenom II X4 Quad Core 965 Black Edition 3.40GHz [HDZ965FBGMBOX]
Sapphire PURE AMDtm 790GX Chipset + AMDtmSB750 Chipset
SAPPHIRE HD5770 1GB GDDR5 PCIE
OCZ DDR2 PC2-9200 Reaper HPC Edition 4 x 1 gig
Western Digital Caviar Black 500GB SATA-II
Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 500GB SATA-II
Samsung SpinPoint F1 750GB SATA-II
Coolermaster Silent Pro Modular 700W Power Supply
Coolermaster Stacker 830 - Silver
H20-220 Apex CPU liquid cooling kit
 12/31/2009 09:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
randomkid
Fanboi

Posts: 95
Joined: 11/03/2009

I do believe your OC but just wondering why CPU-Z is rejecting it. I see the reason now based on your replies... That explains it then... Thanks!
Got a gem of a CPU there...

-------------------------
MSI 790FX-GD70;AMDX3 720BE 4cores;Xigmatek-SD964;HIS HD4890 1GB iCoolerX4;4GB G.Skill DDR3 1600;2x500GB WD Black in RAID0; Corsair 620HX;Case AZZA Helios 910;Logitech Z-5500 5.1; 32"LG FullHD LCDTV; Samsung 17" 743NX
 01/01/2010 06:28 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
unr3alv1p3r
Newbie

Posts: 8
Joined: 12/30/2009

no problem randomkid just want you to see for your self.
sure is a gem far the best cpu amd ever made which ive had the pleasure of owning.

-------------------------
AMD Phenom II X4 Quad Core 965 Black Edition 3.40GHz [HDZ965FBGMBOX]
Sapphire PURE AMDtm 790GX Chipset + AMDtmSB750 Chipset
SAPPHIRE HD5770 1GB GDDR5 PCIE
OCZ DDR2 PC2-9200 Reaper HPC Edition 4 x 1 gig
Western Digital Caviar Black 500GB SATA-II
Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 500GB SATA-II
Samsung SpinPoint F1 750GB SATA-II
Coolermaster Silent Pro Modular 700W Power Supply
Coolermaster Stacker 830 - Silver
H20-220 Apex CPU liquid cooling kit
 03/10/2010 08:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mugen-R
Newbie

Posts: 2
Joined: 03/10/2010

im new to this forum and having problems overclocking my 965 be cpu...
nothing stable at all.. even in stock clocks
i have asrock mobo m3a770de
ram dominators 1600 ddr3 dual channel 9 9 9 24
gpu ati hd 5850 @ stock

i suport amd and ati since amd k6 amd thunderbird (old models)
now im desperate please need help with the right multiplyers for my mopo as well as the rights voltages for stability (i think that there is the trick)

thanks in advance


sorry for bad enlish but i'm greek....

-------------------------
Win.dows: n. A thirty-two bit extension and graphical shell to a sixteen-bit patch to an eight-bit operating system
originally coded for a four-bit microprocessor which was written by a two-bit company that can't stand one bit of competition.
 03/10/2010 09:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NemesisChild
ROGue Warrior

Posts: 2978
Joined: 11/28/2008

Originally posted by: mugen-R

im new to this forum and having problems overclocking my 965 be cpu...

nothing stable at all.. even in stock clocks

i have asrock mobo m3a770de

ram dominators 1600 ddr3 dual channel 9 9 9 24

gpu ati hd 5850 @ stock



i suport amd and ati since amd k6 amd thunderbird (old models)

now im desperate please need help with the right multiplyers for my mopo as well as the rights voltages for stability (i think that there is the trick)



thanks in advance





sorry for bad enlish but i'm greek....


Welcome to the forum!

Everything will ever need to know about overclocking the 965:

http://forums.amd.com/forum/me...d=121873&enterthread=y

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1100T B.E.@ 4.26GHz
Corsair H70 Core Hydro
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX@ 1894MHz, 9-10-9-28
SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 570's@ 902/1804/2032
Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Corsair HX850W Modular
Cooler Master HAF 922
2x Win 7 Home Premium (x64)
 03/10/2010 10:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mugen-R
Newbie

Posts: 2
Joined: 03/10/2010

there was talking about the 125w edition i have 140w edition phenom ii on am3 shoket
i tried everithing log ago but nada.....
sometimes works fine sometimes not even post in bios...
im thinking of a bad chip i have bought.....

