AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Hard Time Overclocking On Phenom II X4 965BE
Topic Summary: Phenom II X4 965BE (140watt) at 3.4ghz (stock)
Created On: 12/16/2009 04:50 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 Previous Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/28/2010 12:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NemesisChild
ROGue Warrior

Posts: 2978
Joined: 11/28/2008

Originally posted by: Milkbone

i guess im in the same boat here, i actually used AMD overdrive, got it to 3.672 on that. I'm fairly new ( at overclocking) to this trying to get some where near 4 ghz if not slightly higher. Last AMD was alot easier to overclock (just increased FSB on this one)my old Manchester then this one. Any suggestions and should i just not use the AMD overdrive.


Welcome to the forum!

You hit the nail on the head, do not use AMD Overdrive to overclock your CPU.
Make all adjustments in the bios, try a straight multiplier overclock, leaving the FSB at default (200MHz).
Test stability, then try a combo of FSB and multiplier overclock.

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1100T B.E.@ 4.26GHz
Corsair H70 Core Hydro
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX@ 1894MHz, 9-10-9-28
SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 570's@ 902/1804/2032
Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Corsair HX850W Modular
Cooler Master HAF 922
2x Win 7 Home Premium (x64)
 04/28/2010 02:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Milkbone
Newbie

Posts: 2
Joined: 04/28/2010

Originally posted by: NemesisChild

Originally posted by: Milkbone



i guess im in the same boat here, i actually used AMD overdrive, got it to 3.672 on that. I'm fairly new ( at overclocking) to this trying to get some where near 4 ghz if not slightly higher. Last AMD was alot easier to overclock (just increased FSB on this one)my old Manchester then this one. Any suggestions and should i just not use the AMD overdrive.




Welcome to the forum!



You hit the nail on the head, do not use AMD Overdrive to overclock your CPU.

Make all adjustments in the bios, try a straight multiplier overclock, leaving the FSB at default (200MHz).

Test stability, then try a combo of FSB and multiplier overclock.


Thanks, i will try that tonight when i get home. Will post results tomorrow.


As of 7pm:

Multiplier: 18
FSB: 217

result 3.906 GHz, Will run Linx all night to see if its stable

anything after that it crashes to BSOD. Everything else is stock levels. Didn't touch anything else. What should i try now? Want to get to into the 4ghz range, around 4.2 or so

-------------------------
AMD Phenom II X4 Quad Core 965 Black Edition 3.6GHZ
ASUS M4A79T Deluxe AM3 DDR3 AMD 790FX ATX AMD
SAPPHIRE Vapor-X HD5870 1GB GDDR5 PCIE
G.SKILL Ripjaws 8GB (4 x 2GB) DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666)
W.D. VelociRaptor 74GB SATA II 16MB Cache
W.D. Caviar Black 500GB SATA-II 32mb Cache
PC Power and Cooling 750W Crossfire Edition PSU
COOLER MASTER HAF 932 Black Steel
COOLER MASTER V8 120mm Rifle CPU Cooler
Windows 7 Pro 64 bit

Edited: 04/28/2010 at 07:19 PM by Milkbone
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information