AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: AM3 socket - here to stay?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 09/22/2010 07:36 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/22/2010 07:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zeus33
Fanboi

Posts: 97
Joined: 02/02/2010

I am just curious to see how much longer AMD is going to stick with the AM3 socket for the foreseeable future? Or is there something new on the horizon? I have the AM2 but want the 6-core.
 09/22/2010 07:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
QB the Slayer
Case Modder

Posts: 1304
Joined: 01/23/2010

AM3 will be around for sometime. AM3+ is on the horizon for Bulldozer, but that is going to be a while before it hits the market.

QB

-------------------------

The MONSTER HTPC

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 965 C2 (140W).||.Cooler: Corsair H80i
MB: Gigabyte 990FXA-UD7.||.RAM: 8 GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2000MHz (7-10-8-27-1T)
Case: CoolerMaster HAF 932.||.PSU: Corsair HX750
GPU:HIS IceQ 5 Radeon HD 5770 Turbo 1GB.||.Audio: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro w/ Logitech Z-5300e (5.1, 280W-RMS)
Drive: 2xKingston SSD 40GB RAID0.||.Storage: 6TB (4x500GB Caviar Black RAID0, 2TB Hitachi & 2TB Caviar Green)
 09/23/2010 04:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zeus33
Fanboi

Posts: 97
Joined: 02/02/2010

I haven't checked into the AM3+ yet, though I've read/heard about the Bulldozer. Any good links on the AM3+ for more info? Can I assume that it will be compatible with AM3?
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information