-------------------------
Win.dows: n. A thirty-two bit extension and graphical shell to a sixteen-bit patch to an eight-bit operating system
originally coded for a four-bit microprocessor which was written by a two-bit company that can't stand one bit of competition.
 03/11/2010 01:57 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NemesisChild
ROGue Warrior

Posts: 2978
Joined: 11/28/2008

lol, your sig is funny but please list your system components, maybe we can help you!

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1100T B.E.@ 4.26GHz
Corsair H70 Core Hydro
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX@ 1894MHz, 9-10-9-28
SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 570's@ 902/1804/2032
Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Corsair HX850W Modular
Cooler Master HAF 922
2x Win 7 Home Premium (x64)
 03/15/2010 10:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dragon965
Newbie

Posts: 17
Joined: 03/15/2010

Hi All,

I just bought My Phenom II 965 (C3) B.E and installed in on Friday last week,
by Sunday I was already starting to overclock it.

Got it running at 4.017Ghz at 1.46 Volts, on a GigaByte GA-MA785GM-US2H motherboard. Running very stable and all I did was raise the multiplier from 17 to 20. So I must have lucked out and got a really good processor...

All setting on the motherboard were at Auto, the 1.46Volts being measured in the BIOS and in Harware Monitor. AMD's Overdrive measures it being 1.4Volts

I was a little concerned about my temps, currently only using the stock cooler
but will be getting probably the Cooler Master H50 later. Currently I am idling at 43C
and on load I have not hit over 58C.

As a result I went back into the BIOS and Set its voltage options to normal, now showing 1.4 Volts in Monitoring programs, but temps still around 43C

Once I upgrade my Cooler I may try 4.1-4.2 Ghz, but I think I might have to start playing with the bus clocks at that point.

This is somewhat different than past 2 systems I overclocked. Both my last 2 systems were Dual Core Pentiums and overclocked to the max, I was 2.0GHz, the other 2.4, both overclocked to 3.0 and 3.2GHz

I was thinking next of upping Northbridge or HT frequency and then maybe a bit of an overclock on my older Radeon HD3650 prior to replacing it as well.

Any Suggestions?

-------------------------
AMD Phenom II X4 965BE 4.0Ghz @1.41V
Gigabyte GA-MA785gm-US2H Motherboard F6 BIOS
Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus with Dual fans
Cooler Master HAF 922 Case
4 GB OCZ Platinum DDR2 PC2-8500 1066 memory
Saphire Radeon HD3650
500 GB Western Digital SATA II hard drive
500 GB Seagate SATA II hard drive
Hauppauge WinTV HVR-1600 TV Tuner
 04/28/2010 10:46 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Milkbone
Newbie

Posts: 2
Joined: 04/28/2010

i guess im in the same boat here, i actually used AMD overdrive, got it to 3.672 on that. I'm fairly new ( at overclocking) to this trying to get some where near 4 ghz if not slightly higher. Last AMD was alot easier to overclock (just increased FSB on this one)my old Manchester then this one. Any suggestions and should i just not use the AMD overdrive.

-------------------------
AMD Phenom II X4 Quad Core 965 Black Edition 3.6GHZ
ASUS M4A79T Deluxe AM3 DDR3 AMD 790FX ATX AMD
SAPPHIRE Vapor-X HD5870 1GB GDDR5 PCIE
G.SKILL Ripjaws 8GB (4 x 2GB) DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666)
W.D. VelociRaptor 74GB SATA II 16MB Cache
W.D. Caviar Black 500GB SATA-II 32mb Cache
PC Power and Cooling 750W Crossfire Edition PSU
COOLER MASTER HAF 932 Black Steel
COOLER MASTER V8 120mm Rifle CPU Cooler
Windows 7 Pro 64 bit

Edited: 04/28/2010 at 11:01 AM by Milkbone
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information