AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Trying to understand Revision diff's
Topic Summary: voltage diff between RC2 and RC3 PII 955's
Created On: 01/23/2010 10:49 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
Answer This question was answered by NemesisChild, on Saturday, January 23, 2010 1:31 PM

Answer:
No, the CPU voltage and DRAM voltage are independent of each other.

The C3 requires less Vcore voltage, thus runs cooler than the C2.
 01/23/2010 10:49 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
articwanderer
Dedicated AMD/ATi Dude !

Posts: 91
Joined: 03/04/2009

I'm trying to understand/learn about the changes in the voltages listed on AMD web-site in reference to the C2 verse the C3 revisions of the Phenom II 955 BE and if it will or should effect my choice in RAM for my mobo choice.
C2 list voltage of .875-1.5 and C3 of .850-1.40. Does the voltage of the CPU effect the Voltage of the RAM used? I will be using a Gigabyte GA-MA790GPT-UD3H that has 1.5 v listed as the RAM slot voltage and I'm planning on using G. Skill 1333 @10666 at 1.5v and I'm trying to learn if this will all be ok or will I need to bump the CPU [if I get a C3] to 1.5v to work correctly?
I imagine that I will be getting a C3 since it will be May before I buy.

-------------------------
Ga-990XA-UD3, Phenom II 970 BLK @3.5 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 1600 G.Skill Sniper, WD 1.5 TB Black, ATI FirPro V4800 running on Kubuntu 64-bit
 01/23/2010 12:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NemesisChild
ROGue Warrior

Posts: 2978
Joined: 11/28/2008

Answer Answer
No, the CPU voltage and DRAM voltage are independent of each other.

The C3 requires less Vcore voltage, thus runs cooler than the C2.

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1100T B.E.@ 4.26GHz
Corsair H70 Core Hydro
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX@ 1894MHz, 9-10-9-28
SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 570's@ 902/1804/2032
Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Corsair HX850W Modular
Cooler Master HAF 922
2x Win 7 Home Premium (x64)
 01/23/2010 01:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
articwanderer
Dedicated AMD/ATi Dude !

Posts: 91
Joined: 03/04/2009

That's what I was thinking and now I'm a-knowing. Thx Nemesis. I keep doing this while learning and I've been learning a lot.
Some people back themselves into a corner in a game; I do it in my own mind

-------------------------
Ga-990XA-UD3, Phenom II 970 BLK @3.5 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 1600 G.Skill Sniper, WD 1.5 TB Black, ATI FirPro V4800 running on Kubuntu 64-bit
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information